We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments to your Saves list
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Can't fault it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. It's comfortable and the staff are incredibly friendly and efficient.
We stayed in an apartment and a friend was in a king room. Both rooms were very spacious.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear melinda075,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the cleanliness, décor and service you received from our wonderful staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    101
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
123
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wow! This was so much better then we had anticipated. Superb, helpful staff, a beautiful well-appointed room, a great courtyard to sit outside and, most important, a great bed. They say you decide in the first 14 seconds if you like a house? Same applies to holiday accommodation. We decided straight away that we would be coming back to these apartments. In fact, we have already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Terri D,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are so pleased to read that you were very pleasantly surprised by these great apartments. Thank you for booking your next visit - we look forward to welcoming you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
527 reviews 527 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

All the mod cons. Very tastefully decorated. Large room, large bathroom. Ironing board, iron, hair dryer, ipod dock/alarm clock, input for all the modern electronic equipment (for movies etc), large flat screen, comfy bed and pillows, safety box, plenty of cupboard and storage space - everything you need is here. Only "complain" would be not having enough time spent in this lovely room!!
Window looking into a lovely small quiet courtyard. Lovely lobby, friendly staff, professional. Very safe, keycard entry in lift up to floors, after 11pm, keycard entry by side entrance. Centrally and very conveniently located near Flinders Station, corner Elizabeth and Flinders Lane. Walking distance to everything in this vibrant and lively beautiful city of Melbourne. Tram stop closeby. Get to everywhere from here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Tweetcoz,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the apartment so much so you wanted to stay for longer! We agree that these apartments are located in a great spot for everything Melbourne has to offer.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again - maybe for longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Most impressed with our stay and so sorry we could only obtain 2 days. Our one bedroom apartment was superbly appointed, very comfortable and so roomy. We overlooked a small courtyard area which we liked instead of the more busy Flinders Lane and was much more private
The apartment was decorated in an ultra modern dark grey/black/silver theme, had a great kitchen, large living area and a good bathroom with a top shower which my husband felt was one of the best he had experienced in a hotel. He didn't like the colour theme as much as I did but while he is conservative agreed it was very striking.
Staff here are exceptionally friendly, they could give other hotels a lesson on how to treat customers, always so pleasant to us both on leaving each day and arriving back, went out of their way to help us with directions while we were chasing up medical stuff plus phoning for the Airbus for our departure.
The Grand Mercure apartments are located so close to transport, Flinders Street Station just down the road. Trams and buses galore, the free tram just a few minutes’ walk and for us such an easy walk to the art gallery’s – the National Gallery (has to be the best in Australia) plus the Ian Potter. Many restaurants in walking distance plus a Coles just around the corner make it easy for catering or eating out.
Only negative was our mobile phone reception, wasn't brilliant but found the same thing in our previous hotel in Melbourne so not sure of the reason.
Loved our stay and hope to return later this year!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear barkem,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay, and that you liked the refurbished apartment. The staff will be thrilled with your lovely comments as they work extremely hard to exceed all expectations no matter how big or small for all guests.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived at 2:00 in the morning to be greated by a lovely man who quickly checked us in to our room and sent us on our way to our room while he parked our rental car (so convenient). We were so surprised at how beautiful the room was and how big it was. Our daughter slept on the sofa bed which was already made for her, awesome bathroom and a shower head just like home. We have nothing but great things to say about this place. Staff were friendly and very helpful. definetly will stay again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be awesome but on the ground floor we noticed that some of the rooms had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Ann C,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the roomy apartment and great service you received during your middle of the night check in. Your lovely comments have been shared with the staff who will be thrilled with the feedback.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location is perfect for business or holidaymakers. Right next to Flinders St Station, Tram stops and a short walk to Burke St Mall. The apartment is a small studio with a kitchenette . The rooms are very quiet and dark - for a good sleep. Staff are friendly and helpful. Valet parking available for a reasonable charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear LegItAustralia,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are please that you enjoyed your stay in these great apartments, in particular the fantastic location and car parking facilities. The location certainly is great for exploring all that Melbourne has to offer.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne’s modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include Lounge 321 located on the ground floor of the hotel, which provides guests with complimentary internet access, newspapers, magazines, games, business and entertainment TV channels. The Courtyard is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne’s Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne’s shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne’s famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.