We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Spacious in the Melbourne CBD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments to your Saves list
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Bangalow, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quiet and Spacious in the Melbourne CBD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for five nights recently. During that time I hardly heard a sound from the neighbouring apartments or the street below. Everything you need is in walking distance. The apartment was large and modern and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Sarah M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    98
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
118
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

this was the first time i have stayed at this hotel and being an all suite hotel it was brilliant..

The suites were exceptionally clean and there was not a bit of muck anywhere!! Great housekeeping. Also I think it must have been recently refurbished because everything was immaculate.

The front office staff were great with fast check in and gave excellent advice on where to get good breakfast in the morning

I usually stay at the Stamford when on business and they were full but this was a nice surprise and just as good however no restaurant internally. Hotel is right at shops, bars and great food.


Will stay again no problem.
.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Scott C, Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Yes you are right - the property was fully refurbished just over a year ago. All of the staff take a great pride in there work, from giving excellent service at reception to making sure everything is spotlessly clean. They will be thrilled with your comments. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The visitor lounge was great, except one needs a PhD degree to use the coffee machine. The instructions for operating the machine were not clear. The crucial part of pressing the on button (somewhere among all the buttons) was not mentioned. It seems the machine does go into sleep mode when not used.

The interior deco is taken from a page of a home magazine - stunning black and white. That's fine for a short while, but colour combination can be rather depressing and quite strained for my eyes.

The air conditioning (control) was not working. Despite calling the reception / housekeeping, nothing could be done and I was feeling uncomfortable and sweaty throughout the night.

When all the lights were switched off, it was around 23.2C, but when the main lounge lights were on, the temperature climbed over 25C in minutes. I needed to do some working on my computer, so I switched off the main lights and used the table lamp instead hoping to bring the temperature down. Unfortunately, the table lamp was not working. I proceeded checking all the lights and found that bulbs of both the table lamps, the one of the five bulbs of the main lounge "pendant" were not working / fused.

The sliding doors to the tiny balcony were locked. I could not open them to allow fresh air to come in even when the temperature was on the rise.

On the positive note, I cut the greenhouse gas emission slight, because I was working in the dark without any lights on!

When I lodged further complaint, I was assured that the Maintenance Manager would look into it. Nothing happened. I tossed and turned and finally managed to catch three and half hours sleep.

I did write my complaints on the complaint card with all my details and submitted to the reception desk in the middle of the night. It has been over a fortnight since my stay. I thought an apology letter or phone call would be a good gesture and public relation. Nothing received at this point of writing.

Charge for use of Internet is NOT cheap. Wasn't I glad to have brought my on WIFI gadget?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear SinFongChan,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your one night stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are so sorry to hear that your short stay with us was unpleasant and uncomfortable. Upon checking our records, the General manager has confirmed that they received an e-mail from you whilst you were still in the room. Our housekeeping staff on duty at the time did all they could to rectify the inconsistent temperature for you during the evening. The Maintenance Manager did visit the room the next day to replace the light bulbs and to check the air conditioning. This has since been replaced.
Again we are so sorry that you suffered an uncomfortable evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Travelling with our 4 children, we were all welcomed, huge, spacious, newly and luxuriously updated apartment, despite being a 1bedroom apt, 3 separate rooms really, sofa beds were made up prior to arrival and returned to sofa position only had to pull out at bedtime, well equipped kitchen, two large TV's, ipod/phone dock, main thing was everything just worked whole experience was smooth and easy, valet parking was super speedy, close to everything. Would go again, great to find a place that doesn't make travelling with a large family difficult.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Anna C,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are so pleased that you and your family had a great stay, and that these wonderful apartments made things easy for your to enjoy your trip.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location is very good being close to the trains in Flinders Street, the City Circle trams which are free for commuting around the CBD fringe, & more importantly surrounded by good restaurants & thatres.

The apartment was luxuriously furnished, although there was just too much black in the whole decor which matched the Melbourne weather! The kitchen was amply stocked with all kinds of utensils although we were spoilt by the eateries around us.

Housekeeping was a little slack in not replacing light bulbs in the lounge & reading lamp.

All in all, highly recommended for a short city stay. We certainly enjoyed our stay, particularly being able to return to the apartment for rests in between sightseeing, dinners & theatres.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear oztravel6,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the wonderful location of the apartments enabling you to enjoy all of the wonderful eateries and attractions Melbourne has to offer. Thank you for letting us know about the light bulbs. We shall get the maintenance team to check them all.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The location is Perfect if you want to do thing in the city and the surrounds. It's close to public transport but no so close you here it all night. Staff friendly and helpful, facilities fantastic.
Would definitely stay here again. *****

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear savstones,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are please to read that you had a great weekend with us. We agree - a great location for visiting all Melbourne has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is great. 2nd time i have stayed here but this time the rooms have been renovated. we were on the 10th floor(highest). the room is well appointed with cooking facilities and a dishwasher. the room is not serviced but we found this a plus as we never worried about how the room looked. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear leejmc73,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay with us, this time in the beautifully refurbished apartments. Many guests do enjoy the privacy the non-serviced apartments give.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne’s modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include Lounge 321 located on the ground floor of the hotel, which provides guests with complimentary internet access, newspapers, magazines, games, business and entertainment TV channels. The Courtyard is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne’s Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne’s shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne’s famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.