We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well appointed 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #11 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very well appointed 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

A very nice hotel which one would expect for the cost. A good location easy walking distance to most CBD venues. Fantastic bed and pillows.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    447
    157
    47
    26
See reviews for
212
644
70
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The GH Melbourne is in a fantastic location at the "Paris end" of Collins st. Unfortunately service has gone down hill and it can no longer compete with Crown Towers. rooms are large and well equipped but dull. Service is very mass production and does not warrant the high prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Karen L,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Grand Hyatt Melbourne. We strive to provide authentic hospitality to all of our guests and were disappointed to hear that you found our service mediocre. We welcome any specific feedback that allows us to improve and deliver a true first-class Hyatt experience every visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Overall good but charging for wifi while charging the rates they do? Free wifi is a given in this day and age...get real!
Breakfast was a large array but service in busier times was very slow.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear sydneydavid56,
Thank you for your comments regarding wi-fi costs at our hotel. We appreciate your frustration and are looking into a better solution for our guests in line with market expectations. We do have a fantastic loyalty program (Gold Passport) which allows you to enjoy additional benefits such as free wi-fi with the accumulation of points over time. It’s a great program that rewards our guests for staying with us time and again. We hope you choose Hyatt next time you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt with my 9 year old daughter. The purpose of our holiday was to visit the tennis. We loved the location, the clean refurbished rooms, the fantastic swimming pool, and especially the buffet breakfast. I will definitely stay at this hotel again when I visit Melbourne as I was also very impressed with the gym and the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor, but spent so little time in our room that although we had a good view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear LTSydney,
We are so pleased to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed our newly renovated guest room and buffet breakfast. May we suggest you also try our Afternoon Tea, which offers a never-ending smorgasbord of treats! We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I often travel to Melbourne on business for short trips. The hotel has an excellent location for city access right in the middle of Collins Street and proximate to good restaurants, shopping, sporting venues. I most recently stayed here during the Australian Open tennis - very busy and possibly explains/excuses a few (minor) service slips that I would not expect at an international hotel such as the Hyatt.
It seems that the service and extra touches are a little pared back and not quite comparable to the very high standards I experience at premium hotels in Asia.
The room was very comfortable, well appointed - large bathroom, nice toiletries, quiet. I would recommend the club rooms - elevated, larger, better value if you utilise the club lounge evening refreshments and breakfast offering.

Room Tip: Choose the club room if you utilise the lounge and refreshments/breakfast offering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Anlouise,
Grand Hyatt Melbourne is in a great location, with everything right on your doorstep. Thanks for taking time out to comment and we’re glad that you agree our Grand Club rooms do offer great amenities, spectacular views and added benefits in the comfort of our exclusive Club Lounge on level 31. A great way to start the stay! We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel is centrally located in the CBD and there are tram stops only one or two easy blocks away. The room was nice, but very small and if you are traveling for several days, there is very little storage. There is only one drawer available in the dresser, and 3 very small drawers in the very small closet. However, the bed was very comfortable and the furnishings very nice. I would stay there again. We found the service to be excellent and the concierge very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Just came back today from Melbourne. Our stay at the Hyatt was great. Beautiful hotel, lovely feeling when you walk in. Staff at door are helpful, staff behind desk are not the friendliest. Not sure why staff at hotels can't learn that first impressions count! Nevertheless room was superb, could not fault it really. Roller bed arrived immediately. Location is excellent, very near Federation Square and in a quiet part of town. We did have dinner first night in the restaurant, would not recommend it, my husband was sick and my pumpkin risotto was awful. Not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Having said that, would return again but would not dine there again for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear marolli,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We pride ourselves at Grand Hyatt Melbourne on attentive customer service and glad you enjoyed your overall stay. However it was disappointing to hear your encounter with Collins Kitchen wasn’t up to scratch. We will pass on the feedback to ensure that every experience at Grand Hyatt is 5 star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.