We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well located, fine for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel to your Saves list
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean and well located, fine for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms (Level 3) on New Year's Eve 2010. The room was booked online for around $100 AUD, a bargain for NYE. Check-in was fast and easy.

The room was smaller than average, but clean. Bed was comfortable, and bathroom was fine. Room had a mini fridge, tea/coffee and a kettle, good air-con and a large flatscreen TV. No hairdryer. If you are a light sleeper, you may need to bring earplugs, as the doors shut quite heavily.

Breakfast is served from 7-10am. Very average continental b'fast - toast, cereals, juice, fruit and yoghurt. Location is excellent for getting around the city.

Basically, this is a budget hotel. If you get a good price, then it is good value for accommodation in the CBD.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabanannaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel, a centrally located accor hotel with beautiful and friendly reception, however we were very quickly disappointed. we booked 2 rooms and were put 4 floors apart, however upon request they happily changed one so we were both on the same floor, just at opposite ends of the building. the hallways are a maze and very dark, the renovations had apparently been done, but they can't have done all the rooms. one was lovely with new air conditioner,glass shower and beautiful artwork on the wall and 2 blinds on each window for maximum light reduction, however the one I slept in was L shaped with a dark dingy corner, an old noisy clunky aircon, bathroom and toilet about 1x2m with no lock on the door, dirty shower with mouldy curtain, toilet had to be flushed twice every time, shower head and taps drip and echo through room, toilet paper on opposite wall so you can't even reach it easily from the loo, only available power point is in bathroom, so not convenient for laptop, phone charters etc. kettle provided but nowhere to plug it in to switch it on. paint chipped and messy. housekeeping replace towels every day, but can't see anything else they did. certainly didn't make the beds or replace soaps etc. music and party noise from building right out our window kept us up til after 3am. however it was inexpensive to stay here. nice big, new tv with great reception, single beds very comfy (doubles not so great) full length mirror, heater as well as aircon (not that we needed it) staff very friendly and helpful, always able to arrange taxis and give directions if needed. smoking balconies on certain floors with seats and ashtrays means we don't have to go out on the street like some other places. walking distance from casino, aquarium, DFO, train station and shops. public transport close enough to get you anywhere else. I wouldn't stay here again if planning a long holiday. but if you just want somewhere basic that's central and inexpensive for a few nights, I would suggest here.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caitybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

we were very disappointed with the interior decoration (none), bed you could feel the springs, bathroom not very clean. Very suprised that this to Accor standards. The people on the reception not very friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

If you are claustrophobic don't go to this hotel as rooms are very small and corridors are pokey. They do not have covers on the dooners on beds which is unhygenic but sheets are clean, Reception gave incorrect information and tried to charge twice. maybe OK for backpackers or single travellers but not families.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

This hotel needs a warden....as the single rooms look like a prison cell.The rooms are painted gray with a busted windows that overlook the dumpsters below.A dreary place with no phone, a closet made of cardboard it seems then one towel one tiny bar of soap to boot.
Bathrooms are down the hall as are the showers.They weren't too bad as long as you have toilet paper as the hotel didn't supply any except for certain rooms.The hotel has a French Restaurant on the ground floor,the Bar is on the second floor as is the breakfast room with internet use $2.00 AUD for 20 minutes(it takes coins).The superior rooms ugah hemmm mugh(clearing my throat ..excuse me) were quite small with barely any room to walk around as I checked out the rooms yet they were nearly three times as much .I stuck to the Jail cell as I was just spending one night there....thank goodness.
The reception was alright,they seemed baffled by many things customers asked which seemed fairly clear to me in that regard.In closing this place is an " Inferior hostel/hotel."
The location is not bad down on Hill St. about 2 blocks from Downtown.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

Arrived early and able to leave my luggage free of charge so a good start, especially when at check in I was told I had been upgraded from my budget room. Upon entry into the room I was a little shocked. Dirty looking stained carpet , wardrobe door falling off and a very dirty looking bathroom. The room had air con and fully functioning air con but the fridge froze everything and I didnt dare go barefoot anywhere - even in the bathroom. The shower was essentially clean but somethng had obviously been put in the shower which left a bad stain as you can see. You had to ngotiate yourself into the small bathroom but there were nice touches as toiletries and ample towels.
Tea and coffee were provided and my room rate of 95dollars included buffet breakfast which was great. A further plus was the location and the staff were very friendly. Renovations were hardly noticable during my stay & rooms were quiet with a comfortable bed but for the money, I would have expected something better and this more represented a hostel than the grand name of All Seasons Kingsgate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#64 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#88 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with in room Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing