We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad and frustrating” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   474 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sad and frustrating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Confirmed a week before that KS bed request was confirmed, replied all organised. Checked in for 6 days with 194cm husband to find a QS bed, not a great start! This was mentioned, all we received was a vacant look. Our room was not made up the first day, I phoned to get it done and they said staff had gone home and nothing they could do! Did a load of washing and put it into the dryer, checked an hour later and still sopping wet! Rang to report broken dryer and to get our clothes dried, they were taken away for drying and we were told they dryer had been repaired. Only 3 towels left in room, no bath mat, hand towel or flannel, had to ask for these the next day, only an extra towel was left. Shampoo dispenser broken reported that 3 times, never fixed, had to go and buy shampoo! Did another load of washing, put it in the dryer and it had not been fixed, rang again. Our wet clothes had to be taken away for drying AGAIN! The clothes airer was also broken, another one was eventually bought to the room. 2 screaming children checked in to the apartment next door, their TV was so loud we could hear the program they had on and they cried all night. Sound proofing non existent! The staff could not have cared less, including the manager, what sort of establishment is this?? Return...never!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments.
The overwhelming number of reviews from guests staying with us are positive and we appreciate the time our guests take to tell others about their stay. Unfortunately despite the efforts of our staff we cannot please all guests.
The problematic dryer was checked by a number of our staff including our repair man and manager and was working each time when checked. I understand your frustration believing staff did not solve the problem but as it turned out the dryer had a periodic electrical fault. Our manager personally apologised and your clothes were immediately taken to a different dryer then folded and placed back in your apartment. A letter of apology and a complimentary bottle of wine accompanied the folded clothes.
Once again we are sorry your stay was not memorable for the right reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
32
31
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Arrived a bit early and were allowed to check in straight away as the room was ready. We had a river view apartment which was very spacious (16m x 8m) with a dining area, kitchen with full oven and 4 hotplates, fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher, sink etc, separate bedroom and walk in wardrobe and bathroom with a bath and shower over and washing machine and tumble dryer and a sitting area overlooking the river. Our room was on floor 15 so views by day and night were fantastic. The apartment was very clean and had more than enough space for the two of us and plenty of towels and bathroom toiletries. The location is good for all the tourist attractions and not far from southern cross station and the sky bus terminal for transport to the airport. There is some noise from road and trains but the bedroom has added sound proofing on the window. We still had to run the aircon overnight to mask the train noise. The apartment is serviced but not a full clean as you would expect in a hotel. Towels are changes if required and some tea and coffee is replenished but not milk. No WiFi is available but an Ethernet connection is available in the room and payment is required. Free 15 mins available on internet terminal in reception. Luggage storage is available near reception in two large cupboards along the corridor. They freely give out the key to those who ask without asking for a room key or ID. The cupboards were nearly full when we tried to leave our luggage but we managed to find enough space. Not the most secure place to leave luggage. Lockers are available at Southern Cross station for about $14 for 24 hrs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with Best Western Riverside Apartments. Our 24hour reception holds the key to the luggage lock up and we monitor all guests using the cupboard storage. We also have free safes at reception for smaller valuable items. Please take advantage of this free service next time you stay with us.
yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel during our stay in Melbourne. Our room was basically a one-bedroom apartment. It was quite spacious with a full kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bathroom. Our place was in a separate building adjacent to the main hotel building. It was quite private and quiet. Best of all was the location of this hotel. It is just a few blocks from the Flinders train station and within easy walking distance to many of Melbourne's best attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments. We are always pleased to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Excellent 16th floor roomj with a view and lots of room in the apartment.. I'll go back and it wouold be excellent for families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Best Western Riverside Apartments.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel was well sited for the station and all of the tourist places to visit. Room was on the 18th floor and we had a great view over the harbour. Lounge and dining room were enormous. We had been upgraded which was very pleasant. A very pleasant place to stay. The apartment had been selected by our travel agent and it was a very good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Nigel,

Thank you for your review. We believe first impressions count and making your stay in Melbourne more pleasurable is our aim. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauty Point, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have stayed at these apartments many times now. It will always be our first choice when in Melbourne. Apartments are modern, clean, quiet and very comfortable. We usually spend considerable time in the apartment so having cooking facilities is great, as is the large lounge room with terrific views of the river. The property is so close to Casino, South Bank, entertainment centre, aquarium, and only a short walk to the city.

Room Tip: We prefer the river view rooms, and with a small balcony to enable smoking outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Vicki,

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments. It's great to hear that you enjoy yourselves here and that you will be returning yet again. We look forward to seing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The room is clean and comfortable. I got the perfect room in level 17. The room service was very helpfull and handy. They tidy up our room every day. The hotel staff was kindly.
The bedroom is not too big, but clean and comfortable. The hotel location is near from flinders station and just minute walk to the aquarium, crown casino and the halte of circle city tram.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Judith,

Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western Riverside Apartments. Many of our apartments have great views across the city and I'm glad you were able to stay in one of these. It can make your stay in Melbourne more memorable. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Address: 474 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year remodeled - 2008/9. Best Western Riverside Serviced Apartments are located in the CBD of Melbourne and offer two types of accommodations. Riverside annex apartments described as the annex rooms when booking are located on the corner of Flinders and Highlander Lane situated on the first, second and third floors, just near our reception in Highlander Lane. All apartments in this building are one bedroom. Both riverside and the annex rooms are conveniently located at the historic and entertainment end of the city, just minutes walk to crown casino, Melbourne exhibition and convention centers, aquarium, Southbank restaurants, observation deck and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.