We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #15 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had 1 night here with our 7 month old at the end of December and loved it.
We were given a corner room which was huge because we had requested a cot for our daughter. The cot wasn't in the room when we arrived so we called down and let them know and then went out for a while and it was ion place when we got back.
The room and furnishings were great. The bathroom was excellent except for the step over into the shower where the marble was cracked.
We thought that the buffet was excellent and due to being able to get a complimentary late check out we were able to use the pool in the health club which was first class.
We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Dangergoinoff,
It’s lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! The corner rooms are great when you have an extra (third) person in the room - we’re glad this made your stay extra comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    666
    326
    118
    35
    21
See reviews for
152
409
46
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently stayed here in the days leading up to our wedding, and I have to say we were so well looked after! I was quite stressed, and had lots of family and friends coming from interstate all staying as well, and the staff were all so helpful and kind. The location is fabulous and the rooms are very clean and modern, and have everything you could possibly need for a short or long stay. Thanks to everyone who made it such a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Alexia_R81
Thank you so much for your kind comments – we’re so glad that we were able to take some of the stress off your shoulders on such a big occasion and make your stay with us truly memorable for all the right reasons. It was our pleasure to make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable one, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I usually stay here for convenience, due to its business centric location. It is reliable - you know what you'll get each time but despite the renovations the rooms are still small and nothing flash. While the lobby looks amazing since the renovations a few year's ago, the rooms still feel a bit outdated. I'm happy to stay here but I would not recommend it as a special occasion place.

What I like:
* great location
* good gym facilities
* great breakfast
* love the little bar on the side of the lobby
* some of the rooms have decent views

What I didn't like:
* Noisy showers. You can usually hear the plumbing from the room next door
* Room acoustics. Often can hear people talking in the corridors outside
* Rooms just feel bland and are quite small

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear OzCol1981
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us – we truly appreciate your candid comments. Grand Hyatt Melbourne is definitely in a great location, with easy access to shopping, the business precinct, theatres, bars and dining hot spots. We’re sorry to hear that you found our room décor a bit bland, and not to your taste – when we refurbished our rooms we did our very best to be contemporary and fresh, without being too edgy. Yet other travellers have commented how much they enjoy the tranquillity of the space, and they really love the colour scheme and the wood tones. We are sorry that you were disturbed by guest noise from the hallways and plumbing noise – it is disappointing when noise intrudes into your room and disturbs your peace and quiet. We have raised your comments with our Engineering management team for review and we certainly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Huge two floor reception.
Large comfortable bedroom. Excellent bathroom (bath, shower, great toiletries and hair-drier).
Comfortable seating in bedroom, but poorly arranged, so closing the curtains was a challenge.
Attractive dining room with huge range of food at breakfast, with open-plan cooking area (freshly cooked omelettes were very welcome).
Poor service from waiting staff (tea and coffee difficult to obtain, lack of cutlery and incorrect bills).
Excellent concierges - maps, ideas and blankets for late evening tours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear wendyanddavid536
Thank you for your comments – we’re sorry to read you experienced some access issues with closing the curtains. Perhaps next time you stay with us please don’t hesitate to request an evening turndown service - our housekeeping staff will be happy to close the curtains and set your room up for the evening. We are also disappointed to read that you experienced less than professional service in our Collins Kitchen restaurant. It was great to read that we made you a really good omelette, (Collins Kitchen has quite a reputation for its delicious breakfast fare), however if you don’t have the required utensils to eat it with or your coffee doesn’t arrive promptly then we certainly have not provided good service, let alone exceptional service, which is our aim. Please be assured we will raise your feedback with our Food and Beverage management team for review and action. We do hope you stay with us again when you next visit Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed overnight for New Years Eve, in a lovely room with great views. The problems we had out weighed the good....the room wasn't clean, thick dust on the lamps,the windows were dirty, the bathroom mirrors were smudged and grubby looking, and we had no coffee and tea, spare blankets or soap and shampoo in the bathroom. The noise levels were shocking!! ok, i know it was New Year, but the shouting and carrying on in the hallways was still going on till 4.30 am, with no security to be seen, we even had someone try to open our door at 3am !! We had late checkout till 4pm, but having not slept, we checked out at 9am and went home. Management are aware of this matter, and sent me an email, saying sorry and then dribbling on about rubbish..honestly i was shocked at the "couldn't care less" attitude reply from management!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Harmsy62

My name is Ilan Weill and I am the General Manager of Grand Hyatt Melbourne.

I am very sorry that your stay with us has been so disappointing, please accept my apology for the shortfalls in our service. This is something that I really would like to personally address with you.

I would welcome the opportunity to contact you directly, would you please write to me at ilan.weill@hyatt.com and provide me with you contact information so we can be in touch.

Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you soon

Kind regards, Ilan Weill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having stayed at the hotel recently and enjoyed the experience we decided to go back and try Collins Kitchen. I should say we were happy with our room, the value for money and certainly the staff were excellent, very welcoming and made us feel at home. We ordered room service during that stay and was very disappointed with the Banana Smoothie (made with banana topping...) and an iced Milo (made with chocolate ice cream but very little milo). None the less we didn't think too much of it as the room was nice and the bathroom very well appointed. Our experience in Collins Kitchen however was very disappointing. The staff again were excellent, very friendly and accomodating. Although we got the impression they were trying to make us think they were booked out when really half of the tables remained empty for the duration of our meal which commenced at 7:45pm. Our drinks were served albeit 5 minutes apart and a lovely loaf of bread served complimentary. With a nice atmosphere we thought we were in for a good meal at this point. We ordered seafood risotto and a crab pasta and they were very disappointing. The crab pasta tasted of nothing but chilli. Now we both enjoy our chilli but this was rediculous, literally no hint of any seafood. The broth was completely tasteless. Even the pasta wasn't cooked properly and required salt. The seafood risotto was slightly better, the actual bug meat in lobster butter was nice but the prawns and risotto were very bland. Price wise, the meals were both around $30 so not overly expensive but we expected a lot higher quality to be served at a place such as Collins Kitchen. We had every intention of staying for dessert but after our disappointing mains, we called it quits. We won't be back despite it's beautiful decor and friendly, attentive staff.

Room Tip: The rooms are great but I recommend heading out to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Samantha Z,
Thank you for taking time to review your Grand Hyatt Melbourne experience. It is disappointing to read that the quality of our food offerings did not meet your expectations. We have alerted our Food and Beverage management team to your comments for review and action – we really do appreciate your candid comments. From your experience, we do have room to improve, and this is certainly a priority for us in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I love this hotel so much! It's in the perfect Melbourne location, with trams, train and buses all within a minute walk. The hotel was refurbished only a few years ago, so it's very modern and in great condition.
The rooms are spacious. We stayed in the ambassador suite, which gave us views of Melbourne and surrounding suburbs, as well as access to the private dining facilities, which offers continental breakfast, cheeses, pastries, coffee, fruit, cereals etc (and beer and wine in the afternoon)
Perfect for a splurge, or just because its worth the experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Lee W,
Great to read you enjoyed staying with us! Having Grand Club access really does make your stay that little bit extra special, and being able to enjoy the space and elegance of the Ambassador Suite is a lovely indulgence! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.