We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in downtown Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   474 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in downtown Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

First, do not drive to the stated address of the hotel (474 Flanders Street). We took our car into the carpark at that address, and found that it was not the hotel lot. We had to back ourselves onto Flinders St. (hairy experience!) and search for the hotel reception. We parked on a side street and finally found the reception office - on Highlander Lane, a narrow one-way street off Flinders. Had to block traffic, briefly, while registering. Better adfvance information could be provided to registered guests

Secondly, do not assume that a 5 night stay in a 16th floor apartment will give you a room with a great view- something other reviewers have noted as a plus for the hotel. Our apartment (1624) had a near-claustrophobic view of the flat side of another building. We unpacked without checking the view, and wished we had insisted upon a view.

The wifi did not work in our room (and in the rooms of some other guests, as we discovered in the lobby.) There is free internet access in the lobby, a bit inconvenient when you're 16 floors up! Staff person Karen spent considerable time trying to rectify the situation - rebooting the system, etc., but to no avail. We did appreciate her efforts.

On the positive side, secure parking was easy and, at $25 a night, reasonable for the area.

The location is great - close to Etihad Stadium, and right on a tram stop which includes the free City Circle tram which will take you close to just about everywhere in downtown Melbourne.

Coles supermarket/Liquorland are 4 blocks away and on a tram stop.

Our room was clean, well-equipped and well-maintained. Just a pity about the view and the wifi!

Room Tip: Make sure you formally request a view room, if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments. I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and I'm equally pleased to say guest wifi access has been comletely overhalled, so no more access problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
32
31
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maleny, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were impressed by the friendly staff here and what a terrific central location, we were able to walk everywhere though the tram and train services were so handy and easy to use we did the Melbourne tourist "thing" with ease.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I agree, Best Western Riverside Apartments is very centrally located and getting around Melbourne is very easy. Either get a tram at the door or take an 8 minute walk to either Southern Cross or Flinders Street stations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights as a family of 5. We were impressed with the apartment as soon as we walked in. Spacious & clean. Altho a little tired looking decor wise we couldn't really complain as the views were amazing from the 16th floor, the price was awesome, especially for a family of 5 to stay that close to the city, & really, we were out every day so as long as the beds were comfortable & clean, which they were, who really cares! It's a short walk to Southbank, food galore & if you need a tram they are right out front on the main road & the shopping mall isn't a long walk away. We liked the idea of the car being secure & parked on the premises & one of the cheapest rates we found. The staff were very helpful to showing us where the nearest supermarket was to bringing up more toilet paper to our room. The only 2 complaints I have, & they are small ones, is more drinking glasses & cutlery are needed & the windows need to be fixed, to be closed firm & tight, my husband fixed one himself as even if they are left a little bit open, the noise at night can get to you & being the apartment facing the lane way, once those bars open up, it can get a little noisy. But if you are looking for a secure safe lovely place to stay close the shopping mall & Southbank, this is it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river & one with 2 bathrooms if 5 people staying in the apartment (2 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It's always a pleasure to read our guests have enjoyed their stay. Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments. Next time you are staying in Melbourne please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Best Western Riverside was a big disappointment. We were three adults, all retirees, well travelled with a pretty fair idea of what to expect from a four star city centre hotel.. The main problems were as follows : -

Our Apartment 1743 is a two bedroom unit (with a made up rollaway bed, unused by us). There is one toilet in the only shared bathroom. No lock on the bathroom door which did not even shut properly. Quite embarrassing for the friend with us. The wash hand basin is cracked. There are shampoo/conditioner/shower gel dispensers over the bath, no problem there but the ladies couldn't get anything out of them. There were none of the usual bathroom amenities apart from several plastic (sanitary?) bags - not even a small bar of soap for the wash basin.
We were provided with one face cloth, one bath mat and one hand towel for 3 adults - bath towels were adequate. The deficiency was rectified - it took two tries - after my husband went down 17 floors to Reception. He had to go all the way down because ................

The one telephone in the apartment was dead as a dodo. Reported of course but no action. This could be quite a serious safety issue in the event of an emergency especially on the 17th floor.

