We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the football!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #21 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location for the football!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights for the grand final at the Melbourne cricket ground so awesome to be within walking distance of everything without being too much in the heart of the action. Quiet. Awesome block out blinds. Clean rooms. Definitely 5 stars standard but priced accordingly - have heard rave reviews about their breakfast buffet but didn't get to try it out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Hueyloke,

Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you return to try the buffet breakfast, it defiantly lives up it its reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    280
    111
    33
    20
See reviews for
122
338
37
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Absolutely a pleasure to stay here! I am a regular here now! Love the location and the service! Never let me down like always! The loyalty program gives you sone good points.... the complementary wifi is a plus!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Shailendra

Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you return to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed a single night in this hotel. We arrived in a rental car and were met at the door. Our car was parked, our bags were delivered to our room, we checked in in one minute and we were shown all the conveniences of our room by a very polite but switched-on porter. And there were no tips. What a pleasure it is to come home to Australia and know that it is not necessary to give a tip. The higher wages for hospitalitity professionals here means that tipping is almost non-existent. The room was very well presented and the bed the most comfortable I have ever slept in. That is saying something because I have slept in a lot of beds in my travels!! This hotel is not cheap in any nuance of the word but it is ideal if you want to get a feel for down town Melbourne. My wife and son walked to nearby Richmond where they did some fabulous shopping. Whether you are visiting Melbourne on business or pleasure the location of this hotel is ideal. Sporting venues such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Aami Park, Albert Park, and Etihad Arena are a very short distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location as well as our comfy beds.
We hope you return to stay with us soon on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice hotel located within City. You can come out of hotel & walk on the street & explore the city. Service was good. The rooms were of average size. View of lobby was good and was nicely done.
It had all amenities which a five star hotel should be having.
What I liked the best was the hotels lobby & location.

Room Tip: "Ask for rooms with good view- higher ones are better"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Bhushan-Singh

Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you return to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I was very satisfied with the check in, the club room and the club lounge. Just a small detail-  housekeeping left out a comb. 
There are many food and bar joints along Degraves Street.
If you are driving, the car drop off point is at Russell Street. 

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had the most wonderful experience here! Centrally located, we were able to walk to anywhere we desired! Although the weather was against us, it mattered little as the room was warm and cosy! We loved having a wine in the bar - the nibblies that accompanied the wine we just what was needed! Staff were very helpful and we look forward to another long weekend away.. Thank you for a lovely time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Maree,

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took refuge from the bad weather in ru-co bar.
We hope you return to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Decent room and views, good spot for the MCG as not too far a walk. Nice bathroom, good location. Free wifi and good service. Definitely a good choice for Melbourne and I probably prefer this end of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Rundmc,

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you return to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover a Melbourne icon. Stunning new guest rooms at Grand Hyatt Melbourne complete a journey of total transformation into the city’s centre of luxury. Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is located at the top end of prestigious Collins Street in the centre of CBD, the business, shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is also within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. The recent transformation of the hotel has seen it completely revitalized with spectacular new upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as the addition of an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guest rooms feature a brand new design concept that enhances the hotel’s uninterrupted Melbourne city views. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe complimentary breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day.Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests’ access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.