We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still glimmers somewhat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Still glimmers somewhat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Seen from afar, and entering the lobby and lounge, Melbourne's grand hyatt glimmers. But the glimmer factor doesn't quite extend to the post-renovation guest rooms, which are very well appointed but lack the wow factor of other 5 star hotels I've stayed at in Melbourne (note bathroom is an exception). What I really like about this Hyatt: the intimate pool and spa; the sun deck; the welcoming modern take on an open fire in collins kitchen/lounge; the warmth of the guest service agent who checked us in (ryan??); the deep bath; the stillness 28 floors up (requested a high floor room and was given one); attentiveness of front desk who door knocked when I didnt respond to wake up call); and the super comfortable bed. Minor irks? noisy plumbing; overheated public areas (stuffy, and not good for sustainability scorecard); instant coffee in room! I could have sworn the hyatt provided plunger coffee in room prior to renovation. When I stay again, I'll save for a club room for better views (our room directly faced tall office block).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Paula,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful staff who go above and beyond insure our guests have a memorable stay with us. We have passed your comments onto management for consideration and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future despite these 'minor risks'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    391
    140
    42
    23
See reviews for
177
517
55
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine coast
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We really like this hotel for its decor, size of rooms, friendly staff and really nice cocktail bar. One downside seems to be a problem with running water from rooms above and beside you. It was so loud and continuous, we had to change our room. The new room was a corner room and a lot quieter, but we still heard a lot of bathroom noise from the adjoining room. If you can sleep through the noise, it's a great hotel, but this is our second time on different floors and we had to change rooms both times. We were quickly accommodated with our request, but if the hotel had been full we wouldn't have been able to move. Being a light sleeper I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Cytobabe

We are sorry that you had a restless nights sleep but glad to know our wonderful staff were helpful and accommodating during your stay. Although we are saddened to hear you do not wish to come back and stay with us, we do hope you drop in for a drink at ru-co bar when your next in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Whenever I go to Melbourne I only stay at the Grand Hyatt. Once I discovered this hotel I knew I was onto a good thing and have not been disappointed.

I love that I can book online and include not just my accommodation but also any airport transfers I might need in one go and on one bill. The location is convenient for my business needs plus any leisure activities like the theatre or shopping.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathrooms are large with a separate shower and bath. The large windows maximise the views of Melbourne and provide a fantastic backdrop. The Concierge Level is good and again enjoys amazing views across Melbourne.

I look forward to my next stay in a few weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear DCHManager

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location. We are very fortunate to have such helpful staff who go above and beyond to insure our guests have a memorable experience whist staying with us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Have stayed here in the past and it was a great hotel but oh my this time it's been found a bit wanting. Firstly, I have stayed in 7 international hotels over the past month and this was the first that charged for broadband - come on Hyatt this is the 21 st century and business travellers expect hassle free broadband included in the rate, not 55 cents per minute! Secondly, if you have more than one suitcase don't expect to have anywhere to place it but on the floor. And finally we were out all day but our room was not made up. I like the renovated decor but without the service and customer experience to match I cannot recommend this as a place to stay in Melbourne.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Spencer,
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and overall product to insure our guests have a memorable experience. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the Grand Hyatt soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had 1 night here at the end of our stay in Melbourne. I booked it as a mystery hotel and it did not let us down. The view from the rooms is wonderful and the bed was so comfy. Would definitely stay here again. Pool was nice as well. Their bar at night is awesome and music was tasteful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you were happy with Hyatt as your mystery hotel. ru-co bar is a beautiful venue and we are thrilled you enjoyed it as much as we do.
We look forward to your next less mysterious visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was a few minutes walk from the show King Kong. We always book into Club Lounge level rooms with access to the Club Lounge. This is the worst Club Lounge that I have experienced.
The rooms were clean and OK. The bathroom was old and dated. Don't bother about running a bath - it would take at least a day to get a full bath tub. The water trickles out.
Food in the main restaurant was average not amazing.
The Club Lounge food in the evening was limited in comparison to food from other Club Lounges that we have stayed in ie. Langham, Marriott, Four Seasons. The breakfast in the Club Lounge is all continental only NO HOT food. I would not bother in upgrading to Club Lounge rooms/service - definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jinnine,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and overall product to insure our guests have a memorable experience. your comments have been passed on to management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location for business and surprisingly warm service! My boss had a shower in the morning here before a meeting, and he wasn't even booked to stay here! Ask for a south facing room for views of the park and Port Melbourne. The gym is a commercial gym, so it's brilliant. Stayed here multiple times over June and July 2013 and service was always great.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear RockYu

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear that both you and your boss enjoyed our facilities. We are very fortunate to have City Club gym available to all of our in-house guests. We thank you for your continual loyalty and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.