We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean and a touch of lux” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #14 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean and a touch of lux”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in a standard room, the exterior of the hotel and lobby were amazing. The room itself was very clean! Although a little small (compared to other hotels in Melbourne). The view of the city was lovely! The bathroom was very nice, although i felt a little old fashioned (could just be personal taste).only disappointment was the pool, it was part of the gym downstairs and was small and seemed fairly old, and no view. Overall nice experience and would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Britty1507
We all deserve a little luxe in our lives and glad you experienced this during your stay at Grand Hyatt. We have to agree that the lobby is rather grandiose and such a nice introduction for what’s to come at our 5-star hotel. We agree that the views are magic! We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    328
    118
    35
    22
See reviews for
153
412
46
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for the first time due to the incompetence of the booking staff at Crown Towers.

We stayed in the presidential suite, it was clean, spacious, and as expected. The technology in room was a little dated, as for the TVs were a little small. These are minor things.

The staff are very skilled in their roles, the club lounge is magnificent, and the hotel itself is run very professionally.

We have not returned to our usual place of Crown Towers since staying here. It is very impressive, and I am thoroughly impressed with this hotel.

One SMALL gripe. Most hotels you stay at where you spend $1200+ allow guests to smoke in the room. This hotel does not. I assumed I could due to their being ashtrays and matches in the room, but I was charged their "cleaning fee" due to this. This was my mistake and not a reflection on the hotel itself.

All in all, a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear PlatinumGent

Firstly, we are so glad we could accommodate you on such a busy date in our city. The Presidential Suite is currently not a room we use regularly; and is more so presented when we are fully booked; which was the case in your circumstance; we wanted to be able to host you. It is a very spacious room with all the finishes of one would expect; but the décor is indeed outdated and the last piece of our total hotel redevelopment.
We agree that this space is in need of a renovation and the exciting news is that we will be redesigning this large 180sqm suite over the coming months! This means we will be able to return this large suite to inventory and we truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy the ‘new’ life of this suite.
Your comments to our staff are greatly appreciated and will be passed on.
In regard to smoking; Grand Hyatt Melbourne does indeed hold a Non Smoking Policy on all floors of the property. We appreciate your comments to cost and allowance; however the reason we do pass on this charge is due to our commitment to doing a full scale clean, to include shampooing of carpets and drapery of the room prior to the next guest arriving. This is the only way we can ensure there is no evidence of smoking as our brand promises.
Thank you again for your feedback and comments to our team and service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If your used to the 6 and 7 star hotels of Dubai, etc, then the GHM probably seems run of the mill. However, I am not a frequent stayer at very high end hotels, and was very impressed with our stay there last weekend. The room was large and very comfortable, with a great city view. The staff were helpful and friendly - and we were staying with a baby, so we made a few requests of them. The GHM is located really well for restaurants, with many different cuisines within a one block walk. Very minor point (considering options nearby) was the lack of dining options actually at the hotel - only one restaurant that I could see. It would be an easy walk to the sports precinct (MCG, Rod Laver Arena, etc), but unfortunately we weren't going there. Trams to everywhere run right past the front door. My only real criticism is the same one I have for all these ritzy hotels (and GHM are just doing what all the others do), which is, how come budget motels in outback Queensland and southern Utah can offer free wifi, but these places charge $20 a day? It's not an extra luxury, it should be a standard inclusion. It's like charging extra to use the TV. But, apart from that, I highly recommend a stay at the GHM.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear LOCKMAC07
Thank you for your comments and it’s great to hear that travelling with a baby was made easy for you at our hotel (as we’re sure it can often be a challenge).
We are by virtue situated in the best part of town and are lucky enough to have some of the finest internationally renowned restaurants right at our door step. We would definitely recommend speaking with our friendly concierge next time you stay, to recommend some additional dining options close by. As for wi-fi, it is something that we hope to have a better solution for soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinner Plain, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I recently celebrated my birthday at Collins Kitchen. We were given a semi-private room close to the food stations even though I didn't request it which was fabulous. The food and the service were excellent and we all agreed that it was a great place to celebrate a special occasion. Thank-you, I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Karen B
We are glad to hear you had a wonderful birthday experience in Collins Kitchen and were seated at the helm of the Chef’s Table. It is a treat being right in amongst the action of the kitchen. We hope you return sometime soon to try some of Executive Chef, Jason Camillo’s new culinary creations or the to-die-for Afternoon Tea. Delicious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was not sure what to expect given the divergent reviews, but when I stayed here for two nights this week in a room on the 10th floor I was very pleasantly surprised. It is a beautiful hotel. My room was spacious and comfortable. I found all of the staff to be excellent and well above the bar I expect of hotel service in Australia (which is admittedly low). My room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable.

My corporate room rate was quite good, but the extras including food and beverages were, I must say, very expensive. I also found the room service brekafast somewhat disappointing, both in terms of a la carte choice and in terms of the product (I almost always order the same thing, Bircher museli; this one was very bland indeed, and pricey).

But the Collins Street location is excellent, and overall I do think it is indeed a grand hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear scotthumphries

Thank you for your candid comments on your recent stay and we’re glad that our hotel superseded your expectations. What a relief!

We tend to agree that our staff are rather excellent, and do go out of their way to ensure every guest has a memorable experience. As for breakfast, perhaps head down to Collins Kitchen and sample the full buffet – touted the best in Melbourne, but we do understand that often enjoying the comforts and quiet of your room is rather blissful. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went to the Grand Hyatt for a weekend with my spouse to go and enjoy some of the comedy festival. We got a large corner room with great views. We had room 2719 and I noticed there were water stains on the wall underneath the aircon.

The bed was really comfortable but the doona on the bed was way too hot and even with the airconditioning turned all the way down it was way too hot. A sheet or a light cotton blanket which would have been fine. The airconditioning was really loud and the rooms suffered from noise from the corridor and adjoining rooms. No wine was included in the mini bar which you had to order from rooms service... so we didn't bother. Check in and out was pretty inefficient and took quite a while. Express checkout can be handled in other hotels so I am not sure why they can't manage it her. For the tariff it was really pretty underwhelming. We have stayed here before and it seems to have lost its focus. I don't think we will rush back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear RahulD574,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent hotel stay. We really value open honest feedback and are disappointed to read that your visit lacked the gloss and polish of your previous experience. It’s often the little things that do make a big difference and we’ll definitely look further into how are services such as mini bar and check-out can be far more seamless and provide what our guests want.

We hope you return to our hotel and give us the opportunity to provide a true 5-star stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a work trip and it was great. Perfect customer service, a clean comfortable room. The location on Collins Street is fabulous. The hotel is right around the corner from some fabulous eateries in Flinders Lane.
At night, the noise from the occupants next door was quite loud (because the rooms were connecting and the connecting door was right next to the bed) so the front desk arranged for me to move to another room. It was extremely quiet and I had a comfortable night's sleep.
I had to meet people for interviews and used the seats in the lobby. It was perfect - private and quiet. There is also a very nice business centre I could have used but it didn't offer as much privacy.
I want to give special mention to George the hotel doorman. He was so helpful and just a lovely person. He even gave me some advice about Miami - his home town, where I am headed at Christmas!
I will definately be staying here for all future work trips and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear LibbyLovestoTravel ,

We love a great review and glad to hear that we ticked all the boxes on your last stay! Our hotel is perfectly positioned in the heart of some of Melbourne’s best food and retail offerings which can prove to be dangerous on the wallet. We will most definitely pass on your comments to George, he is a great personality and asset to the team. We wish you well on your travels and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,446 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Park Hyatt Melbourne
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Charming, City...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#6 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.