We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a 5* Luxury Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #21 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Definitely a 5* Luxury Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great hotel, very comfortable, clean, with quality furnishing, spacious and wonderful, attentive staff. There is a real difference between good service at a good hotel versus great 5* service at a luxury hotel. The attention to detail at this hotel is amazing and you really feel like you are being looked after and spoilt. Staff here are so efficient and obviously very experienced in hospitality.

Bed is huge and sooooo comfortable we actually overslept a little and room service breakfast was so delicious and worth the $$$ price tag. If you are not looking to stuff yourself over breakfast, an australian breakfast is more than plenty between two people. The serving size is huge and got us through til dinner. Pastries, muesli, yoghurt and bacon and eggs were all perfect!

It is definitely worth paying for a hotel like this just for the service alone, not sure how some people can complain! We stayed in a standard king room and there was plenty of space to relax and hang out, but I'm sure any room above us would be even more amazing and worth it if you can afford it.

Very enjoyable inner city stay and would definitely return again!

Room Tip: Im sure any room would be fine, but if you want a good view ask for one at a higher level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Janice W,

What a lovely review! It’s great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to make your stay a memorable one! Lovely to see you enjoyed a luxurious breakfast in bed – it is such a wonderfully indulgent thing to do when staying at a hotel. We’d love to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    537
    280
    110
    32
    20
See reviews for
122
337
37
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was disappointed with my stay here, I booked an executive level room, it was nice size and had a great view of the city. I thought the decore was very standard, the bathroom average and on the tired side. What surprised me more than anything was after checking in I was told I also had to pay for wifi access even though I was staying in an executive room, I think this is appalling, I think its bad enough to be charged in a standard room but when you are charged in an Executive level room its just wrong.... The executive club is nothing special, the breakfast what you would expect and nothing outstanding. The Gym is good but again needs a bit of a refurb, I left early and went to another property that offered complimentary wifi to executive level guests and suggest all of us do this in future, Its time to stamp out the rip off of wifi charges in hotels.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear detroncj,
We’re sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was disappointing, particularly the décor. We completed a major refurbishment of all our rooms just over 3 years ago, with world renown interior designer Joseph Pang, incorporating touches of luxury such as a comfortable sitting area with L shaped lounge in all our rooms. We appreciate your feedback regarding internet pricing, as this is something we are constantly monitoring. We are conscious that the environment has changed over the last few years and internet access is no longer a luxury, or something only used by business travellers paid for by their company – it is now an integral part of everyone’s daily life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Let me first preface that I am a Platinum Member of the Hyatt loyalty program and they are my hotel of choice. I have stayed in Hyatt properties across Australia and the USA. The Grand Hyatt at Melbourne is another great example of why I choose this chain. Check in was friendly and efficient. The gracious young man who checked us in asked about our visit to Melbourne and offered assistance and recommendations for our stay.

We requested a quiet room as I am a light sleeper and were given a corner room on the 18th floor. The room was quiet...it was silent! Brilliant. It was large, quality fit outs with the over the top pretentiouness of some chains and the best thing about the Hyatt, the awesome king bed and great pillows. So many chains ignore having great pillows, not here.

The bathroom was large and beautifully fitted out with good quality tolietries.

The hotel is well located with easy walking access to many of Melbournes cafes, restaurants etc.

Very happy with our stay, this is now firmly lodged as our hotel of choice when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Redaussie8,
It is great to read how much you enjoy staying with Hyatt! And wonderful to see you enjoyed the little extra touches of luxury such as June Jacobs bath amenities, and comfortable furnishings when you stayed with us recently. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, and valuable feedback from a seasoned traveller and loyal Hyatt member is always welcomed. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for my 30th birthday and can I say this is one of the best hotels in Melbourne. From the birthday card and the complimentary bottle of wine in our room to the view of Melbourne city. We were situated in a high floor corner room facing the city (so Russel Street side) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; the room was clean, spacious and the bed comfortable.The variety of food for breakfast is also mind boggling, there is literally something to cater for everyone tastes. We also made use of the day spa, which capped off the weekend nicely (especially after a big night out)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear GeorgT_82,
It’s great to read we were able to make your special occasion that little bit more special! And we’d have to agree, breakfast in Collins Kitchen is a great way to start your day. With an emphasis on fresh, local produce, and food freshly cooked in our open kitchen it is hard to beat. We look forward to welcoming you back again, for your next special occasion, or perhaps just for a weekend getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we were allocated a corner room with huge windows in all directions. way beyond expectations. classy and divine. perfect T2 tea selection. excellent room service and staff. beautiful bathroom products in varying locations in the bathroom so you didnt have to search for something while you were in the shower. lobby very stylish and expansive. would go back there in a new york minute!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear bethany2012,
What a lovely review! We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our little touches of luxury such as plenty of bathroom amenities made your stay with us extra special. We would love to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I regularly stay at the Grand Hyatt when in Melbourne on business, beautiful hotel, grand soaring reception area, with subdued lighting. Strategically placed real flame fires to make the place feel cosy. Large fully equipped gym, which can get a bit busy as it is open to the public. My only negative on the hotel is that it can get a little warm at times, on hot days the lifts feel like saunas, and for me personally, I would like the rooms a little cooler at night time.

IT is on the more expensive side, but the feeling of luxury makes up for it.Overall I would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger, just ask if you are a light sleeper and want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Paul Y,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We’d have to agree, the fireplaces are a lovely luxurious touch to our lobby areas. Please do let our housekeeping staff know if you would prefer a blanket and sheets next time you stay with us should you continue to find your room a little too warm at night. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S'pore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed in several hotels in Melbourne before- Rendezvous, Crown Casino hotel etc.

I must say I love Grand Hyatt the most! The service is great, their location is excellent! The hotel is near many luxury brands like Chanel/LV & about 5 mins walk to Chinatown which offers a great variety of good food even til late nights.

The room is pleasantly big & very comfortable. Love the big bed & comfy pillows provided. Nothing to complain about this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Xiaomei44,
What a great review! Thank you so much for your comments, it is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us. We’d have to agree, our beds really are very comfortable, and it can be hard to leave them in the morning! We’d love to welcome you back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt
Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover a Melbourne icon. Stunning new guest rooms at Grand Hyatt Melbourne complete a journey of total transformation into the city’s centre of luxury. Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is located at the top end of prestigious Collins Street in the centre of CBD, the business, shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is also within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 548 rooms and suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. The recent transformation of the hotel has seen it completely revitalized with spectacular new upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as the addition of an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guest rooms feature a brand new design concept that enhances the hotel’s uninterrupted Melbourne city views. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe complimentary breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day.Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests’ access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.