We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hyatt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #14 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Western Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Quality Hyatt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Let me first preface that I am a Platinum Member of the Hyatt loyalty program and they are my hotel of choice. I have stayed in Hyatt properties across Australia and the USA. The Grand Hyatt at Melbourne is another great example of why I choose this chain. Check in was friendly and efficient. The gracious young man who checked us in asked about our visit to Melbourne and offered assistance and recommendations for our stay.

We requested a quiet room as I am a light sleeper and were given a corner room on the 18th floor. The room was quiet...it was silent! Brilliant. It was large, quality fit outs with the over the top pretentiouness of some chains and the best thing about the Hyatt, the awesome king bed and great pillows. So many chains ignore having great pillows, not here.

The bathroom was large and beautifully fitted out with good quality tolietries.

The hotel is well located with easy walking access to many of Melbournes cafes, restaurants etc.

Very happy with our stay, this is now firmly lodged as our hotel of choice when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Redaussie8,
It is great to read how much you enjoy staying with Hyatt! And wonderful to see you enjoyed the little extra touches of luxury such as June Jacobs bath amenities, and comfortable furnishings when you stayed with us recently. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, and valuable feedback from a seasoned traveller and loyal Hyatt member is always welcomed. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    674
    330
    118
    35
    22
See reviews for
154
412
46
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for my 30th birthday and can I say this is one of the best hotels in Melbourne. From the birthday card and the complimentary bottle of wine in our room to the view of Melbourne city. We were situated in a high floor corner room facing the city (so Russel Street side) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; the room was clean, spacious and the bed comfortable.The variety of food for breakfast is also mind boggling, there is literally something to cater for everyone tastes. We also made use of the day spa, which capped off the weekend nicely (especially after a big night out)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear GeorgT_82,
It’s great to read we were able to make your special occasion that little bit more special! And we’d have to agree, breakfast in Collins Kitchen is a great way to start your day. With an emphasis on fresh, local produce, and food freshly cooked in our open kitchen it is hard to beat. We look forward to welcoming you back again, for your next special occasion, or perhaps just for a weekend getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we were allocated a corner room with huge windows in all directions. way beyond expectations. classy and divine. perfect T2 tea selection. excellent room service and staff. beautiful bathroom products in varying locations in the bathroom so you didnt have to search for something while you were in the shower. lobby very stylish and expansive. would go back there in a new york minute!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear bethany2012,
What a lovely review! We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our little touches of luxury such as plenty of bathroom amenities made your stay with us extra special. We would love to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I regularly stay at the Grand Hyatt when in Melbourne on business, beautiful hotel, grand soaring reception area, with subdued lighting. Strategically placed real flame fires to make the place feel cosy. Large fully equipped gym, which can get a bit busy as it is open to the public. My only negative on the hotel is that it can get a little warm at times, on hot days the lifts feel like saunas, and for me personally, I would like the rooms a little cooler at night time.

IT is on the more expensive side, but the feeling of luxury makes up for it.Overall I would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger, just ask if you are a light sleeper and want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Paul Y,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We’d have to agree, the fireplaces are a lovely luxurious touch to our lobby areas. Please do let our housekeeping staff know if you would prefer a blanket and sheets next time you stay with us should you continue to find your room a little too warm at night. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S'pore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed in several hotels in Melbourne before- Rendezvous, Crown Casino hotel etc.

I must say I love Grand Hyatt the most! The service is great, their location is excellent! The hotel is near many luxury brands like Chanel/LV & about 5 mins walk to Chinatown which offers a great variety of good food even til late nights.

The room is pleasantly big & very comfortable. Love the big bed & comfy pillows provided. Nothing to complain about this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Xiaomei44,
What a great review! Thank you so much for your comments, it is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us. We’d have to agree, our beds really are very comfortable, and it can be hard to leave them in the morning! We’d love to welcome you back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during the 2013 Melbourne Grand Prix weekend. The room was large enough but bathroom desperately in need of a make-over. Most disappointing is the series of mistakes made when paying my bill on a different credit card to the one initially presented. Given the price they were charging the standard of service and capabiliities of the reception desk staff were poor. I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear James H,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It’s disappointing to hear that a great weekend away was marred by the failing of our staff to manage your check-out experience seamlessly. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience and lost time as a result of our mistake. Our Front Desk staff regularly manage a variety of different billing scenarios but on this occasion an error has obviously been made. We do appreciate your candid feedback and hope that we can remedy this experience should you chose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My first time in Melbourne, this hotel is right in the middle of town. Great location.
It is a large, 5 star hotel so you should arrive with some expectations.
Those are met. And then some.

All the staff I encountered were polite, courteous, friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself is big but well designed so it isn't like a massive megalopolis - it does retain some character. Boutique it is not but you shouldn't expect that from a large hotel like this.

What it does have is a fantastic breakfast offering with a wide range of options from cereals, sliced meat, smoked salmon, pastries, eggs etc etc. It's great. Not cheap if it isn't included in your room - (40 AUSD) but a seriously good selection. Get your coffee ordered early though - for some reason more often than not, coffee could take quite a while to arrive.

In addition to this, I had a really nice spacious room on the 11th floor with good views looking out over Melbourne and a very nice bathroom with shower and bath and a comfortable bed.

And then there is the gym which is absolutely huge and well equipped. I've been a member of gyms in London that were smaller and less well equipped. I assume the swimming pool would have been equally impressive but unfortunately I was working so didn't get a chance to visit.

All in all, if you're looking to be looked after in a large, well serviced hotel with great staff and facilities in a good location - you can't really go wrong here. If I come back to Melbourne I would hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear mike w,
Thank you so much for your review! Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Breakfast in Collins Kitchen is definitely a must do when staying with us – we like to think we have one of the best breakfast offerings in Melbourne! We’ve passed on your comments regarding the slow coffee service during breakfast to our Food and beverage management team for review and action. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.