We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, warm and professional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect location, warm and professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Thank you for the yummy chocolates and card for my Birthday - it was a lovely surprise and much appreciated.

We stayed in the Signature Suite - a stunning 5 rooms (kitchen/dining, lounge, study, bedroom, ensuite) with a comfy king size bed. All tastefully decorated.

It was lovely and quiet for a place in the centre of Melbourne’s CBD.

The Signature Suite has a deep bath (big enough for two) to relax in, the bathroom extras are lovely, although it would have been nice to dim the lights while relaxing in the bath and bathrobes to wear when you get out.

Our hire car was looked after well, and promptly bought up whenever we needed it.

Wish we could have stayed longer.........

Room Tip: The Signature Suite - very quiet, large deep bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mamely,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are glad you appreciated the birthday card and chocolates, together with the stunning, and tastefully decorated accommodation. We would love to welcome you back soon for a longer stay perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    90
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
110
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Sebel at Flinders is simply amazing. The suite had everything we needed, fully equipped kitchenette, super comfy beds, etc. Guest laundry on the 7th floor, and a lounge with free espressos while reading the morning papers, completed the stay. The location is superb, trams, trains, cafes, all within a short walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear TADoc,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Flinders lane is very centrally located and we could walk to many of the attractions of Melbourne. Bourke Street shopping area, south bank of the Yarra river with many restaurants, museums, opera/theater and the Botanical gardens are all nearby. But the street is very narrow and one cannot see any sunlight. The only view is into other office buildings. It is a serviced apartment and not a hotel the suites are well furnished and very comfortable but it has limited services for the residents. There is no housekeeping service and rooms are not cleaned and towels and sheets are changed once in 8 days. Residents have to clean the garbage, do their own washing at the common laundrette and have to ask for a vacuum cleaner if they want to clean up the crumbs that fall on the carpet because of kitchen activities. The air conditioner in the living area was not working properly and could not be fixed by the staff, who did not have the technical competence. A serviced apartment that charges so much is expected to provide such basic housekeeping services.

Room Tip: If someone is paying this type of tariff, he should stay at a property overlooking the Yarra river a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Abjee,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the property's location and the well furnished apartment. Our apologies for the inconvenience regarding the faulty air conditioner. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I have just had a holiday in Melbourne and stayed at the Sebel Apartments in Flinders Lane. What an amazing location. We were close to everything....shops, restaurants, transport, theatre and more. We have stayed there before when it was the Mercure and thought what a great location then. The apartment had everything, was quiet and the bed very comfortable. We went up to the Novotel one morning for breakfast as there was no restaurant. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and our room was facing Flinders Lane. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Christina1152,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We always enjoy welcoming back previous guests and glad you continue to enjoy the property and the amazing location. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment recently when we visited Melbourne for a milestone Wedding Anniversary. The apartments are in great location for walking to everything Melbourne has to offer. They are in excellent condition with quality fittings and extremely large. The bathroom with a freestanding bath and huge shower was great to come to after a day of walking. We had an apartment on the 8th floor to the rear of the building with a courtyard outlook. It was very quiet and made for a fabulous nights sleep. When making our booking through Accor we had indicated it was our 40th Wedding Anniversary celebration, but at no time did reception or management acknowledge the special weekend - the difference between 'very good' and 'excellent' service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Sheryn M,
Congratulations on your 40th Wedding Anniversary! We apologise for the oversight on not acknowledging your special occasion at the time of your stay. We are pleased however, that you enjoyed the property's apartment, together with it's central location and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

In April this year we stayed in a fully self contained executive suite with 2 adults and 2 children. The apartment was amazing, had everything we needed, roomy with an excellent location. Short walk to shops, restaurants, trams, train station, Southbank and many other places. Room was quiet and beds comfortable. I would highly recommend this for anyone wanting to stay in a fully self contained apartment in Melbourne, don't think you could find one much nicer.

Room Tip: Room with a window was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Belinda B,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments. We are pleased you enjoyed the fully self contained apartment and enjoyed many nearby attractions. We would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was our second stay at Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments - now Sebel, was Grand Mecure. The location is fantastic for walking / tramming around the CBD and close to fantastic shopping, bars and eateries. A lot of our favourite restaurants are on Flinders Lane itself - check out Coda, Cumulus, Chin Chin and if you're unlucky enough not to get in, there are plenty of other fabulous choices near by.

Unfortunately I had forgotten that these apartments are not serviced. No minibar either but does have a small fridge with tea / coffee making items…plenty of places to buy food / beverages only a few minutes away if you want to eat / drink in room. The decor is very french with quite neutral tones, personally we found it very relaxing. Our room over-looked the courtyard and was very quiet at any time of the day but it was also quite dark which was kind of depressing after a while! The bed was extremely comfortable and the room space well designed.

The apartments do have a bar but this is often closed. My husband and I dined in there one night (all food is brought in from outside restaurants and not prepared in-house). The bar person was frequently away from her post. When we asked for a final drink at 9:05pm we were told that she couldn't serve us as the bar closed at 9pm…no signage to suggest this. As there were only 4 people in the bar it would have been nice if she'd notified us pre-closure to allow us to buy a last drink.

Overall the hotel is nice - boutique style by feel - and the location is perfect. Personally I prefer a serviced hotel but this was not indicated when booking on the Accor website (that I could see). Reception staff were friendly, professional and helpful both on check-in and check-out. Note we also arrived at the hotel at approximately 11:30am expecting our luggage to be put into storage but our room was ready…not often that happens!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear blondini65,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments and for providing feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your apartment and found it to be relaxing, but are disappointed with the service you encountered at our bar. We apologise for the inconvenience as a result of miscommunication amongst staff which has now been addressed. We hope we can host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne’s modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include Lounge 321 located on the ground floor of the hotel, which provides guests with complimentary internet access, newspapers, magazines, games, business and entertainment TV channels. The Courtyard is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne’s Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne’s shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne’s famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.