We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value accommodation with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel to your Saves list
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value accommodation with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter. We knew we were on a budget but also that we didnt want to spend time in a luxurious hotel as. Wanted to see the Melbourne sights. Kingsgate was a great place to get our value for money as well as a clean and well presented hotel.

We asked the manager Rob to place us in one of the renovated rooms. He kindly upgraded us to a room with a queen bed and a sofa. This meant we had plenty of room. Our room was clean and presentable, and the hotel reception staff were extremely accommodating (also helping us with an extra room for a late member too our traveling party)

Rooms had foxtel on the tv which was a nice surprise. Got to watch a live rugby game one afternoon inbetween sight seeing

Our criticism with the room was that the window blinds weren't installed badly This allowed morning light to come right in over the bed. I was actually woken up each morning by the light.

If you want a great location and affordable accommodation I would definitely stay here. General Manager Rob seems to be serious about accommodating his guests requests and keeping a hotel running within its means. It's no crown towers or Langham, but for value for money this is right up there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    218
    327
    188
    154
See reviews for
195
243
157
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very central location for city trip and close to train station, but...fused lights, broken window curtains, dirty fridge and completely empty( neither a single bottle of water), the hairdrier has to be required at the reciption desk, damaged carpet moquet, windows glass unbelievably dirty. In addition to this, we got a letter from managment which mentioning that if we continue to smoke inside the room we will get a fine of 100 aud when both of us (myself and my husband) are not smoker. i will never reccomended this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear traveller,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate. We’re disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your time with us.

I’m sorry that you found our rooms of a poor quality. Our Superior rooms were refurbished in 2010 and have brand new furnishings and features. We are looking into the furnishings of all of the Standard rooms to assess your complaints.

Please accept my sincerest apology in regards to the miscommunication with the smoking letter being placed in your room. This is unacceptable and I will be talking to my staff and retraining them in the right procedures and the steps that should be taken.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns and I hope that you will give the ibis Styles Kingsgate the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pretty normal rooms, but good for a budget hotel. Wifi not available in the room but can access in the lobby for limited time .. rooms were clean and beds were good ..location is great and easily accessible .. Family room is spacious.. value for money..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was to our expectation for economy accommodation on the Grand Prix weekend. The room was clean, the old air conditioner kept us cool and dry. The water was hot and the linen was fresh and clean. I particularly liked the cafe/bar/lounge on level 1. The meals were good value and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We knew that we were booking a budget hotel but this was the worst budget hotel we have visited. The room had frosted glass (one cracked) which when open looked out onto a particularly grotty dirty internal courtyard and fire escape. The room was adequate and clean although I could only just squeeze between the bedside and wall and so there was no bedside table. Wifi was free for 30 minutes a day per device and worked well but only in the lobby and lounge above. You could pay (a lot) to use it in the room. But worst of all, there was a nightclub close by that was very loud and intrusive. The only way to get to sleep was to shut the windows, turn the air conditioning to maximum and wear ear plugs. This stay followed booking the Ibis Styles Hotel in Auckland only to arrive to find it boarded up for renovation. We were not happy campers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

there was No toothbrush .
there was No slipper .
there was No city view .
However, the Breakfast is just okay .
the Location is good .
the King bed with single bed room suits couple with kid, I think .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights during Easter holiday:
Con:
the double bed room is extremely small-smaller than some hotels in HK!
tea cups were dirty and we received different dirty tea cups for 4 days, we had to rinse the cups again to get rid of tea/coffee stain
toilet/bathroom dirty. Mold visible around basin
no hair dryer available in the room
no free wi-fi
weak lighting

Pro:
affordable price--spent $295 for 3 nights during Easter
Location okay. 10~15 min walk to Melb CBD, also close to Southern Cross Station, Woolworths, Outlet centre, 7-11, and restaurants.
Staff were friendly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKingsgate, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the ibis Styles Kingsgate, I’m sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

I have alerted housekeeping of your complaints about bathroom being dirty and having mould around the basin. This is unacceptable and I sincerely apologise. We are looking into the fittings of all of the Standard rooms to assess complaints and the need of replacement.

I once again thank you for your comments as it allows us to better improve our hotel for you and for our future guests.

Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with wireless. ‎ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.