We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Save Saved
You added ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I purchased at economy room from wotif and arrived at to be honest is one of the worst rooms I've ever see . 30c day with no air conditioner and if looked like a room divorcees go to hang out. I went down stairs an said I was more than happy to pay extra for the better room . Aaraychi put me in the superior room at no extra cost. The room was clean the air conditioner worked and her customer service was polite and 100% . What a valued employee you have.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    186
    282
    171
    142
See reviews for
163
220
143
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Callala Bay Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel is in a great position. Very tired looking, but effort has been made to 'tart' it up. Had the misfortune to have a 'superior double" (read tiny) room on 6th floor backing on to a nightclub with music shaking the windows. At 2.30AM whilst still awake the beer barrels were moved with much noise. After complaining at 3AM we were moved to a somewhat quieter room. Cooked breakfast good but soo slow. waited 20 mins and there was only one other person in the breakfast room. No parking- park in Spencer St Parking Station, and no place to stop for dropping off luggage in mid afternoon.
If staying make sure you ask for a room away from the nightclub. They know the problem as were advised they had asked several times that the music be turned down

Room Tip: a room well away from ajoining nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Margaret,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate (formerly All Seasons Kingsgate). We’re disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your time with us.

The King St location of our hotel means we are sometimes troubled by noise from the famous nightclubs on this strip. We are aware of this problem and working to address the noise issues which challenge our guests’ ability to have a peaceful stay in our hotel. I apologise that you were affected by the noise but I am glad that we were able to move you to a quieter room.

I am sorry that the service to get your breakfast to you was slow but am happy to hear you found it to your liking. I also apologise about the hotel parking, unfortunately our CBD location means we are unable to offer any onsite parking and instead offer guest parking at Southern Cross Station carpark.

Thanks again for the feedback and I hope that if we do welcome you back to our hotel that we are able to provide a more enjoyable stay.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnybrook, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Rooms and furniture other than TV were very tired.Booked a double room and single room(through Grand Prix travel office) for same family and ended up on different floors unable to be changed.No power point at bedside table for clocks or phone charging. Mould in both shower recesses.One room was reasonably quiet the other was noisy.Minimal complimentary toiletries(no toothpaste).Staff were polite, courteous and helpful other than different floor issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear traveller,
Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry that your stay at the ibis Styles Kingsgate (formerly All Seasons Kingsgate) didn’t meet your expectations.

I apologise for the mix up with your bookings and that the rooms were booked on different floors and couldn’t be moved to the same floor. I understand it was an inconvenience but we do have telephones in each room and you can make internal calls to other rooms at no charge.

I’m also sorry that you found our bathrooms of a poor quality. Our Superior rooms were refurbished in 2010 and have brand new bathrooms. We are currently looking into the fittings of all of the Standard room bathrooms assessing complaints of mould and the need to replace fittings.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I hope that you will give the ibis Styles Kingsgate the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Rob Unson
ibis Styles Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coorg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Even though the hotel building looks very compact from outside, the facilities are good. Location of the hotel is a plus point for tram commuters & for souvenir shoppers & eateries near Flinders station area. As couple we felt breakfast should have been a bit better with some more items on the set menu, rest of all O.K & so our 3 night's stay was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel was in an excellent position, all though it was very old, rooms were clean and comfortable, needs a little more tlc to tidy up though. Great price for the location. Staff were very helpfull and pleasant, late check out was not a problem, with also holding our bags for a few hours before our flight left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great room , people very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a good start to the day loved the raisin bread. Plenty of helpful advise on trams and bus etc,the view from room wasnt much but we didnt choice it for that. Very clen place and suited our need very well.The shower was great and nice big bedroom for three worked out nicely. Thanks for nice place to visit will use again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#134 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with wireless. ‎ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.