We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A.W.15 Leisure Collection
Ranked #12 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

To begin with, Melbourne does not have many good quality 5 star hotels compared to other some Asia Pacific cities. This is my first stay at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne, and it is what I would call a standard delivery, hence am not wowed.

The room is not big, relatively ok view, soft mattress with flat pillows (not ideal at all). Had issues with water temperature at the shower, either too hot or too cold, can't seem to get the right temperature, suggest the management look into it as it will mean guests will run more water before getting the right water temperature. And I thought water is a prized resource in Victoria.

No turn down service was received in my 3 nights stay. Strangely, I would have expected this from a Grand Hyatt.

Staff were cordial, we were checked in despite arriving at hotel before noon, and a late check out was granted till 2pm. Concierge was good, loaned us MIKI card for the trains and trams, thus saving us AUD6 to buy the card.

Overall a good hotel, just not great. Would I come back again? Maybe, for its good location, which is near the Fed Square, Chinatown and the Paris end of Collins Street

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Lee,

We are sorry to hear that our Hotel did not WOW you.
On a positive note we are glad you enjoyed your nights sleep in our comfortable beds and our friendly concierge took good care of you.
Our turn-down service is done on request so I would suggest confirming this with front desk when you check-in. We hope you do choose to stay with us when you are back in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    500
    184
    57
    28
See reviews for
255
764
83
622
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last year during Nov and sad that it does not came with free internet. However I am impressed that this is provided now. As usual, big and clean room which i highly recommended for its location too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Johnny,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and have returned a year later. I hope you continue to stay at Grand Hyatt Melbourne when you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Evelyn, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne last night as we were in town to see a show at Rod Laver arena. We have stayed at many 5 star hotels in Melbourne including the Park Hyatt, however the Grand Hyatt has just gone straight to the top of our list. We just couldn't fault this hotel at all. The service from all staff was exceptional, and we need to make a special mention for George the Doorman as he just went above and beyond - he was so helpful, happy and friendly, and certainly made our first impression of the hotel a memorable one. The room wasn't the biggest we have stayed in, however it certainly was beautiful and had everything one would need. The bathroom was luxurious, and the bed was heavenly. Buffet breakfast was AMAZING, and the pool/spa were the best we have come across in Melbourne, the water was beautiful and warm. The location for us was perfect as it was an easy walk to Rod Laver. A little pricey but you get what you pay for, and this hotel certainly lives up to its 'Grand' name. We had a perfect experience, and would not hesitate to return again and again in the future. 5 stars.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2419, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Kimberley,

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and took advantage of all our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

At the "Paris end" on Collins Street the Grand Hyatt is conveniently located for both corporate and leisure travellers.

On the outside it's evident the hotel is from the 1980s but the interior has been completely renovated to reflect what a modern 5 star hotel should be.

I stayed in a corner Grand King room which was really well lit by massive windows. The L-shape sofa and table added a bit of homeliness to the room and made it quite pleasant for having guests over.

Amenities in the room was plentiful and to a high standard. I found it strange that they had renovated everything but the WC (clean nonetheless) and the shower pressure was slightly disappointing. A full bath is available and is probably the better alternative after a long day of work.

The gym (City Club) is run commercially so seemed rather busy during peak times but at the same time is a lot better equipped than your standard hotel gym. The club closes at 9pm which seems a bit early so I went in the morning instead (opening at 6am).

Didn't get a chance to eat at the hotel but there's quite a few nice restaurants just behind the hotel. Most of them are pretty popular and don't take bookings so either go extra early or late or at least put your name down early. I tried Chin Chin which serves modern south-east asian cuisines, and that took 1.5 hrs wait for a table.

Overall, check-in and out was smooth and stress free. Another fine example of quality Hyatt hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Contactim,

Thank you for your review. We are fortunate enough to have the southern hemispheres largest hotel gym that we do run commercially to locals in the CBD area. We have passed your feedback regarding closing times on to management and will take this into consideration for our busy business travelers. We do have some of Melbourne's finest restaurants right on our doorstep in Flinders lane but yes these wonderful locations do require a bit of a wait but the experience is well worth it. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Grand Hyatt is a very nice hotel. Stay recently for work purposes and couldn't be more than happy. Concierge team are very friendly and helpful. Room was good size and clean. Study nook was great!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Justin,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us whilst you were in town and our Concierge took care of you. We are very fortunate to have wonderful staff who go above and beyond to insure our guests have all their needs met. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have stayed here at the Grand Hyatt twice in the last three months, once with young children and the other with just the husband.
I found the rooms clean and the service great.
Perfect location if you are wanting to see a show at the regent or athenaem Theatre. Great shopping too if you like all the high end stuff.
There were road works going on which made it a little trickey but otherwise we found it easily.
Gym is huge! Had more machines and equipment than my husband and my gym.

Room Tip: corner rooms seem nice, was always quiet for us..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Louise,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to have had the pleasure of you staying with us not once but twice in such a short period of time for a city escape.
We are very fortunate to have the largest hotel gym in the southern hemisphere available to all of our guests and its great to hear you enjoyed the facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a delightful three day stay. The room was lovely, the evening food on the executive level was good (I upgraded for $60/day for the privilege) and the people exceptionally friendly. Breakfast was typical continental and nothing special. Though a large hotel, the elevators were speedy. My room was right by the elevators but the noise was not a problem (you could only hear them from the bathroom-and only on occasion). I was on 24 (of 32) and rarely waited longer than a few seconds. I was pleased with check-in. I arrived at 11 am (3 hours before check-in) and was thrilled after 24+ hours of travel to have a room ready. It should be noted the hotel food is expensive but Melbourne is an expensive city. The bathroom was spacious with both a bath and shower and plenty of nice amenities beyond just soap and shampoo (including tooth brush, toothpaste, razor, shaving cream, etc.). The hotel is nicely located, being walking or trolley distance from lots of attractions. Try the free city line tram which tours around the perimeter of the city. I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Melbourne.

Room Tip: High floor is nice-might have liked one better if facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear TrippF,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look advantage of our central location to explore our wonderful city. We hope you return to stay with us if you do venture back to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.