We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a luxury modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
wellington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a luxury modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne is a luxury modern hotel and we enjoyed staying there. We liked its design and we enjoyed its tidiness and modern facilities. We found it through Easy Click web site and immediately booked it. It certainly was a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    299
    127
    42
    25
See reviews for
45
242
134
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Room a bit compact but up to date & clean. Good location for Melbourne Conference Centre, main bus/rail station (and airport bus) & city centre trams etc. Staff very helpful. Restaurant is for breakfast only, bar/lounge area for evening use.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Traveling with my boyfriend, we needed a room close to Southern Cross railway station as we had to train to catch very early in the morning and this fitted the bill perfect. Just a few minutes stroll away from the station, this hotel is strategically located near many of the attractions like the Melbourne Aquarium and Crown Entertainment Plaza.The pubs around the hotel may be a plus for some people, but as we were not really into drinking and partying, it did make the walk back to the hotel late at night a bit dodgy.

The room was surprisingly large, however we suspected this may be due to the fact we had a corner unit and was larger. We stayed in the furnished double room. The deco of the room was nothing to shout about, quite standard in our opinion. The bathrooms on the other hand were a horrifying experience. The toilet was so small and cramped that my boyfriend had trouble sitting on it. The shower too was extremely cramped and did not have curtains and this led to the bathroom being wet after our showers. The bed on the other hand may have been the largest we ever slept all, well larger than a king size and felt as if it was actually 2 large single beds joined together.

Pros : great location
Cons : the pubs around the area may not suit everyone, extremely small bathroom, misleading website photos

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

the room was clean but if I wanted to watch the TV, I had to stay on the bed. I hope to need a chair and small desk in front of the tv.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

good location, hotel itself modern and clean, but the room we had was very small!! the bathroom in particular was tiny!!! ok for just one night but i wouldnt stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

The staff were lovely, and so helpful. The room was nice and big, fronting on to Spencer St , just near the Exhibition Centre, with plenty of restaurants around, and even a corner store to buy milk etc a couple of doorsaway.
Double hung windows, no noise and a nice big plasma screen. Whatmore could you want?
Great value, great stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

My partner and I stayed here with a little hesitation after some of the reviews...but give the price we were never expecting 5 star! This place is great! We had one of the smaller rooms, but lets be honest..were really only needed somewhere to shower and sleep and for the price we paid, thats exactly what we got....we have stayed in some pretty scary places all over the world and even motels in Australia, some of which cost double this place! The staff were fantastc, and always seemed to have time to chat and help find those little hidden places that we usually miss when we come to melbourne!

I suppose it depends what you are after...if you want a huge hotel room with all the best...then your going to have to pay for it! Perhaps some of these past guests need to have a think about what they need most when they travel and how much they are prepared to pay for what they want!

Kepp up the great Value guys! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.