We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location..enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments to your Saves list
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good location..enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I was not too impressed by the room i got. It was pretty small ans needed some attention. However, it was clean and comfortable and location wise is close to all facilities and pretty much in the heart of CBD.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear ChristianeNSW,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very surprised to read that you were not impressed with the room and that you felt that it needed some attention. Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane was fully refurbished to a very high standard within the last eighteen months and the feedback from our guests has been fantastic. We would love to know exactly what it was about the room that needed attention, and would be very grateful if you could contact the General Manager at the property to discuss this.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    96
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
57
112
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 10 nights at the Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments and we were both delighted at our stay.
The location is really hard to beat. Flinders Lane is approximately 1-1/2 blocks from Flinders Station with the fantastic Federation Square and free tourist bus just across the street. Its merely a walk over the bridge to enjoy the Royal Botanical Gardens and Natl. Gallery of Victoria .The apartments are surrounded by great restaurants and there's a Cole's supermarket and liquor store just a block away. We had an easy walk back to the apartment late at night after dinner, shows, etc. and felt safe and secure.
The entire staff reacted quickly to our every needs, from filling up our ice bucket to scheduling morning wake-up calls. Edith is truly a first class hostess.
Our tastefully decorated apartment was particularly lovely with a separate seating area and desk. The king size bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a large tiled shower along with a deep bath tub. Melbourne sizzled with record high temperatures but our air conditioning was up to the task.
The kitchen area was spacious with refrigerator, range top, microwave, utensils, and good sized kitchen table.
The giant sized leather couch and huge HD television were super nice in the living room.

Room Tip: There is a comfortable reading room with several newspapers in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Robken42665,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne, Flinders Lane. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the fantastic location, beautiful apartments and great service from Edith. All staff take a great pride in their customer service. She will be thrilled with your comment.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. The room was very clean and tidy. Very well maintained. The bed was very comfortable and large. Right in the middle of the city. Staff are very friendly and helpful.. Highly recommend people stay here and enjoy melbourne. Treat yourself to a great room at a great cost!! The only thing to note is there is no restaurant but don't worry you are so close to everything that a bite to eat is literally arlund the corner!! Thanks Grand Mercure, we will definitely stay again :-)

Room Tip: the room onn the 9th floor overlooking a courtyard is great... NO NOISE!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Amy-Louise013,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in these beautiful apartments. Our staff pride themselves on the customer service they give and will be thrilled with the feedback. We agree, the apartments are in a great location to explore all that Melbourne has to offer.
Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

An excellent suite hotel. The suite had a full kitchen (with dishwasher).
It would be excellent for a long stay.
However, guests are given 30 minutes free internet access a day - this is one block of 30 minutes - and further use is $5 per 30 minutes.
Hotels catering for business travellers should include internet access in the rate.
Charging for internet is like charging for hot water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear kwnkillcare,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with the internet access charges. Our General Manager of Hotel Operations is reviewing the current provider. Your comments have been passed on.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your apartment, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for four days over the Australia day weekend and Tennis. It's in a great spot, right near the station / trams and free ones run to Rod Laver arena all day. Apartments have a very contemporary fit-out, we really liked them. Only negative is that they dont clean the rooms every day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear blairegourmand,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your recent stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. What a great time to stay in Melbourne! Being unserviced apartments cleaning takes place after each guests checks out. However a mid-stay clean can be arranged with Reception at any time. Despite this, we are pleased that you enjoyed your apartment.
We hope that you enjoyed the tennis and Australia Day celebrations. Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. It's comfortable and the staff are incredibly friendly and efficient.
We stayed in an apartment and a friend was in a king room. Both rooms were very spacious.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear melinda075,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the cleanliness, décor and service you received from our wonderful staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne’s modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include Lounge 321 located on the ground floor of the hotel, which provides guests with complimentary internet access, newspapers, magazines, games, business and entertainment TV channels. The Courtyard is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne’s Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne’s shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne’s famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.