We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #14 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great breakfast, clean rooms and great service. A little niosy at night from other rooms. Its always hard to choose in Melbourne but this hotel is in a good location. We were able to walk to all shopping area's and to the theater. It is a little expensive, we got our room on a deal which made it affordable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Anaknilinda
Glad to hear you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. We are saddened about the bad experience you had with one of our staff members, as you can see by other reviews our staff are usually one of the highlights of our hotel.
We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    733
    353
    127
    36
    23
See reviews for
163
446
50
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved staying at this hotel. Great ambience and decor, friendly and hospitable staff. Our room was beautiful and the bed was heavenly. The location is perfect, right in the centre of town, close to many good restaurants.
The only negative thing about our experience was our breakfast where the server wasn't very helpful. A friendlier and more helpful server compensated for her colleague's shortcoming. I called the attention of the manager because I felt that it was such as shame for one grouchy server to taint a fat experience.
We would go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Anaknilinda
Glad to hear you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. We are saddened about the bad experience you had with one of our staff members, as you can see by other reviews our staff are usually one of the highlights of our hotel.
We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You can't fault the service at the Grand Hyatt, Mebourne - which is a good thing, because the rooms could do with a top-to-toe makeover. They've clearly had a lick of paint and the odd new tap installed, but that doesn't hide the 80s marble bathroom and the general feel of tiredness. But the service? Excellent. And let's be honest: a room's a room in this 'business' type of hotel - you can't expect much.

Location is excellent for business at the 'Paris end of Collins St'.

Oh, and yes - wifi is ludicrously expensive. But that's not just this hotel, that's pretty much any Australian hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear, TB-1974
We must agree our staff are what make our guests keep returning to stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and took advantage of our central location.
Our marble is actually all that remains from our major refurbishment in 2011. It was especially shipped in from Italy to build the original hotel in the 90’s so for sentimental reasons we chose to repolish this and have is remain in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location, clean & well appointed rooms, super comfy beds, friendly & professional staff and a valet with a sunny smile and cheerful disposition. What more could you ask for? A very enjoyable stay, highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Emk76
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with as. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well positioned in the CBD of Melbourne and the rooms whilst small are well appointed and pleasant.However charging for wifi is ridiculous in a hotel that considers itself as 5 star.Further there was no tea or tea bags in the room and no morning newspaper.I wouldn't describe it as value for the money

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Susan D
I am terribly sorry to hear your amenities were not in your room. We have wonderful T2 products and a daily newspaper that I am shocked you did not receive.
I would advise you to call reception next time so we have the opportunity to rectify this problem while you’re still here and make your stay much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burne Tas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Emma's great smile when we booked in was the start of a fantastic stay.Location and view over the Yarra river was excellent.Staff very friendly,room and fittings great,bedding and king size bed was a real gem.All in all a fantastic property that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear GJPunchy
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with as. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the hotel last week with my husband for his 30th. I booked a package through Lastminute.com with a late checkout, buffet breakfast etc. I mentioned it was my husband's birthday and they upgraded us and gave us a bottle of bubbles & a personal note. We were blown away! Very impressive indeed. The rest of our stay was wonderful - great hotel, great location, very friendly check-in staff and buffet breakfast was outstanding. The only negatives - you have to pay to use the tennis court, and the restaurant staff weren't as friendly/attentive as the check-in staff were. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear EJOAus
We love looking after our special birthday guest I must say. We enjoy surprising and delighting our guests and we are happy to hear you were blown away.
We hope you chose to spend you next mile stone with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.