We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Rooms, Big Views but a Little Tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   474 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Big Rooms, Big Views but a Little Tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel to catch a few days of the tennis open. Very convenient location as the tram stop is literally within a stone's throw of the hotel. We had a 2 bed apartment. The rooms were spacious and we had views of the sea (with a little stretching) and the river as well as the city. The bathroom and kitchen were both tired and need updating. The bathroom had soap and shampoo dispensers which were blocked and necessitated unclipping from the wall and tipping the contents out of the top which was a pain. Staff were all helpful and friendly. The test as to whether it is a good hotel is whether we would stay there again...and we would.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments. I'm glad you hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Our kitckens and bathrooms are all being renovated and we hope to have the majority finished soon. Something to look forward to on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
32
31
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gore Southland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great place to stay. Staff were really helpful. Apartments clean and servicing of the units was brilliant. The location is central and you could walk everywhere. About 50 metres (if that much) to the tram stop. Across the road from the Melbourne Aquarium and not too much further to the casino and Southbank. Highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
It's great to hear guests have such a good stay. Thank you for your review of Best Western Riverside Apartments. Next time you are in Melbourne please stay again with us. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

It is located just opposite Melbourne Aquarium, and within 5min walk to Crown Casino, which is just across the bridge (Kings Way). You can also easily walk to Bourke St Mall (10-15min).

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment, which was nice and clean, and had a great view of Yarra River & Southbank.

Just a note that the reception is along Highlander Lane, so is the carpark. It is a narrow one way street, enter by Flinders St if u're driving.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when you next visit Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This place is a little gem with the personal touch. The ladies at the front desk were always very friendly and a great help when my elderly mother and I came to Melbourne for a Christmas shopping trip.
The apartment was clean and modern with everything we needed.
When we left Mum forgot her reading glasses and camera and the manager called me to let us know they had been handed in by housekeeping and she would post them to us.
Definitely will recommend to my friends for a short city break

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Riverside Apartments.
I'm pleased to hear you and your mother both enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The lift broke down and it was very noisy! What else can I say. If you were looking for a great place to stay in the Melbourne CBD this probably isn't it. The staff were really friendly, one redeeming feature I guess!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our apologies for the lift break down during your recent stay with us.
I'm pleased to say the lift is receiving a complete overhall in the new year. This will increase the convenience and comfort of our guests and make your stay in the future more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

designer dress stolen from my room enough said. If you are in the annex its really noisy. Staff were nice enough until I tried to find out what happened to my dress. Cant recommend this place, after I rang to try and enquire about my dress the manager got very angry that I accussed her staff but it went from the locked room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. The dress you mention was not recalled by any of our staff. Reception was first advised of it missing after you and your friend had checked out. Our staff did a thorough check of the apartment but unfortunately the dress was not to be found. When you requested going back to the room to check for yourself you were given immediate access to the apartment but again the dress was not to be found. When our staff were accused of stealing the dress our manager advised you to go to the police and welcomed further investigation.
Our cleaning staff work in pairs and rarely have time alone. Hopefully your dress will be found at some stage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Ten of us stayed here (our book club!) in 2 rooms and it was ideal for us. We paid about $365 a night per suite. One suite had 2 bedrooms with king beds, a full kitchen, dining table and lounge area with TV. Upstairs in the suite was a loft with 2 more single beds and a lounge area (with TV). There was a washer/dryer in the bathroom. The other suite had 2 bedrooms (with 2 singles in each) and they popped a rollaway in the lounge. It had no loft, but a spectacular view. The hotel is the top 3 floors of a building, and while it doesn't have amenities such as a gym or restaurant, it looked and felt like a hotel and we were very happy with the accommodation and service. Despite being "serviced apartments", our bedding, towels etc were changed every day.

The location is very convenient--a few blocks down from Flinders Stn, right at Flinders St. The lobby area was small but comfortable with plenty of seating and a free internet station. Rooms didn't have free WiFi, but I picked up a 1Gb data SIM from a nearby 7-11 for $12, so that was a better deal than paying hotel WiFi.

Room Tip: Ask if you want a view--one of our 17th floor rooms looked only onto blank walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Best Western Riverside Apartments. We hope to see you all again soon on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Address: 474 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year remodeled - 2008/9. Best Western Riverside Serviced Apartments are located in the CBD of Melbourne and offer two types of accommodations. Riverside annex apartments described as the annex rooms when booking are located on the corner of Flinders and Highlander Lane situated on the first, second and third floors, just near our reception in Highlander Lane. All apartments in this building are one bedroom. Both riverside and the annex rooms are conveniently located at the historic and entertainment end of the city, just minutes walk to crown casino, Melbourne exhibition and convention centers, aquarium, Southbank restaurants, observation deck and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.