There were other minor niggles, but these two are the main issues. A four star two bedroom apartment should surely have at least a separate toilet and bathroom with properly shutting, even if not locking, doors. The property description merely says shower over bath which is right enough but not the whole story. Reception said that all apartments had this configuration but your reviews appear to say otherwise ? And a working telephone on the 17th floor is surely a basic requirement these days.

The apartment gave the impression of being tired, but to be fair, being upgraded by degrees. However not acceptable for letting as a four star deal right now.

The location is on Flinders St opposite the Crown Casino as stated. But in between is the Aquarium, the road, dual carriageway with trams down the middle, the railway and the river bridge all quite busy and noisy even on a high floor. There is indeed a tram stop right outside which is useful. The building itself is quite old and is shared with offices and also facilities used for teaching purposes by several local schools, so plenty of students around during the day. Not a worry in itself, but useful information to have.

All in all we had regarded Best Western as a good quality reliable hotel chain having used them in the USA. But this experience has caused us to rethink. Maybe a one night stopover is not a priority for the company, but I reckon first impressions do count and this is how reputations are made.... and lost.

Room Tip: Make sure just what you are getting - especially re the bathroom/toilet. e.g. Is the room/suite refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I'm sorry you felt the apartment was not what you expected. We are 4 star rated by the RACV and our rating was recently renewed. The 1 bathroom apartment you booked did pass the 4 star rating. We do have some 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartments also available.
You may want to request a 2 bathroom apartment on your future reservations to avoid dissapointment. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just spent the weekend in Melbourne in Riverside Apts. Have stayed here previously and always try to stay here whenever we are in Melbourne. We stayed in a 2 bedroom on the 16th floor overlooking the river. Views were great always something to see. The apartment was clean and modern. There was no street noise keeping us awake, beds were comfy. Staff were very helpful with all of our requests. My son had early morning training so needed to get his car out of car space and was given a spot that was very convenient for him. Overall great apartments that had everything in we needed. Definately recomend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Best Western Riverside Apartments.
I'm glad you had such a good time and we hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed in the Annex and took advantage of the reduced rate due to lift repairs. The apartment was very comfortable and while it was hard work lugging a too full case up the stairs, the overall location was fantastic given I was attending a conference at the Crowne complex. I'd be very happy to stay again but suspect the price might be prohibitive once the lift is repaired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the very low rates while the lift was being repaired. Our rates will remain very competetive so please consider staying with us again next time you stay in Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I shared a two bedroom apartment with 3 adult family members. The check in was good although there was a little confusion over the parking but was quickly sorted out. We were very impressed when we walked in the room. It was spacious, very clean, amazing view from the 15th floor and everything you could need for a longer stay. We couldn't close the door in the second bedroom because of the bed, which could be unacceptable for some occupants.
We were able to catch up on our laundry after 3 days on the Great Ocean Road, but beware of the hotel supplied laundry detergent - unfortunately we ruined my son's cargo shorts and my jeans, which we only discoverd a few days later. We had problems with the in room internet service, speed was vertually non existent and I tried to use the hotel computer in the lobby after midnight because I had some business to finish, but the screen was locked and I went to the front desk and called for attention but seems there was nobody around. I went back upstairs and called by phone and the night clerk answered and I took a new password and username but it was still way too slow. I complained next morning on checkout and instead of being charged for 3 hours internet I was only charged for one.
Loved the location, close to South Bank and walking distance to the shopping area and would stay here again if I was to visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

I'm glad you found the apartment comfortable and clean. The views from some apartments are terrific. I'm sorry you had problems with the internet. We have asked our IT guy to correct this problem. The free internet in the lobby should be up to speed for your next stay.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Address: 474 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year remodeled - 2008/9. Best Western Riverside Serviced Apartments are located in the CBD of Melbourne and offer two types of accommodations. Riverside annex apartments described as the annex rooms when booking are located on the corner of Flinders and Highlander Lane situated on the first, second and third floors, just near our reception in Highlander Lane. All apartments in this building are one bedroom. Both riverside and the annex rooms are conveniently located at the historic and entertainment end of the city, just minutes walk to crown casino, Melbourne exhibition and convention centers, aquarium, Southbank restaurants, observation deck and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;