We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #14 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good location in Melbourne everything was good. The location was superby central for everything Melbourne has to offer and very handy to walk to the tennis, which was the reason for the visit. The restaurant was excellent with a good selection of quality food at all times.
Melbourne was a little dissapointing though as it seemed too quiet. I was pleased that we had reason to be in the area or i would have been dissapointed to have travelled that far for so little entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear David D,
It’s great to read you enjoyed staying with us, however it is disappointing to read that you didn’t enjoy your overall Melbourne experience. Melbourne has a thriving theatre scene, and a great selection of world class restaurants and bars to explore, as well as great galleries and concert venues if that is more your scene. If you do choose to visit Melbourne again, please have a chat with our Concierge team, who can help you find the activities which will make Melbourne come alive for you – it really is a great city to explore & discover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    381
    137
    40
    23
See reviews for
175
499
54
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this fantastic hotel for three days as a "girlie" weekend away. The staff are all extremely courteous, welcoming and professional. Great location within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Fabulous room and comfortable beds and great bathroom with a "real" hair dryer! Beautiful views from our room and considering it was the Moomba weekend, extremely quiet. Well appointed gym and pool area as well. Will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Lisa S,
Great to read you and your friends had a great time on your weekend away with us, and enjoyed the little extra touches of luxury in the rooms such as June Jacobs amenities and a quality hairdryer! We’d love to welcome you all back next time you decide you need a girls retreat in Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great location in Collins St., just by Federation Square. You can walk to every attraction in Melbourne fro here or for the far places get the free circular route tram no 35, runs every few minutes. Well appointed, comfortable rooms with fantastic views of the City. Service excellent.

Room Tip: Get the club room deal as you get an excellent breakfast and canapes and drinks in the evening, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear kalathosman,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay – and we would have to agree, Grand Hyatt Melbourne is in a great location for exploring everything Melbourne has to offer. We hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit our vibrant and exciting city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Hyatt for 2 nights... The rooms were a little small, but very nicely decorated!. We had access to the Grand Club for the 2 nights, and found that to be fantastic... Pre Dinner drinks were fantastic, with plenty of choice. The canapes were also lovely, but found that it was a bit weird having small desserts on offer when it was pre dinner canapes? Breakfast was continental only, but the selection was brillant. It was in a great location and easy walking distance to everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear 19thjuly,
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Booking a room with Grand Club access definitely gives your stay an extra luxurious touch, and sitting in the Grand Club looking out over Melbourne with a glass of something nice is a lovely way to start your evening! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was back in Mebourne and stayed in the Grand Hyatt. Check in at the level 2 reception and was told that room was not available though I have received email to that they will block the room for my early arrival. The reception send me to 31 floor and I waited at the club lounge. Apparently the lady at the level 2 reception did not tell the club lounge reception that I was waiting for my room. As I took an over night flight and wanted to check in to freshen up before heading out. The lady at the club lounge reception (Bubpha) did and excellent job to find me a room before my suite was available. It is her excellent service that make staying in Hyatt a pleasant one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear lender,
Thank you for your feedback – we really do appreciate hearing about your experience.
We have alerted our Front Office management team to your feedback for training and review – genuine hospitality is what we strive to provide to all our guests. We’re glad to see that Bubpha looked after you well and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The thought of visiting Melbourne was going through my mind as I was walking through the streets of Sydney. After all we spend five days in Sydney and flying further south seem exciting and adventures. We booked as soon as we got back to our hotel and decided that Grand Hyatt Melbourne was going to be our stay. We were so glad we made the right decision. Rooms were very clean, views were beautiful and most of all we could walk on Collins street and window shop or look for a restaurant with authentic food and explosive aromas. We loved the Grand Club Lounge with panoramic views, complimentary breakfast and evening drinks. Thank you for making our stay comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear MonikaQ,
We’re so pleased you decided to head south and visit us in Melbourne! It’s really good to read how much you enjoyed the little touches of luxury in the rooms and extras such as Grand Club access that makes a stay with us that little bit more luxurious. We’d love to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I'm here for work but I must say that the hotel is excellent. Everything is available and the service is impeccable. Can't find much to fault other than the GBP exchange rate. I would the location is right at the posh end of Melbourne where the designer shops are. Ask for a corner room and you'll have great views of the city.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Manny-London-123,
Great to read your review – we’d have to agree, Grand Hyatt Melbourne is in a perfect location to explore all the wonderful things the city has to offer. We’re really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us – we hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Melbourne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.