We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel to your Saves list
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a fairly typical Ibis in terms of the services available and the rooms. I stayed here recently for two days when any other hotel rooms in the city were unavailable or outrageously expensive. Service from the reception staff was excellent, and I was able to leave my bags there until I checked in later in the day. Common areas and lifts OK, and rooms basic and generally as expected. The hallways are pretty awful, looking like a throw back to a 50s backpackers, but this is a very old building and not too much can be done about this without spending way more money than the intended use of the space would justify. Once you find your way to the room, the impression is better. I had a 'superior' room which was a good size, had a fairly modern but basic bathroom, and flat screen TV. Somewhat noisy wall aircon was disappointing but worked at least. Bed comfort so-so, tea and coffee and fridge in room, along with iron and board. Room cleanliness was OK. As suggested in the review title, I paid a relatively small amount and I got reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for a superior room - these will be as good as it gets .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear CWBris,

We appreciate you sharing feedback on your recent stay with us and are glad you found value for money in the experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    200
    299
    178
    148
See reviews for
178
229
147
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Whatever this building was before it was converted into a hotel would have been an equally drab place I am sure. All the bright colours in the world cannot add to a pleasant environment where there are no windows (worth calling windows) in the room, the corridors are scary and the service is average. The pretend restaurant does little more than provide basic sustenance but the overworked staff do keep up and make up for the shortcoming of the food.
Solitary confinement in a jail or this hotel. I would almost take the former.

Room Tip: The hotel down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear whereswally2010,

Thank you for your recent review. I was sorry to read we fell short of your expectations and take on board your comments. The building built in 1924 was originally home to Salvation Army's People's Palace, there have been many upgrades over the years to try and keep the product current whilst still embracing it's rich heritage. We wish you a pleasant stay on your next journey!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

WIth only a short walk from Southern Cross station (after getting the Skybus from the airport) this hotel is in a great location. We had a standard family room. It was well appointed, had all the things we needed - fridge, iron and some toiletries. The full breakfast was plentiful and very good value. The staff were friendly and helpful. You are in walking distance to a lot of attractions and have good access to trains or trams. It was clean, comfortable, friendly and in a good location - that ticks all the boxes for me. Many thanks!

Room Tip: Room to the rear of the hotel may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Ians_traveladventure,

We appreciate your feedback and were pleased to see we ticked all the boxes! We hope to see you and your family again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

As a family of four staying in melbourne, we got a family room, as stated on the website, so no surprises, very adequate accomodation.couple of chairs in the room to sit back in and read the paper. air cond worked also a open window. as its one street back from the rail station, there is the occasional toot and rattle of a tram, nothing obtrusive. happy where we were,near the tram line.the tours we booked were happy to collect us them the hotel.At southern cross rail,only a couple of minutes away, there were shops, proper shops ,food hall, supermarket,bottle shop so we were well supplied with options.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Jane J,

Thank you for providing feedback on our recent stay, we appreciate you taking the time and are glad to see we met your expectations and needs, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with wireless. ‎ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.