We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, dirty, dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   474 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty, dirty, dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed over the Christmas and New Year period for 9 nights and were very disappointed with our stay. The morning after we arrived we complained about the bathroom being filthy, including mould in the shower. This was somewhat dealt to, however the rooms and bathrooms was poorly cleaned for the entirety of our stay.

Despite being told to be environmentally friendly and request towels when needed, we were given them every day (a total overload). When we did want them cleaned, and left them in the bath, they were dropped by the cleaners on the way out and we walked in to a lounge littered with dirty towels (there was also rubbish left in a number of rooms from a previous stay).

Better yet, a roof tile fell out of the ceiling in the ensuite bathroom. It was removed more than 24 hours after we notified them and the mess it had left was never cleaned!

We were also greatly disappointed with the cost per night. The beds were rock hard, resulting in one of us sleeping on the couch, and worse still the apartment was not serviced on New Year's Day - one of the most costly days of the year!

Very bad service and we found some staff very unhelpful. Perhaps what is most disappointing is that this feedback was given to staff as we were leaving and we haven't been contacted yet!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Firstly, my apologies for the problems that occured during your recent stay with us.
Our property was heavily booked on those days and staff clearly slipped up in giving you the usual standard of service you would expect to receive.
Your feedback sheet did not have an email address to respond to, this is usually thought of as the guest not wanting to be contacted but in this case we were wrong. I'm very sorry you were dissapointed and ask that you contact reception again directly next time so we can make ammends for your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    68
    19
    14
    11
See reviews for
37
38
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed in a one bed flat for 3 nights.
Located on free tram route that goes round CBD and opposite sea aquarium and Crown Casino
And entertainment complex.
The flat was very spacious and reception staff were very friendly and helpful. An amazing view from 17th floor.

Room Tip: View from 17th floor is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for letting others know what an enjoyable time you had while staying at Best Western Riverside Apartments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Riverside Apartments over the Christmas break. The rooms are a little run down (although some have had a facelift-didn't really hide the fact the building is ageing) and the elevators are very unusual, they seem to have a mind of their own.

Our host were great and very helpful and the rooms had everything you could want in an apartment. The beds were comfortable and the entire establishment was very clean. My only complaint is the television was lacking, only 2 movie channels and 2 sport channels and overall the reception was not good at all.

The location of these apartments is excellent, it is directly across the street from the Aquarium and there is a tram stop virtually right out side the from door. You can easily walk to Swanston Street and the Bourke Street Plaza. Our room looked out over the Yarra River at the Crown casino and was very pretty of a night.

I will definitely return to the Riverside apartments with the family for our next Christmas visit.

Room Tip: Ask for Yarra River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments.

I agree our apartments are in an excellent location and I'm pleased you were able to take advantage of being in the heart of the CBD.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Melbourne for Christmas 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, the first room we had, there was absolutely no hot water. After asking, we got transfered to another room, to which they weren't to happy about, we had to walk outside and down an alley way, meanwhile I just got out of my freezing shower and was in a robe.. the second room was okay, but we had absolutely no sleep as we had young people next door, yelling and screaming as they were drunk.. We had a horrible stay. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review,

Below is a copy of the response emailed to you the day we received your complaint:

Dear ...,

Thank you for your email regarding your recent stay with us.

Firstly my apologies for the disruptions during your visit. The hot water service turned out to be broken and there was no indication of a break down until you informed reception. I’m glad you were transferred to a different apartment but I’m very sorry your neighbours turned out to be rude and noisy. We have a strict policy of maintaining a peaceful environment for our guests and had we known your stay was being disturbed we would have contacted the offenders immediately.

We have banned the noisy guests from staying with us again.

Reception does screen bookings and many potential guests are refused entry but on this occasion we were fooled. Over the years guests of all ages have been refused entry.

Once again I’m very sorry your stay was disrupted more than once.


In addition to the above I would like to mention you and your husband were upgraded to the best available apartment. The upgrade was dealt with by reception within minutes of you informing us the hot water service was faulty. Unfortunately this occured in the evening. We are not located in an alley and guests are not required to enter the building via an alleyway. Our reception staff are here to assist guests 24 hours, 7 days a week.

We hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

A friend put me on to this place and I his description was it as a “little gem”. I have to agree as it was great value for money and exactly as they describe it. Access to Melbourne is right outside the door. It’s very secure and I plan on staying again. Being an apartment is great as you can cook meals and save that little bit of cash to head out on the town. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was very spacious. Friends had a two bedroom one at was enormous. The only downside is you are near the King Street precent and in saying that we didn’t hear a thing on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Head down to Flinder St to the Insignia Bar. Great atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm review about your stay at Best Western Riverside Apartments. We love to hear guests describing our apartments with affection so thank you for sharing your experience with others.
We hope to see you and your friends again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

For 2 couples we booked a 2 bedroom apartment on the 16 floor. The place was clean and tidy with a very very small balcony. Apart from the clubs down in the dingy alley way but that didn't really bother us. The room was $350 for 1 night and we had to pay $25 for parking for 1 night!!!!!!! That is just a joke. The worse part and what I would consider the most important part of accommodation was the bed! The kind bed was so so so so soooo bad I found myself up at 4am putting as many blankets I could find on the mattress to make it a bit softer, it was as if I was sleeping on a piece on concrete. For the price I expect a comfy bed. Won't say I will be back nearly because of the bed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Best Western Riverside Apartments.
We charge $25 per night for a car space which is a reasonable amount for a CBD car space. Many hotels in the CBD do charge more for a car space.
I'm sorry your bed was not comfortable for you. We have 24 hour reception so please contact us any time during your stay and we will attempt to make your night's sleep a more comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

2 night stay where we needed two bedrooms as we were 3 adults. Location on Flinders St is handy for most things, tram outside for MCG, Rod Laver Arena etc. main shopping is about a 10 min walk.
Location is close to many night time attractions so is quite noisy - it's not the best place to be at night however, being close to King Street. The trains start running early and finish late and you get quite a lot of noise from the railway line which is situated across the road.
Apartment was tired - furniture was old and quite grubby with a torn sofa. Bed was hard and bowed in the middle. The apartment was clean however and towels and bed lined were changed daily.
Internet is available but at $2 per hour it's expensive. There is a safe deposit but this is located at reception which is very inconvenient in this day an age.
In summary, unless you need two bedrooms and prefer an apartment to hotel then you might prefer a hotel room. It's average accommodation at an average price.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments.
Your comments are appreciated and I will pass on the details to our staff.
We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Address: 474 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year remodeled - 2008/9. Best Western Riverside Serviced Apartments are located in the CBD of Melbourne and offer two types of accommodations. Riverside annex apartments described as the annex rooms when booking are located on the corner of Flinders and Highlander Lane situated on the first, second and third floors, just near our reception in Highlander Lane. All apartments in this building are one bedroom. Both riverside and the annex rooms are conveniently located at the historic and entertainment end of the city, just minutes walk to crown casino, Melbourne exhibition and convention centers, aquarium, Southbank restaurants, observation deck and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.