We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #9 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I recently stayed at grand Hyatt while I was at work training. The room was a king bedroom on the 19th floor. The bathtub was huge and so was the bed. The room had a big flat screen tv, a mini bar, tea and coffee as well. The room was cleaned perfectly everyday. The gym in the hotel is very well equipped as well. Overall a really great hotel for business as well as pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Luxurytravellor,
Thank you for your very positive review – it is great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. When we did our recent refurbishment, we took into consideration the needs of both the business traveler, as well as the leisure guest. It is good to hear you appreciated the extra little touches in our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    404
    144
    45
    24
See reviews for
187
556
58
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt with my mum as we were going to the Lady Gaga concert and we had a lovely experience. The check in staff were very friendly, chatty and welcoming. The room was spotless and beautiful with a great view out over the yarra. We had no problems booking 2 single beds which were amazingly comfy - even my mum thought they were great and she has very high standards! The bathroom was well stocked with robes, slippers and cosmetics and the bath was great at the end of the night! The minibar had a great selection and we were very impressed with the range of T2 teabags. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Sarah604,
Grand Hyatt Melbourne is in a perfect location if you are attending a concert at Rod Laver, the MCG or even the Forum – everything is within walking distance of the hotel. All of our rooms have brand new beds, and as you discovered, they are so comfortable it can be hard to get up in the morning! We look forward to welcoming you and your mum back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne for another girls night out soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Hey - I travel quite frequently and have visited Melbourne on several occassions. This time (a few days ago) I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne, and loved my stay.
Of course, having a room on the higher floor helped, but over all was very happy with the service.
Their buffet spread at breakfast is one of the best I have seen and tasted. Absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: try and get a room facing the river - great views!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Vinlovestravel,
It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are quite proud of our breakfast offerings – with so much to choose from, it can be hard to know where to start! We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a flash hotel, with very masculine decor. Had excellent T2 herbal tea in the room, and nice couch with a nice bright lamp. Great location. Pretty much what you would expect for ~$300/night, except internet (>$20/day).
First, I was surprised that you had to pay extra for wifi. Second, I had massive issues - kept dropping out every minute or two until I gave up and recharged by ipad broadband. The hotel refunded half the internet price, explained technical problems etc. However, i was back about a month later for a conference and - surprise - they had problems with their wifi internet, with the same symptoms as a month ago.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear KarenHappy,
Thank you for your review – your feedback is important to us. In the wake of our recent refurbishment, the rooms at Grand Hyatt Melbourne are truly remarkable with luxurious trimmings and draw-dropping views. However, we’re sorry to hear that your experience with our WiFi internet service was rather disruptive. Reliable internet connections are no longer considered a luxury but a necessity these days, whether travelling for business or leisure. This is certainly something we will raise with our service provider and can assure you that our Director of Rooms and Management Team are currently in the process of evaluating how to best manage the pricing of this service. We hope welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Melbourne soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
562 helpful votes 562 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The grand Hyatt on Collins St Melbourne is not a bad hotel but rooms are dated. Lobby bar service is slow despite plenty of staff and the food is average with little creative inspiration. It is a little dirty but staff are not particularly helpful. While I have enjoyed stays some years ago I was disappointed. I will be looking elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: rooms do have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Lechiffre 1,
Thank you for your considered feedback – it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your experience whilst staying with us. We will certainly pass on your comments to the Food & Beverage team. We hope that you will consider a return visit in the near future and allow us the opportunity to redeem our well earned 5 star reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Pool needs an upgrade because the gym is sensational and would be good to be able to do laps. Service was 5 star the whole time and nothing was to hard. Executive lounge was fantastic with good views and lots of variety. No hot food for breakfast though! This was a great hotel all round though and the bed was amazing

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear lisajames1982,
It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us – we pride ourselves on our 5 star service and strive to make every guest feel special. The Grand Club lounge is a great way to relax and enjoy the amazing views. Perhaps next time you might like to enjoy the full buffet breakfast in our Collins Kitchen restaurant and start the day in decadent style! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have to say I was disappointed by this hotel during my recent stay at the Melbourne Grand Hyatt on Collins Street. Not that it is not at the level of a 5 star hotel which it surely is. It has great location advantage being located in the heart of central Melbourne. It has great facilities like gym, pool etc. The rooms are generally pretty good.

My peeve is that it is lacking in some of the x-factor. The service did leave something to be desired. Phone calls to the reception took long time to answer some of the time. Niggling charges like the 1.5% for credit card use and wi-fi for a hotel which charges on the average more than $A300 per night are a bit over the top. Overall, I was left with a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear jdavis2009,
I’m sorry to hear that you were not left with a positive feeling from your recent stay with us. We work hard to deliver 5-star service to all our guests, and it is disappointing that you found our service lacking. The service issues you experienced have definitely been brought to the attention of our Front Of House team and Telephone Reception staff. We are currently looking into a viable solution regarding the WiFi charges that are in line with market expectations. We hope that you will consider a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.