We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Save Saved
You added ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a dump.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Where to start?

The first room we were given was filthy. The window blinds were 2-4cm smaller than the windows, the bedding was ripped and the towels were grubby. We use much better and cleaner towels to bath our dogs. Ok so we complained and were given a superior room, at an additional cost. It wasn't much better, there was flaking paint on the wall, the bedding was just as grubby.

We were there four nights, we only had the room serviced once in the four nights, so towels were not replaced, bins not emptied, toiletries not topped up and toilet not cleaned.

The room was heated via central heating radiators, these squealed constantly, obviously needed the air bleeding, but it meant no sleep. The staff were not interested in hearing any complaints.

Breakfast was included ($6 extra for a cooked breakfast), we only went for breakfast on one of the four mornings, it was disgusting. Looking round the breakfast room most plates were hardly touched - you'd think plate going back hardly touched would give a hint the the cook??

I'd be put off ever staying at an IBIS hotel after this experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Martin_ Barbara,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the hotel. I was sorry to read that we fell short of your expectations and failed to deliver on several points. I will review your comments with the necessary staff to ensure they learn from your experience.

On a positive I was glad to see you enjoyed other aspects of your trip to Melbourne and enjoyed the PINK concert.

I trust you returned safely to New Castle, thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    188
    282
    172
    143
See reviews for
165
220
143
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Don't be fooled by the pictures of the spacious rooms! You need to take the steps, carry your luggage to go in to the hotel, it looked more like a DORMITORY than a hotel, everything is soooo old, the furniture,beds,carpet, dusty curtain.....There is no hair dryer in the bathroom,you have to borrow from the front desk. The fire alarm went off during our stay, fire enginees came and the lady who worked at the front desk said there was a smoke probably due to the wires, no kidding!!! I also asked her about the room service, she said this is a three stars ( more like 1 star ) hotel and there is no room service, but they cleaned it anyway..

Room Tip: No recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Ing18940,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us in July, I was disappointed to see we had fallen short of your expectations on several points.

We have several room types throughout the 1926 built building and whilst some of the rooms are conservative in size there are rooms that offer more space, we have tried to ensure that our photos always have room names paired with them to ensure people come with the appropriate expectations, we apologise if this wasn't the case.

I can confirm that the fire during your stay was caused by a guest smoking in their room and the attendance of the brigade ensured the building was evacuated and then checked for everyone's safety.

Most 3 star economy hotels vary in their offerings and in our case it is correct we do not offer room service, we do have limited food and beverage options available during posted times and these items can be brought back to your room to consume, alternatively our reception can assist in recommending dining options or ordering takeaway.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Room was just plain old and falling apart! Soon as I walked in I could see patches of the floor with no carpet because it was worn through. The toilet paper roll holder was only just hanging from the wall. I was paranoid it would fall off and I'd be charged for that too. The room was just grubby and unappealing. I spent the night freezing as the dodgy old heater in the window was broken and the bathroom window was fixed open. Would never go near this hotel again! easily the worst shower I'd ever had. I stayed at a hostel the night before and it was like a resort compared to this crap.
It was INSANELY overpriced $167 for that, must be some kind of sick joke.
Also have photos of test tags that were due to be done again over a year ago!

Room Tip: JUST DONT GO THERE. It's a rip off and filthy and there are plenty of cheap hostels around that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear 887dash,

We appreciate you sharing your concerns with your recent stay at the hotel. I apologise that we fell short of your expectations and that there were aspects of the room that were below standard. Should you encounter this in the future I encourage you to contact reception for assistance, they can organise to have the items rectified, assist with a room move, or if you are truly dissatisfied in most circumstances we are more than happy to assist in finding you accommodation elsewhere that is more suited to your needs.

As a point of information the window unit is in fact an air conditioner and the heater is the unit along the wall, a list of these items and how to operate them is found inside the hotel services directory located on the desk in the room. In addition our 24 hour reception are available to assist with instructions or even to provide an extras blanket!


Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

First the pluses -
Excellent location on the Main King Street very near to Tram Station, markets, CBD, Etihad Station.
Neat and clean rooms and bathrooms with in room tea and coffee making facility.
Continental Breakfast is included in the room tariff.
Free Luggage Room facility.

The minuses -
Most rooms do not have a view, they are closed and some of the window panes allow the cold wind to come inside making the already old heating system all the more dysfunctional.
The rooms are not cleaned daily.
The design of room floors is a like a maze. You are sure to get lost in finding your room.
There is no ramp provided at the entrance from King Street to allow elderly, people with heavy luggage to reach the lobby level comfortably.
The floor at several places creaks.

Overall, an okay experience, owing to its good location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask them to give you rooms facing the King Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear sumitpant79,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay, we are glad you felt there was value for money and you saw many positives in the hotel. As a point of interest the 9 stairs out the front are graded at a steepness that if we were to provide a ramp it would be an occupational health and safety hazard, and due to the facade being heritage listed we can not alter the entrance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel was well placed for the 5 nights I stayed in Melbourne to attend an event at the conference centre. The room finish was poor but the bed was great, television worked, and the bathroom was large and clean with great water pressure. This hotel is ideal if you are out and about and only return to sleep but if you were going to spend long periods in the rooms you may find the room the lack of view from the windows a bit daunting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Youthfull_Heart,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay in one of our Superior rooms. I'm glad you enjoyed the room and found our location convenient to the conference center. We never tire of hearing how great our location is!

Kind regards,

Rob Unson
General Manager
ibis Styles Kingsgate Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with wireless. ‎ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.