We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
NSW Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Most impressed with our stay and so sorry we could only obtain 2 days. Our one bedroom apartment was superbly appointed, very comfortable and so roomy. We overlooked a small courtyard area which we liked instead of the more busy Flinders Lane and was much more private
The apartment was decorated in an ultra modern dark grey/black/silver theme, had a great kitchen, large living area and a good bathroom with a top shower which my husband felt was one of the best he had experienced in a hotel. He didn't like the colour theme as much as I did but while he is conservative agreed it was very striking.
Staff here are exceptionally friendly, they could give other hotels a lesson on how to treat customers, always so pleasant to us both on leaving each day and arriving back, went out of their way to help us with directions while we were chasing up medical stuff plus phoning for the Airbus for our departure.
The Grand Mercure apartments are located so close to transport, Flinders Street Station just down the road. Trams and buses galore, the free tram just a few minutes’ walk and for us such an easy walk to the art gallery’s – the National Gallery (has to be the best in Australia) plus the Ian Potter. Many restaurants in walking distance plus a Coles just around the corner make it easy for catering or eating out.
Only negative was our mobile phone reception, wasn't brilliant but found the same thing in our previous hotel in Melbourne so not sure of the reason.
Loved our stay and hope to return later this year!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear barkem,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay, and that you liked the refurbished apartment. The staff will be thrilled with your lovely comments as they work extremely hard to exceed all expectations no matter how big or small for all guests.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    90
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
109
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived at 2:00 in the morning to be greated by a lovely man who quickly checked us in to our room and sent us on our way to our room while he parked our rental car (so convenient). We were so surprised at how beautiful the room was and how big it was. Our daughter slept on the sofa bed which was already made for her, awesome bathroom and a shower head just like home. We have nothing but great things to say about this place. Staff were friendly and very helpful. definetly will stay again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be awesome but on the ground floor we noticed that some of the rooms had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Ann C,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the roomy apartment and great service you received during your middle of the night check in. Your lovely comments have been shared with the staff who will be thrilled with the feedback.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location is perfect for business or holidaymakers. Right next to Flinders St Station, Tram stops and a short walk to Burke St Mall. The apartment is a small studio with a kitchenette . The rooms are very quiet and dark - for a good sleep. Staff are friendly and helpful. Valet parking available for a reasonable charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear LegItAustralia,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are please that you enjoyed your stay in these great apartments, in particular the fantastic location and car parking facilities. The location certainly is great for exploring all that Melbourne has to offer.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a very bad experience with Grand Mercure at Flinders Lane, you need ask for every thing, Day 1: Gentleman at reception asked us about two extra adults although booking clearly suggests two adults and two children.
Day 1: Entered in to room and found bed sheet was not clean so asked for bed sheet. Day 2: Found there in no garbage shoot in the property and you need to drop your garbage in front of main door. We had toast burnt and within seconds smoke alarm got activated as there was no window in our apartment.Air filter device was placed in corridor and no one asked us or about our safety and our kids. We ended up calling reception as our son got choked due to burnt toast. Asked reception to change room which was done after the complete denial at first time.Day 3: we have been advised that there will be a charge as fire men came to see building due to smoke alarm. Asked for incident report, still need to talk to my lawyer. Bad experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed four nights in December 2012 in a one bedroom suite. Suite is spacious and well appointed. Decorated very nicely in tones of blacks/greys etc... perhaps a little dark? Very stylish though. Double glazing on balcony doors meant NO noise from trams etc. which can sometimes be a problem in Melbourne. Kitchen was also nicely appointed although we didn't cook, just prepared cheese/wine platters and made toast one morning for brekky. Common areas are neat, clean and well maintained, as are the lifts which were always prompt to arrive... we never waited more than 1 min for a lift to arrive! Bathroom was spacious and well appointed with a lovely railhead shower and handheld as well. Bed was super comfy with a large selection of pillows. Linen was very clean and lounge/cushions etc. also very clean. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel. Disadvantages: location, it's a bit of a drab area and you need to walk a fair way for a good brekky cafe etc. No restaurant/cafe within the property. Also, there is a charge to use the fitness centre which is quite odd. Apparently there are also charges for internet usage, although we used our own wireless device... in our experience most Accor properties will charge for internet access which bugs me, as even Maccas can provide this free of charge! Just one more little negative; in a beautifully appointed suite which is fairly pricey, it's a shame they weren't able to provide a bath tub... I miss my luxurious afternoon soak when on a 'mini break'.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear wilsoncm65,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Flinders Lane. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in these fabulous apartments. Being in Melbourne's CDB there are so many choices for eating out at anytime of the day with Federation Square and the famous laneways being just a few minutes walk form the doorstep. The gym is privately owned hence the charge for usage. We are reviewing our current internet provider and looking at other options for the service. Some of the apartments do have baths, just make a request for a room with a bath the next time you stay and we will do all we can to accommodate you.
Again, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have just returned from staying in the deluxe one bedroom apartment with our family of four and could not rate it more highly. There was plenty of space and the enormous bath was a real treat. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly and Emma, especially, was just delightful. We have already booked to return next Christmas.

Room Tip: The larger one bedroom apartment is fantastic for a family of four and it is on the higher floors, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Anne L,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Melbourne Flinders Lane. We are delighted to hear that you and the family enjoyed your stay in these spacious apartments - in particular a soak in the luxurious bath. We will pass on your lovely comments to Emma who will be thrilled.
Thanks again and see you all next Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncurry, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Everthing here was great... best location, rooms beautifully refurbished, friendly and helpful staff and reception.

I do need to warn members/travellers if you have more than 2 of you, the sofa bed mattress is atrocious. I was told they are new in every unit and only 8months old, however, I find it amazing that anyone would buy a sofa bed with a mattress that has the springs sticking in to your body. I would not even put a child on this mattress, let alone adult son.

It was surprising as we have stayed in many Vacation Club apartments where the quality is exceptional and the beds and their mattresses so comfortable and luxurious.

The establishment is aware of my observations, particularly as they gave us a single foam mattress to place on top of the double sofa bed, with no doona until requested, and then with no cover for it (or sheet to cover it). My adult son slept on an elevated foam mattress, with half of the bed not sleepable (if there is such a word!). Even the quality rollaway beds have much more substance than these mattresses (I say plural as we had two connecting units so there were two sofa beds, exactly the same re the poor mattress).

I ventured further to advise management on the day and again when I departed, plus in feedback sent to me in an email after our return recently. I just had the impression (maybe a misconception?) that nothing would be actually recified?? and therefore my warning to faithful travellers expecting the quality they are accustomed too.

With best intentions.
Glen

Room Tip: Check on the sofa bed if you need one! Don't stay on Level 7... too near the noisy banging of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#30 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne’s modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include Lounge 321 located on the ground floor of the hotel, which provides guests with complimentary internet access, newspapers, magazines, games, business and entertainment TV channels. The Courtyard is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne’s Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne’s shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne’s famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.