We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A recent trip to Melbourne saw us stay at this hotel for a week and we were quite happy with the experience. The location is excellent and central to all the attractions. it is not a fully serviced hotel with one room service half way through our week, but extra towels can be requested.
we faced Flinder's Lane and the sliding glass doors that opened allowed the sights and sounds of the city into the room when you want them. Other than that the room was exceptionally quiet with them closed. Do not plan to have anyone stay on the sofa lounge for more than a night as it was dreadfully uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room facing Flinder,s Lane. 2 doors down the Bull and Bear is great for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Kevn7,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to read that you found the sofa bed to be uncomfortable and hope that this did not detract from an otherwise enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    94
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
112
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here while in Melbourne for the tennis and it was a great place to stay. We were in apartment 809 and it is large, broken up into 5 spaces which act as rooms. There is a kitchenette with a dining area, then a lounge with leather seating and a large TV, then an office with another lounge and a desk, then the large bedroom, and finally a huge bathroom with a shower, and a large free-standing bath. It is conveniently located for the trams or trains as Flinders Street station is around the corner. A small Coles supermarket is around the corner on Elizabeth Street. We used the valet parking, which was $35 per day. Our car was brought to us promptly when we wanted it. Being a serviced apartment, the room is serviced only once every 4 days, but this was fine with us. If I was staying for a week or so, I'd be slightly disappointed with the small amount of storage in the bedroom. As we were there for three nights, it wasn't a hassle leaving most things in our suitcases. I would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a Signature Suite (room 809) which had a king bed and two sofa beds. The apartment was huge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear FreqAussieTraveller, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at The Sebel Melbourne. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and are sure you will have enjoyed the tennis - what a great year it was. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Room was excellent standard, very clean and plenty of room. Very quiet, heard no noise from adjoining rooms. Staff were friendly on check in and very helpful. Close to walk to Melbourne cafes and shops

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear peaceful07,
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you had an excellent stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at the Sebel for 4 nights whilst in Melbourne for the tennis. We stayed in room 1007 and could not be happier. The location is close to everything you could want in the CBD. Trams, shops, southbank, restaurants are all at your doorstep or within very close walking distance. I have read some negative reviews about these apartments not being serviced, not sure why this should come as a surprise to some people as this is explicitly stated on the website. That said i do believe they will clean your room if requested.
Now for the room itself. It was perfect, the apartment is extremely large, with a kitchenette and dining table as you enter, through to a large lounge with a comfortable leather lounge and office desk. The bedroom is larger than some display home bedrooms! the king size bed is the most comfortable bed i have ever slept on, including mine at home. The bathroom is of sufficient size with beautiful dark tiles. Overall it is a large apartment for the price. My wife is very fussy about cleanliness in hotel rooms, this apartment and the building in general was immaculate, credit to the cleaning staff.
Staff were not overly friendly, however did the job nonetheless. The last night we were there we had issues with our air conditioner, which we reported by phoning through to reception. 30 minutes latter Edith rang with an update on the repairs, which was considerate of her. Went to try the pod coffee machine the morning we left, however to our disappointment it was out of service. Amazing decor in the lounge and bar area, up there with some of the finest hotels i have stayed at, namely Stamford etc.
In summary luxury, well fitted out apartment. Will be returning for our next trip to Melbourne!

Room Tip: ask for room 1007
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear mjcj1971,
Thank you so much for your great review after staying at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. We hope that you enjoyed the tennis. It is great to hear that you were not disappointed by the apartments and that the cleanliness was spot on.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed for a week and couldn't be happier. Location near public transport and all the city sites perfect. Complimentary pod coffee machine a fantastic idea. As is the guest laundry. Wifi free for APVC members and Foxtel included. Helpful efficient front desk. Kitchen cooking provisions a little limited. Loved it

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear TGJB,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the great location and complimentary services.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne’s modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include Lounge 321 located on the ground floor of the hotel, which provides guests with complimentary internet access, newspapers, magazines, games, business and entertainment TV channels. The Courtyard is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne’s Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne’s shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne’s famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;