We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel but poor shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Melbourne

Save Saved
You added ibis Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
ibis Melbourne
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15-21 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, spend less!
Ranked #61 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great hotel but poor shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

this hotel is great value for money. more modern than its little bourke counterpart (10 mins walk). the location is not near a major train station but well serviced by trams. it has a fantastic market on the doorstep. the beds were ultra comfy. one of pillows was so so so so terrible, but there was a spare so not a problem. my only issue was the shower cubicle. weak water pressure, luke warm water and the shower head was about 5ft tall meaning i had to crouch underneath to wash my hair #badback. all in all gret. would have been fantastic if they had put in a decent shower!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear the_jolly_greengiant,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Ibis Melbourne.

It is pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologise for the issue you experienced with the shower. I would like to have our maintenance team attention for this issue. Could please contact me directly and advise the room number you stayed in? My details are below.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Phone: +61 3 9666 0000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    507
    208
    38
    15
See reviews for
264
303
115
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great location and quite happy with the hotel . The room used was adequate but not overly comfortable . The chairs could have been better as sitting in them for 2 days the back did ache a bit. Food adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friend and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ibis. Nothing like what we anticipated. Compared to the Hotel Ibis in Townsville. Way better beds..(comfy) love how spacious the room was. Made great memories staying there. Location is excellent I say! Only few minutes walk to main CBD....accompanied by great shopping, couldn't have asked for a more convenient yet up class hotel to live and experience the wonders of Melbourne city. It was amazing! I always say its where you stay that determines whether or not you fully experience one city especially if you're one that travels alot. And Hotel Ibis gave us that experience we anticipated on. I loved everything about our stay from the buffet breakfast to just being greeted by friendly and helpful staff. Great service at Ibis. Only thing that bugged me when we first got into our room was that we noticed how small the bar fridge was. You've got a nice room, spacious, clean, has got everything and than you turn and see this tiny bar fridge. I dont know, but maybe try considering something slightly bigger....enough to fit fruits and a couple of bottles of water maybe. Apart from that, WE LOVED IT!!!!!! Once again, you've done well Ibis! I'd definitely recommend Hotel Ibis to my group of friends if ever they travel to Melbourne. Keep up the good work people!

Sincerely Yours,
Vaina F

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Vaina F,

Thank you for the fantastic review!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared this great feedback with team here.

We look forward to welcoming you and friends back very soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Phone: +61 3 9666 0000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay on the edge of the CBD near the Victoria Market. Close to tram lines and couple of minutes walk to Melbourne Central train station. Staff are friendly, rooms clean and tidy. Only problem is the lack of parking available. Self parking means parking around other side of block and carting luggage around to hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
DearKatlady8,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Ibis Melbourne.

It is pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologise for the issue you experienced with the parking. As with many Melbourne hotels car parking is very limited, however we do reccomend a car parking building which is near by.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

what a lovely hotel large clean comfortable room, location was great, part way through our stay my husband took ill, and we would like to thank the assistant manager and her staff for their help and support at, what was a very difficult time,, they were friendly,calm and very professional, and the hotel was great as well. Thank You

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Carole s,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recently stay.

It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay and found the team friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed four nights here and found the location and the hotel most suitable on our visit to Melbourne. The room was very quiet, in fact, so quiet it was a little unnerving :-). The rooms were clean and serviced daily. Our room had no view but I have no complaints about this. We had a great deal and I would stay again with no hesitation. My only niggle was that it would have been better to have a sliding door in between the living area and bedroom to make it easier to use the bathroom. The staff were very helpful and if you want to use the public transport system they can loan you a 'myki' which you can load money on for the trams, buses etc. The free wifi worked a treat and more hotels should do this. We did not find the bed too comfortable but this would be a personal choice, I guess. Very happy with the clean and friendly surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear XR6girl,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you for pointing out some key features that I know that our future guests will find helpful.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a surprise!. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Melbourne, and loved them all, but found the location of Ibis better (only 100 meters to Vic Market) and the quality of the bed and the rooms, now that they have had their refurb, to be right up there with the best. Staff also were great, very accommodating, polite and prompt. I would choose it again when staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear VickiVN,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and comfort of our brand new ibis Sweet Bed. We installed all the new ibis Sweet Beds during February and March and have had some great
comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,


Jayesh Bala
Rooms Division Manager
Email: Jayesh.BALA@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ibis Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne

Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne
Address: 15-21 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Melbourne 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, ACCOR, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your ibis Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.