We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Overnighter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Melbourne

Save Saved
You added ibis Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ibis Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-21 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Budget Overnighter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went to the footy and decided to stay in town. Picked this hotel as is just a short walk to Lygon Street and in a great location. The hotel is clean, rooms are a bit small but it is well worth it should you be looking for a quick and easy place to stay in Melbourne that doesn't break the bank. Underground parking is available and i guess the location is the main feature here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear BNGBOY,

Thank you for your feedback and for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Melbourne in the near future.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    540
    219
    40
    15
See reviews for
284
317
120
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed just one night in this hotel but found the location really excellent and the room comfortable enough for a good night's rest. It is directly opposite Victoria Markets, so if you are there on a right day (the markets do not open everyday), you can enjoy some great breakfast and shopping there! Hotel is also close enough (walk) to Chinatown, Swanston and Bourke Street. Skybus hotel transfer stops right at the doorstep. Everything just right for a first-time visitor to Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear JLEESingapore,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with ibis Melbourne.

I have shared your positive feedback with the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed two nights and have no complaints, waitress at bistro was very good and chef was extremely helpful with change of dish for an allergy.
Didn't do breakfast i thought this was over priced.
Location was near Market and hear it has summer Wednesday night market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear madcow_13,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Yes, in summer from November to February, there is a Night Market at the Queen Victoria Market that opens every Wednesday from 5pm.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was travelling on a budget for a few nights and after previously staying in some pretty upmarket places on my way, was a little wary of what a budget price would buy you in the City of Melbourne itself. I wasn’t looking for a grand lobby and high tea but was dreading a backpacker’s hovel too, having had a few surprises along the way. I was not disappointed. What I found was a well managed, clean, tidy and well located stay. The reception is bright, airy and friendly, the staff lovely and really helpful. Checking in and out is remarkably streamlined and done without fuss and no question or request was too much trouble. In a word? Pleasant.

The rooms are ample, adequate and clean. The bathroom, modern and well sized. You won’t find mints on the bed or champagne in the freezer, but the little extra’s are all there for the price, from soap to shampoo. What I liked the most was that the Ibis doesn’t try to be more than it is, but does what it does really well; with very nice service and an uber-clean, comfortable bed. There is a security lift system allowing for safety which is always a nice touch in any large city. Wi-Fi all throughout and in-house internet in the lobby (with a printer), if you want to leave your laptop at home. All the basic comforts of home, without the fanfare… my only one little personal niggle, being the 70’s retro-looking hallway carpet that could really do with a spruce up, but that’s just me.

Eating out mostly, I never had a chance to check out the bar, dining room or breakfast, as the hotel is almost right opposite the famous Queen Victoria Food Markets, which are just a 50-pace walk from the front door down Therry St. A perfect start to the day for breakfast, followed by a tram ride - 3-4 stops down Elizabeth street - to the central hub of Melbourne; simple, easy, no fuss, and all done in about 10 minutes despite the time of day. Whilst I think it’s the tram system of Melbourne that I love the most, unlike other comments, I think this hotel is truly well located. Close to town but not as close as to be too noisy and busy.. meaning a quiet nights sleep without too many people moving about on your floor. A nice little extra was the complete blackout screen on the windows; a godsend in any city when you want to sleep in.

A very pleasant stay and experience. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are some nice views from most rooms, although some are obscured by office buildings .. my advi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Lilla C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and I have shared your feedback with the team.

I would also like to thank you for pointing out some key features of the hotel that other travellers will find useful.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I only stayed for 1 Night, but found the reception Staff most helpfull on check- in, my room was ready before the usual 2 oclock check-in, secure parking was available at an aditional cost but was worth it. The Hotel and my room you couldnt fault, clean and tidy and well presented. Location was spot on, short walk to the Victoria Market, close to tram stops, cafes , and Gardens. I would use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Cashie_33,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Melbourne. It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay and found the team friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've stayed here a few times before and the fact that we return should say a lot. i like the free night even tho it's not exactly free as I do pay an annual subscription to Accor. it's been suggested that I go to a more expensive/up-market hotel to get better value for my free night but that would mean paying more for the first night which negates that.
The hotel is a bit of a hike from the train. but that is my choice and my friend drives and parks at the hotel.
A light switch closer to the door would be better so you could just reach in and turn on the lights instead of having to take several steps into the room to find the switches.
My only other negative, and it's a very small niggly one, is that because I'm short, the rim around the seat of the chairs in the dinning room digs into the back of my thighs. If I rest my feet on the table feet/stand I can ease this so it's usually ok. Just thought I'd mention it for you to consider for future design. Thank you.

I also wish that the free nights accujmulated instead of expiring and that you could use them together.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear jaybird94,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Ibis Melbourne.

I have shared your positive feedback with the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice clean place. The rooms are basic but clean with all amenities for business travellers at affordable price. we didn't get a great view as it was blocked due to a side building. Probably the front rooms may have better view. Breakfast is basic but good just that the menu was same on all the days we were there so it becomes boring after a couple of days. It is within walking distance from the main city and works well for business travellers and tourist. You can walk and take the free tram to roam around the business city or just walk around. The free hop-on-hop off bus can be taken from Victoria Market which is nearby too. Mac Donald is just nearby and there are a couple of Indian restaurant too but a bit far at Flinder's lane/Elizabeth street.

Overall satisfied though the front desk can do with a bit more smile. they have the tendency to overlook when you are speaking and repeated reminders bring them back on the issues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Shonaa,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our reception team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne

Address: 15-21 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your ibis Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.