We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Save Saved
You added Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Tanah Merah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Well located little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just a quick stroll from Southern Cross station, where the airbus comes in from the airport, the Pensione is a great little hotel.

The beds are great and the room very clean, with teeny tiny bathrooms. Very friendly staff and so close to so much.

Excellent hotel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear emmam72,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

I am so pleased that you made such great use of our central city location and that you found our bed comfy and our rooms clean! Here at the Pensione we really pride ourselves on offering personalised, friendly service and I am so thrilled that you found this to be the case.

Should you be travelling to Melbourne again the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We love to look after return guests and it would be a pleasure to ensure your second stay is just as enjoyable.

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    272
    116
    42
    25
See reviews for
43
223
118
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Its not what you get for paying through the nose for sleeping in a bed for a night but its good mid range price and very pleasant. close to trains , trams ( including the free trams) its clean , air con, TV , shower , comfy beds , 7/11 on corner and best of all a roof top lounge for smoking and relaxing in the city scape . I really liked the staff they were happy ,cheery and helpful . The cafe out the front sold good food and coffee , very pleasant place over all .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear iflyalone,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your recent stay!
We are delighted to hear that you had such a great time with us in Melbourne and made such good use of our location! Thank you also for your kind words in regards to our team, we certainly pride ourselves on our personalized form of service and are thrilled to hear that we made such a positive impression.
Should you ever wish to stay at any of our other 8Hotels properties within Australia or abroad we would be delighted to make enquiries on your behalf. After all we love to look after our return guests!
We hope to see you again soon!
Warm Regards,
The Pensione Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The room was pretty small, but the bed was very comfortable. The shower was average (had an awkwardly placed shower head)
The location was spot on, close to the main train station, and an easy walk to most places of interest and transport links.

Unfortunately, our room was on the ground floor, which meant it was slightly noisy at night, and the air-con drew in air from the rear alley which was used for smoking.

Room Tip: Go for one on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear PipKat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you made such great use of our location and enjoyed our comfy beds! All rooms within the Pensione have recently been fitted with sumptuous Microcloud bed toppers and its so great to hear such positive feedback.

Our sincerest apologies for any discomfort you experienced in regards to noise and your air conditioning unit. We have recently updated our procedures to include more regular property walks of the alleyway to ensure that this sort of thing does not re occur in the future.

Pensione Hotel Melbourne offers an array of rooms types on our higher floors, please do not hesitate to contact us should you be travelling to Melbourne in the future. We would love to accommodate you in one of these rooms and ensure your second stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

Warm Regards,

The Pensione Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Perfect hotel for an active visit to Melbourne. The rooms are small but well-appointed and encourage you to get out and explore this wonderful city. The hotel is very well located, a short walk from both Southern Cross Station, the Yarra River and Flinders Street, as well as trams to take you elsewhere in the City. If you're travelling with large suitcases, beware the somewhat narrow corridors. We paid $100 per night which seemed unbeatable value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear kauffmad,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay!
It is delightful to hear that you had such a lovely time with us in Melbourne and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our location so much! Our central location within the CBD makes us an excellent base to go and explore some of the hidden gems that make Melbourne such a unique tourist destination.
We hope that we may once again accommodate you sometime in the near future and wish you all the best for the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I found this hotel in a very convenient location for shopping, trams and the casino. Was a short walk from teh bus station which made it very convenient with the shuttle bus from the air port. Room was pretty normal size etc. for a hotel room. Clean rooms and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Vacancies,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne!
We are delighted to hear that you made such great use of our location and got in some shopping and sightseeing too! Thank you also for mentioning the kindness of our team, we certainly take pride in our guest orientated style of service and it is lovely to see that its being noticed.

We hope that we may once again have the pleasure of accommodating you again in the near future.

Have a safe and happy new year!

Warm Regards
The Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I booked the room for my partner & my anniversary & the man said he would organize champagne, with compliments.
On arrival, no champagne in the room so I was disappointed on arrival about that and the room. It doesn't look the photos at all either. The building is old & the room was just OK. Nothing special. I won't be staying here ever again/nor will I be recommending it. I'd rather pay an extra $60 and stay at Crown! Definitely not worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Kimberley,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne. As stated in my emails to you, my sincerest apologies the for difficulties you experienced throughout your time here.

I am so pleased that we were able to compensate you for your grievances.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future should you be seeking accommodation in Melbourne or any other destinations throughout Australia, Bali or Paris. I would be more than happy to make enquiries at our sister properties on your behalf.

Warm Regards,

Calisha Allsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Everything a hotel could ask for - excellent staff, clean room with decent amenities, great location a stone's throw away from anywhere in central Melbourne. The petite room did not dampen the image of the hotel with staff who goes off the mile and prompt service. Kudos!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Felicia Surastr... W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

We were all thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us and made good use of our central city location! Thank you also for your lovely feedback in relation to our team. We pride ourselves on offering friendly and personalized service and we are so pleased you found this to be the case!

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.