We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - poor parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel to your Saves list
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good location - poor parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Overall hotel was acceptable for a city location with it being close to trams, train station and shopping.
Poor parking to unload and then store car especially during peak time when 'no-standing'outside.
Available eating venues - very linited in area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    207
    312
    185
    152
See reviews for
184
236
153
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The rooms haven't been refurbished for a while and make you feel like a prisonner. This hotel was from far the worse All Seasons I have ever stayed at.

In addition, they broke the basic of the brand by charging for internet while the whole concept is Room + breakfast + wifi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHM, General Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Niourk,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel. We’re disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your time with us.

I’m sorry to hear that you thought that your room wasn’t up to standard. Our recent refurbishment (finished in January 2011) has tried to retain the elegance of the 1926 building while also modernising our rooms. To ensure you have the most up to date room type I would recommend booking one of our Superior rooms or asking reception whether a room change is available.

In reference to the basic of the brand- the global 'All Service Offer' for All Seasons is available at each property in varying capacities. At our property the free breakfast is a 'continental breakfast' offer available to all bookings through the Accor channels. The free internet is available for a limited time period each day for any individual piece of technology and resets each day at midnight, so those guests staying multiple nights can take advantage of it on a daily basis. Beyond that there are various options ranging from coin operated machines to Ethernet cable and wifi options all provided via a third party with varying charges applicable based on the time requirements.

We are mindful that all guests have different requirements from the hotel and there fore try to have options to suit each.

I once again thank you for your comments as it allows us to better improve our hotel for you and for our future guests.

Sincerely,
Rob Unson
All Seasons Kingsgate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

The room itself was mostly clean with a double bed, couch, ensuite bathroom, and tv- basic furnishing. Pro's- large, neat room, great city location for shopping & nightlife, and eating out. Easy walk to train or trams.
Cons- poor television reception, fairly unsafe street - not good for families but fine for young couples & groups

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

All in all, the Kingsgate was what I expected. The staff were amazing but the room lacked a little for the price. The location was perfect for us. Breakfast was average, but enough to get us on our way for the day. If you are expecting luxury for $145 AUD per night, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Basic accommodation on busy King St. in the CBD of Melbourne with basic facilities. Staff on check in are friendly and access to a breakfast and bar area on the first floor. Breakfast is continental with a happy hour late afternoon in the same location. A comfortable area adjacent to the bar is available for sitting with internet facilities. Two elevators are available from the lobby to gain access to your room. A good selection of local travel information on Melbourne and the state of Victoria is available in the lobby ------------ a FRENCH Restaurant is next door to the hotel and 50 metres away is the intersection of King and Bourke streets and the tram stop for the three block--- 5 minutes-- trip to the heart of Melbourne and the retail outlets of MYER , DAVID JONES etc. and the CBD with all the restaurants and shops to offer that Melbourne is famous for. Why not a ride on the Restaurant Tram and enjoy great food , drink and service as you ride the tram tracks of Melbourne and the suburbs?-----lunch , dinner or pre theatre departures.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Great Location and breakfast. It was a little noisy at night though, and we had to run the Aircon at night to drown out the noise of party goers and music. Not to mention the aircon is in a funny spot, in the window and you have to pull down the blinds to kepp out the street lights out?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The location is great because it is close to the Southern Cross Railway Station and Crown Casino which we frequented. It's good value with continental breakfasts included. Service of staff were very good too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel

Address: 131 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kingsgate Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1926, the ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, like Melbourne, provides a traditional European charm and service, together with modern facilities. Comprising of 171 rooms, equipped with wireless. ‎ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Melbourne
Accor Kingsgate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.