We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Melbourne

Save Saved
You added ibis Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-21 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Save 20%
Ranked #61 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed in Hotel Ibis Melbourne from 16 March until 18 March.
The rooms were clean. The place is very near to city center and amenities.
The front desk staff were very professional. Will stay there again.

I enjoyed an excellent stay in the hotel.

I would appreciate if the reception staff could help guests to book a taxi. I did ask the front desk, but was told there are taxis outside!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your comments regarding both our hotel and our team. I hope you will visit us again here at the Ibis!

Regards
Jade Stunden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    570
    225
    41
    16
See reviews for
301
325
126
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I have stayed at the no frills Ibis in Therry St Melbourne - on business trips and for leisure - for over 10 years, at least twice a year over the past three or four years. Best features:
* Excellent value for money - clean, small but functional rooms, recently tastefully
redecorated in "minimalist" style, and a low cost restaurant - not fine dining but good
menu for the prices if you're too tired to go out
*Consistently helpful service
*Really comfortable beds
* Minimal traffic noise other than the occasional siren
*Location, location, location - 250 metres from Queen VIc Markets, 200 metres from major tram routes in and out of Melbourne, from Elizabeth St on one side and Swanston on the other, 1 tram stop or 10 minutes walk to Lygon St restaurants, on the "right side of town" for the Airport, etc
Not so good features:
*Cost of in room internet access
*The off putting walk from the street, through the semi enclosed walkway into the
reception area - smokers rule - butts on the ground, smelly and smokey, it's pretty
disgusting, so hold your breath and walk fast - it gets a lot better once you're inside!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel, It is always a pleasure to know that we are providing a value for money service and are in a great lcoation. I am glad that you continue to enjoy your stays with us and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Jade Stunden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights here on a short trip from Sydney to celebrate his birthday. This is our 4th visit and once again we thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is very hard to beat for value, friendly service and its great location being very close to the Victoria markets,between Elizabeth and Swanson streets and within easy walking distance to city centre.
Our room was clean, quiet with a comfy bed. My only gripe and it's a very small one is that the pillows weren't as comfy as they could have been but having said that we both slept well.
A pleasant surprise was that on our last but one morning we discovered the hotel has employed a charming young man 'Leo'' as a barista and he eagerly made delicious coffees to order!!. These are included in the price for a full buffet breakfast which for Accor card members like us is truly excellent value for money. Laura too deserves a mention as she was also very helpful and friendly, gladly frothing milk so I could enjoy my usual chai tea. Well done Ibis you've certainly got the brekkie right!!
Looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you so much for such a lovely review of our hotel. We are very pleased to receive these valuable comments about our team and I have certainly shared this with them. I do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards
Jade Stunden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

The Ibis is well situated with Banks and ATM's close by. Just a short stroll to the Vic Market and with the trams stops in either Victoria or Elizabeth Streets, the whole city is at your finger tips; along with the friendly staff who can assist you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will visit again in the future!

Regards
Jade Stunden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed here for six nights. Room had double and single bed in one room, with reasonable space to walk around and open out suitcases. Clean and comfortable. Only downside was that the window, which looked out on a wall and from which the sky was not visible, gave no indication of the weather conditions. But that was a minor. The hotel is very conveniently located to the Queen Victoria Market, and a short walk or free tram ride into the CBD area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JadeIbisMelbourne, Manager at ibis Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thank you for sharing such positive comments about our hotel. I am pleased you found the room clean and comfortable and I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards
Jade Stunden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Melbourne

Address: 15-21 Therry Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Melbourne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Melbourne is well located within easy walking distance of the famous Queen Victoria Markets, the legendary Lygon Street restaurant precinct and the Melbourne Central Shopping district. Fully refurbished and boasting a fresh new look, ibis Melbourne features 250 rooms, including one and two bedroom apartments, a vibrant restaurant and bar, plus internet access and conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your ibis Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.