We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #9 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great standard - we tried to negotiate a rate for the year with the Hyatt and Park Hyatt unsuccessfully so will stay there for myself and visitors from OS when the rate is suitable. This particular "Your Review" is most annoying as it would not allow me to send my initail response unless 200 characters minimum!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    404
    145
    45
    24
See reviews for
187
556
58
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

our first stay but not our last, we stayed in a king club room, which is great value, especially when you factor in what you get and what you save. The location of the hotel is central to the CBD and five minutes walk from federation square. The standard of service and overall hotel standard is first class.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located right in the city. Easy to get around shopping and for restaurants. The room is clean and very spacious. Just a great experience. Service is great and don't miss the buffet breakfast, just a wide selection of food choices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hotel is well located and modern, with good quality rooms and bathrooms. It was reasonably quiet, and was reasonably priced (compared to its local peers). However, the service was poor on several occasions, particularly in the restaurant (dinner and breakfast) and at the bar. Additionally, there is a ridiculous charge of $40 for breakfast ("reduced to only $30 if you pre-pay), and even more awful is the daily $29 charge for wifi. It always amazes me that when I stay at "lower-end" hotels in the same or similar chain, wifi is included, but at the upper end it is seen simply as a way to increase the money they make from the hotel. For these reasons I am not able to recommend this hotel at this time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear you were disappointed with our service. We appreciate your comments and have passed them on to management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was my first visit to Melbourne and I was looking forward to staying at the Grand Hyatt. Overall the hotel was well appointed and the room, while somewhat small, was well furnished. The TV signal was HD and good. Water pressure and temperature was excellent. Check in and check out was handled efficiently by the front desk and all employees were courteous and helpful.

The fitness center in the hotel is excellent and has a full compliment of cardio and weight equipment. Most of the equipment is TechnoGym with an integrated TV.

I have rated this hotel with 2 stars because management has elected to use the Inncom energy management system. This system uses a central computer to control the HVAC system and reduce heating and air conditioning costs to the hotel. The thermostat in the room has an integrated IR sensor that senses when the room is occupied and adjusts the air flow accordingly. The thermostat also only shows the room temperature you set....not the actual temperature in the room. The actual temp is set by a central computer which does not cool the room to your specification. At night the system turns the cooling function off but keeps the fan running to make you think the system is cooling the room. When the room gets hot and you wake up and move around it senses you and starts blowing cool air. If you like to wake up several times a night to get your room cool you will love this system. If not prepare for a long night of poor sleep.

As a matter of policy I will not stay at hotels with this system. The Inncom system is deceptive and takes advantage of guests. The hotel doesn't tell you how the system operates and most of the hotel employees don't know how it works either. I'm willing to bet the hotel manager will post a response to this review stating that the system does not do what I say it does. You be the judge....check it out on the internet.

You probably wouldn't stay here if they told you they were turning your hot water or electricity off during your stay....turning your air conditioning off is the same thing. If you do want to stay here I suggest you perform an internet search for "Inncom thermostat" and you will quickly find a way to perform a VIP override on the system to make operate as a normal system.

In summary....this is a nice hotel but I wont be back because of the energy monitoring system.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The pool area was small and very noisy. Room service menu was limited and very expensive. Gym is the best I have seen at any hotel. Rooms were quiet, small and very nice. The hotel rates are very expensive and not reasonable for what they offer. The property I believe is deserving only of a four star rating.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and have passed them on to management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for our final night of a 7 day holiday to Melbourne. It was pleasing to know that we could check in early which assisted us with the numerous bags we had, we could freshen up and head out to see some more sights of Melbourne. When we asked for a late check out there was no problem at all. This is what you expect from a 5 star hotel and having traveled the world and stayed at many hotels, the Grand Hyatt was superior in many aspects. We only has minor things to submit which were children focused. Highly recommended and will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Karl,


Thank you for your review.
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Grand Hyatt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.