We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, service and style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat. Stay. Play
Ranked #9 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Luxury, service and style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed one Saturday night at the Grand Hyatt following a wedding reception that was held at the hotel. Our room was everything that one would expect from a five star hotel and the service was excellent. The private rooms used for the reception were beautifully presented, the food and service outstanding.
There were two small hiccups. We had booked a package on-line but the promised wine and chocolates were not in the room when we arrived, this was quickly remedied. There was a long wait for our car to be retrieved from the car park after we checked out.
This is a good place to spoil yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay. It was wonderful to read you enjoyed our newly redesigned guest rooms and experienced the hotel’s event space, the residence, for the wedding reception. On the other hand, please accept our apologies for the delay in the delivery of your wine and chocolates and the retrieval of your car. These issues have been highlighted with the relevant departments and we will definitely work towards improving these areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    406
    145
    45
    24
See reviews for
188
559
58
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks around April/May and I have to say this is one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in. Whilst the rooms are clearly well maintained and looked after with very big beds and a large bath the same care is not taken with the rest of the hotel.

The state of the swimming pool and Jacuzzi was absoloutly disgusting. There was scum round the jacuzzi that just made you feel like you were stewing in everybody elses dirt and that you could not sit up against the sides. The Jacuzzi was closed several times for maintenance yet they never cleaned it once in the 2 weeks we were there. The pool was not cleaned either for the two weeks i was there. I swam pretty much daily after exercising in the gym and found that you would put your arm in the water and bring it out covered in someone elses hair. Not only that but there were hair bands and peoples ear plugs at the bottom of the pool along with plasters and more hair that was there the entire time.

Most pools have a shower on pool side and have notices informing people to shower before entering or leaving a pool. They should at least do this if they are not going to clean the pool as it would cut the amount fo dirt down a bit.

On a positive note we were really impressed with the honesty of the staff and the actions they took to resolve a certain matter where the maid broke my partners classes.The hotel left a message on our phone informing us they had broken them instead of letting us find them in that state ourselves and then gave my partner cash to get a new pair straight away.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view. Also i would ask for a room that looks out over the yarra s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear welltravelled23feme,
Thank you for taking the time to share you review. We are disappointed to learn that our pool area did not meet your expectations and extend our sincere apologies for your experience. It is particularly disappointing to note your comments as we do operate a regular cleaning and maintenance program to ensure the area always meets the standards we strive to achieve. We are sorry that this impacted your stay. Rest assured that your comments have been discussed with our Management team and our operations shall be reviewed based on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Had an opportunity to stay in the excellently refurbished Grand Hyatt Melbourne.. For an extra cost on the booking you are treated to drinks and canapes nightly, followed up by a lovely breakfeast each morning on the Club Lounge 31st Floor.
My only issue was the service at times in the lounge could have been better, I felt some staff were a little too proud and less welcoming.... Having worked in hotels for many years at a 5 star level, they would have showed more warmth.... But overall, great location and great facilities.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Cllub Lounge facilities, well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I have stayed at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne several times in the last few months whilst travelling to Melbourne to negotiate a deal. To my mind, the Grand Hyatt Melbourne is what a good city hotel should be. The rooms are all tastefully decorated, the beds are comfy but its the little touches of class that make it stand out from the jaded pack of business traveller inns. The bedside alarm clock is a Sony Ipod dock. The complementary tea is from T2 (not just some Lipton rubbish). The mini-bar includes a bottle of Moet. Downstairs there is a very cool restaurant and bar featuring a floor to ceiling wine rack. The bar serves 22 varieties of Martinis. The service is always good. The staff are attentive and friendly. I could not fault this place and it is always refreshing to stay there after some of the soul-less dives Ive been put up in.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views over Melbourne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Colin, thank you for sharing your comments. It was wonderful to read how much you enjoy our hotel. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in october. Not a good rate but the service was good and efficient. I asked for an early check in and got my room as soon as I reached ( 10.00 am).
Front desk was very good prompt and corteous.
Nice rooms with almost all amenities that you could look for.
the parking right next to the hotel is really expensive. paid A$ 67 for a few hours.
Besides that the stay was wonderful. Will come back again

Room Tip: Look for the rooms facing the river... Views on the other side are not so good unless you are on a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for sharing your review and we are very pleased our staff played a part in making your stay enjoyable. For your next stay, please do let our reservations team know you would prefer a room with Yarra River views and we shall certainly strive to accommodate this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Hyatt in July 2011. It is an absolutely beautiful hotel within walking distance to everything in the Melbourne CBD. Having been newly refurbished, everything was brand new and it is the nicest hotel lobby I have seen in a long time. The bar is also great (with amazing spiced nuts complimentary) and the staff are helpful and knowledgeable.

Room was nice and would recommend to anyone who likes a little luxury. Could not think of a single thing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your lovely feedback on our renovated hotel and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Very, very run down with terrible service. From the moment we arrived (from a direct flight from London) the porter announced that check in was on the 2nd floor and 'you alright with your bags' errrr no not exactly! Got to check in and the desk is a mess, the silk fabric on the front is torn and hanging down. Went to our room (2825) which was OK but no hair dryer in the bathroom. We later found out the walls are paper thin and you can hear pretty much everything going on next door! I then put some laundry in (in by 10 back by 7) it was in by 9.30 when we got back to the room that evening no laundry, Nathalie in housekeeping was very offish when I asked where it was and was told it would be back in the morning. There was no evening turn down service either. The Park Hyatt which we've staid in before is a totally different league I would stay there next time and avoid the Grand Hyatt like the plague!

Room Tip: Not 2825 the walls are like paper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear AnnieFSLondon, thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to learn of the various shortfalls you experienced and these matters have been addressed with the team members and departments concerned and we will certainly work towards enhancing our training based on your feedback We would sincerely like the opportunity to have you stay with us again and try and rectify this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate The 5-star hotel provides 548 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness and exclusive spa treatments and massages at our Sanctuary Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.