We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel to your Saves list
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)   |  
Ranked #131 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent Service & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My Girlfriends and myself had an excellent experience at ibis, we had a minor problem with our room and spoke to reception and got upgraded to a better room, which we were very pleased about. The hotel is clean, comfortable, affordable and in an excellent location! I would recommend to select the room above the double, as there is a significant different in the size of the rooms and the style. The staff where friendly and helpful and our stay was very carefree and relaxing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    200
    299
    177
    148
See reviews for
178
229
147
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed in room 249 of this hotel and the bathroom is very filthy, the window in it has not been cleaned for so long that there's not only dust but grease. Rooms are very small and very, very noisy. The duma on the bed doesn't even have a cover.
Not recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear traveller,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate (formerly All Seasons Kingsgate). We’re disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your time with us.

I’m sorry that you found our bathrooms of a poor quality. Our Superior rooms were refurbished in 2010 and have brand new bathrooms. We are looking into upgrading the bathrooms of our Standard rooms and I apologise for the dirty windows, we will make sure they are cleaned properly in future.

I apologise you found your room too small and too noisy, it sounds as though you would be better suited to a Superior room for any future stays at our hotel. Also our hotel beds are fitted with a blanket and a flat sheet so we do not have doona covers.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I hope that you will give the ibis Styles Kingsgate the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The sink was mouldy and the shower was very small. , we spent the night awake listening to neighbors aircon cutting in and out and could hear them using their bathroom. Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear traveller,
Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry that your stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate (formerly All Seasons Kingsgate) didn’t meet your expectations.

I’m sorry that you found the bathroom in your room of a poor quality. Our Superior rooms were refurbished in 2010 and have brand new bathrooms. We are looking into the fittings of all of the Standard room bathrooms to assess complaints of mould and their need of replacement.

I apologise for the extra noise you were exposed to from within the hotel. We are currently experimenting with ways that we can reduce these noise issues like exhaust fans and air conditioners and we hope we will be able to make the hotel a quieter place for our guests to stay.

Thanks again for the feedback and I hope that if we do welcome you back to our hotel that we are able to provide a more enjoyable stay.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at kingsgate hotel recently and I have to say it is the most over priced heap of junk for a hotel. Firstly I asked for a face washer and the not friendly at all receptionist stated that was not included honestly I looked in disbelief a face washer. Next the window seels had all cigarette butts which was pleasant when I opened the window. I will never be staying here again and I don't think anyone else should. Nothing good to say about this place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear traveller,
We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your recent stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate (formerly All Seasons Kingsgate). We hope that your feedback can help us to improve our hotel services.

I’m sorry that you felt the room was inadequately stocked with items such as face-washers. I apologise that we do not have face-washers at the hotel but I will be sure to take your feedback about providing them on board. Also I have alerted housekeeping of your complaints of your room’s window seals being filled with cigarette butts. This is certainly not the level of cleanliness which we abide by and I sincerely apologise.

I once again thank you for your comments as it allows us to better improve our hotel for you and for our future guests.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I purchased at economy room from wotif and arrived at to be honest is one of the worst rooms I've ever see . 30c day with no air conditioner and if looked like a room divorcees go to hang out. I went down stairs an said I was more than happy to pay extra for the better room . Aaraychi put me in the superior room at no extra cost. The room was clean the air conditioner worked and her customer service was polite and 100% . What a valued employee you have.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callala Bay Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel is in a great position. Very tired looking, but effort has been made to 'tart' it up. Had the misfortune to have a 'superior double" (read tiny) room on 6th floor backing on to a nightclub with music shaking the windows. At 2.30AM whilst still awake the beer barrels were moved with much noise. After complaining at 3AM we were moved to a somewhat quieter room. Cooked breakfast good but soo slow. waited 20 mins and there was only one other person in the breakfast room. No parking- park in Spencer St Parking Station, and no place to stop for dropping off luggage in mid afternoon.
If staying make sure you ask for a room away from the nightclub. They know the problem as were advised they had asked several times that the music be turned down

Room Tip: a room well away from ajoining nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Margaret,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate (formerly All Seasons Kingsgate). We’re disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your time with us.

The King St location of our hotel means we are sometimes troubled by noise from the famous nightclubs on this strip. We are aware of this problem and working to address the noise issues which challenge our guests’ ability to have a peaceful stay in our hotel. I apologise that you were affected by the noise but I am glad that we were able to move you to a quieter room.

I am sorry that the service to get your breakfast to you was slow but am happy to hear you found it to your liking. I also apologise about the hotel parking, unfortunately our CBD location means we are unable to offer any onsite parking and instead offer guest parking at Southern Cross Station carpark.

Thanks again for the feedback and I hope that if we do welcome you back to our hotel that we are able to provide a more enjoyable stay.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnybrook, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Rooms and furniture other than TV were very tired.Booked a double room and single room(through Grand Prix travel office) for same family and ended up on different floors unable to be changed.No power point at bedside table for clocks or phone charging. Mould in both shower recesses.One room was reasonably quiet the other was noisy.Minimal complimentary toiletries(no toothpaste).Staff were polite, courteous and helpful other than different floor issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear traveller,
Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry that your stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate (formerly All Seasons Kingsgate) didn’t meet your expectations.

I apologise for the mix up with your bookings and that the rooms were booked on different floors and couldn’t be moved to the same floor. I understand it was an inconvenience but we do have telephones in each room and you can make internal calls to other rooms at no charge.

I’m also sorry that you found our bathrooms of a poor quality. Our Superior rooms were refurbished in 2010 and have brand new bathrooms. We are currently looking into the fittings of all of the Standard room bathrooms assessing complaints of mould and the need to replace fittings.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I hope that you will give the ibis Styles Kingsgate the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with wireless. ‎ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.