We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #9 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Whenever I go to Melbourne I only stay at the Grand Hyatt. Once I discovered this hotel I knew I was onto a good thing and have not been disappointed.

I love that I can book online and include not just my accommodation but also any airport transfers I might need in one go and on one bill. The location is convenient for my business needs plus any leisure activities like the theatre or shopping.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathrooms are large with a separate shower and bath. The large windows maximise the views of Melbourne and provide a fantastic backdrop. The Concierge Level is good and again enjoys amazing views across Melbourne.

I look forward to my next stay in a few weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear DCHManager

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location. We are very fortunate to have such helpful staff who go above and beyond to insure our guests have a memorable experience whist staying with us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    407
    146
    46
    24
See reviews for
189
562
58
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Have stayed here in the past and it was a great hotel but oh my this time it's been found a bit wanting. Firstly, I have stayed in 7 international hotels over the past month and this was the first that charged for broadband - come on Hyatt this is the 21 st century and business travellers expect hassle free broadband included in the rate, not 55 cents per minute! Secondly, if you have more than one suitcase don't expect to have anywhere to place it but on the floor. And finally we were out all day but our room was not made up. I like the renovated decor but without the service and customer experience to match I cannot recommend this as a place to stay in Melbourne.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Spencer,
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and overall product to insure our guests have a memorable experience. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the Grand Hyatt soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had 1 night here at the end of our stay in Melbourne. I booked it as a mystery hotel and it did not let us down. The view from the rooms is wonderful and the bed was so comfy. Would definitely stay here again. Pool was nice as well. Their bar at night is awesome and music was tasteful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you were happy with Hyatt as your mystery hotel. ru-co bar is a beautiful venue and we are thrilled you enjoyed it as much as we do.
We look forward to your next less mysterious visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was a few minutes walk from the show King Kong. We always book into Club Lounge level rooms with access to the Club Lounge. This is the worst Club Lounge that I have experienced.
The rooms were clean and OK. The bathroom was old and dated. Don't bother about running a bath - it would take at least a day to get a full bath tub. The water trickles out.
Food in the main restaurant was average not amazing.
The Club Lounge food in the evening was limited in comparison to food from other Club Lounges that we have stayed in ie. Langham, Marriott, Four Seasons. The breakfast in the Club Lounge is all continental only NO HOT food. I would not bother in upgrading to Club Lounge rooms/service - definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jinnine,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and overall product to insure our guests have a memorable experience. your comments have been passed on to management for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location for business and surprisingly warm service! My boss had a shower in the morning here before a meeting, and he wasn't even booked to stay here! Ask for a south facing room for views of the park and Port Melbourne. The gym is a commercial gym, so it's brilliant. Stayed here multiple times over June and July 2013 and service was always great.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear RockYu

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear that both you and your boss enjoyed our facilities. We are very fortunate to have City Club gym available to all of our in-house guests. We thank you for your continual loyalty and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the doorman to our early check in to our room was a friendly experience. Walked everywhere from here, close to river, trams, and the whole Melbourne experience. pool, gym and golf driving range were all extra benefits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Pamela4141

Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location as well as our many 5 star facilities.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Our rooms were adjoining but not connected. This was our only issue as it meant that our children were separated from us all night. The rooms were comfortable and the beds were great. Lovely views of Melbourne. The bathrooms were well appointed and nearly everything was provided. Breakfast was a real bonus, everything you could think of and the best poached eggs ever! The hotel staff even arranged a packed lunch for my daughter to take to school. We've never stayed in our home town before but would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Katie
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry about the adjoining room oversight but glad that everything else made for a pleasurable experience. Hyatt packed lunch wow that is a bonus, we are very fortunate to have such helpful staff who enjoy surprising and delighting our guests so they do return to stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.