We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View, excellent stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #14 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome View, excellent stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the night of our wedding, after what had been a long day we wanted to just unwind and relax . As soon as we arrived the staff at the Grand Hyatt were extremely helpful and the check in process was smooth.

The room we stayed in was fantastic and had great views of Melbourne.

the next day we had a delicious breakfast that was unmatched during our honeymoon, it was amazing!!

ALthough just one night it was a great stay and a place we would stay in again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Daniel A
Congratulations to both of you for tying the knot! Your wedding day can certainly be a bit of a whirlwind – it is great to hear we were able to provide you with a small oasis of calm to relax and unwind after such a huge day. We wish you much joy and happiness for your new life together, and we hope to help you celebrate your wedding anniversaries for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    737
    354
    127
    36
    23
See reviews for
164
448
50
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a great restaurant , the service is always good, the variety of food and alcohol is fantastic and the atmosphere is just right.
I took my family with two young children and two other friends last weekend for and end of year dinner. The seating was very accommodating staff where very helpful and prompt.
Our meals where beautiful just the place for a special dinner, not too noisy, not too bright just a great experience.
Well done Grand Hyatt keep up the good work

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Timetravelle,
Thank you so much for your review – it is lovely to read how much you enjoyed dinner with us. We would have to agree, Collins Kitchen is a great place to relax and catch up with friends and family over great food and a nice glass of wine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Very comfortable beds, room was well appointed. All staff without exception were friendly and helpful. Room service on the last night was delicious. Only issue would be that the walls are a bit thin and you can hear people out in the hall way, doors opening and shutting and showers being used in adjoining rooms. Enjoyed the gym, which was well equipped. Overall it was a good stay and I will return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Glenysperth,
Great to hear you enjoyed staying with us, and our staff helped you feel very comfortable and welcome. Enjoying room service is such a great ‘hotel’ indulgence, we really have to agree, and it’s great to see we came up trumps for dinner! We’re sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from the hallways, and plumbing noise from other rooms – privacy and tranquillity is what you expect from a hotel room, and it is disappointing when other people’s noise intrudes. We’ll certainly raise this with our Engineering management team for review. We certainly hope you do decide to stay with us again – we’d love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I have not stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 6 months or so but it continues to provide at great city stay. Nothing is a problem for the well trained staff, and the beds always divine. The only down was the price of drinks in the bar. I could not help but feeling touched up by paying $12 for an average glass of White.
Regardless I will stay again for City based commitments.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Hills_are_happy
There really is nothing better than a good night’s sleep in a big, comfy King sized bed, we would have to agree! It’s great to read you loved your stay with us – our staff work really hard to ensure that every guest is made as welcome and comfortable as possible. We hear your frustration regarding the price of our standard wine – whilst we have an extensive wine list with fantastic and rare wines, it sounds like we are falling short on the other end and not providing value for money for your everyday drink. We will certainly pass your comments to our Food and Beverage management team for review – we truly appreciate your candid observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have stayed a many hyatts around the world and this one is up there .
Beautiful surrounds , love the views from the rooms .
Only critisms check in was lengthy and we were my informed pool was closed . Our kids got ready to go swimming went to the pool area and were told it was been renovated and to go to park Hyatt if they wanted to swim.( staff told them it was a better pool anyway)
Can't believe wifi and breakfast is extra
Apart from that it was a lovely experience

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Tempykat
It’s lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We do sincerely apologise that the pool and spa areas were undergoing some urgent maintenance during your stay– whilst the pool and spa at Park Hyatt Melbourne are beautiful, having to walk a couple of blocks to get there just isn’t the same as hopping in the elevator and going downstairs for a swim. In regards to wifi and breakfast, could we suggest booking one of our great value packages next time you stay with us? They provide breakfast plus you can tailor your package with some great extras such as parking or internet to get the best value out of staying with us. We do hope you and your family choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima, Japan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 14 days on company business.
I had high hopes that it would be an above average experience, but alas, it was just average.

There were no big issues, just nothing that was a surprise or delight....
Add to that disappointment, there were a higher than expected number of small issues that made this just average:
- The room door would not shut and latch without an extra pull -- not a huge deal, but one of the staff left it ajar dropping off the laundry (so it was ajar when we got home from dinner).
- They made no attempt to remember special housekeeping requests (like extra face towels and water) so we had to call every night.
- One of the elevator doors had a problem closing without holding the door close button, making it a painful ride downstairs.
- The bell stand seemed understaffed in the morning, so getting your car our, even when calling ahead, was a time waster.

The location is good for walking around, but the traffic in and out to this location is a killer.
I will likely not use this property again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Pattoe,
We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay – we truly value your honest feedback as a great opportunity to learn from our shortcomings. It is very concerning to read that your door was not closed securely after Housekeeping had returned your laundry - this absolutely should not have happened. We certainly should remember special housekeeping requests, especially an evening turndown request. Please accept our sincere apologies for this lapse in standards – such service standards are certainly not how we would like you to remember Grand Hyatt Melbourne. We have passed on your comments regarding housekeeping, as well as your frustrations with our Bell desk service, to both our Front Office management team and our Housekeeping management team. We will certainly be reviewing your comments with our front line team, actioning any issues and providing training to our staff to ensure that we consistently provide the level of service you expect from Grand Hyatt Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel itself is "grand", lots of marble and crystal. When we arrived at the first floor drive-up, no one greeted us, opened doors, offered to assist with luggage or welcomed us to the hotel until after we found the expansive second floor lobby. The room was beautiful, 4th floor view of the city, with lovely amenities. Marble shower floor a little slippery, toilet, shower and sink in same room. Concierge was in training, and gentleman who assisted didn't get tours arranged quite right. A very efficient, experienced concierge did a great job of fixing everything for me. An easy block and a half to the free Circle Tram and the tour buses, Federation Square, the Yarra River and the Melbourne Tourist Information Center.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Diane D,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay – we really appreciate your honesty about your experiences with us. We’re really sorry to hear that we fell well below your expectations regarding service levels, especially on the lack of welcome to our hotel. We have raised your comments with our Front Office management team for review and action. You are absolutely right – the first thing that should greet you when you arrive at Grand Hyatt Melbourne is a smile and a personal greeting. It is good to see that whilst you had some issues with a concierge in training, our experienced concierge staff were able to assist and set things to rights. We do hope that when you next visit Melbourne, you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.