We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Design - but watch out for the bathroom...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Super Design - but watch out for the bathroom...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We booked the Pensione Twin room in Melbourne after researching A LOT of hotels. I think considering how expensive Australia can be that this is good value. It's a very nicely designed hotel - I love the boutique style and the cafe and bar and colour scheme in this brick building is pretty lovely. It is entirely comfortable.

The room itself was very spacious and the beds were good quality. There was a flat screen television, a good sized cupboard, a tea and coffee point, kettle, hairdryer etc. So for £34 pp per night I think it is a good way to spend your money. The location is pretty close to everything as well. We walked everywhere - but the tram is the next street along, if you prefer. It's near to Spencer St Station - so very convenient when you arrive in Melbourne - literally a five minute walk down the street - which was a pleasant surprise.

One big problem however, for us, was the bathroom. I traveled with a really good friend and we coped - but we felt the bathroom was flawed in design. There is a slide door that basically separates the room and the bathroom. But it doesn't completely shut and has a tendency to roll open. Also the toilet is almost literally next to the bed and what with the door not shutting it was kind of embarrassing using the toilet if one of us was in bed practically next to the opaque door! The shower curtain was also broken - we did ask for this to be fixed and it was - but fixed was not really fixed when it fell down again the next night and the sink was too small to be able to brush your teeth properly - all these things just made using the bathroom a bit tiresome. Also - it was fairly clean but it didn't have that really super clean feel or smell to it - which would have been nice.

I'm not sure if this bathroom design is in all rooms - but from reading some of the other reviews I'm guessing it's in quite a few.

Overall - if you are looking to book a single room - I think it is a excellent option. If you are sharing you might want to just think the bathroom situation over. But design and comfort of hotel are top notch.

Hope this helps! Happy Travels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan_Zulficar_GM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear reviewer101_11
Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent stay!
We couldn’t be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how much you loved the unique style of our property! We have tried to model the hotel in reference to the Pensione Hotel’s of old Europe while injecting our own sense of style making it a funky blend of old and new.
We are also glad that we could provide you with an ideal location from which to venture out and see the sights daily! It is true we are situated next to some old Melbourne’s most visited landmarks but there are also so many great places known only to Melbournians so next time you visit us please pick our brains for some extra hot spots!
I am sorry however to hear about the difficulties you faced with navigating our bathrooms! We can certainly appreciate that they are quite compact so we do apologise if this caused you any distress at all. In regards to this we are currently undergoing soft renovation in all our bathrooms. We are also maximising space by shortening shelving, removing the vanity’s under the basin and are also looking at permanent fixtures for the shower hooks. We hope to have this sorted out in the very near future.
Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne!
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    299
    127
    42
    25
See reviews for
45
242
134
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed in a petite double for one night. Loved the location, very close to shopping and transport. Cool decor with a nice, fairly quiet bar downstairs. A little noisy, but given the location that's not really suprising -- it's just normal inner-city noise. Staff were very helpful, even let us check in early when we went to drop off our suitcases in the morning. Next time I would get a standard room if staying with my partner, the bed in a petite double really isn't big enough for two. Excellent value for money.

My main issue with the hotel was the standards of upkeep. I think cleanliness should come standard, no matter how cheap the room rates, and our room wasn't as clean as I would have liked. Bathroom door handle falling off, mould in the shower, stains and hair on the sheets. I was too exhausted to complain at the time. I'd still stay here again, but I'd recommend checking the room to see if it's up to scratch as soon as you get in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Shona K
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback!
Firstly let us say how happy we are to hear how much you enjoyed our location and how helpful you found our team to be! We certainly take pride in providing you with any assistance and we’re glad we were able to check you in early too!
However it is disappointing to hear that you found your room to be less than satisfactory and I would like to apologize for any distress this may have caused you. It is unusual to hear about your bathroom door as we do have a maintenance team on hand to remedy these problems as soon as they arise. In regards to your shower we are currently having our housekeeping team steam clean all the bathrooms in the property as a part of our scheduled maintenance and hope to see this completed within the next week or so.

Thank you again for taking the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden jewel the best little property around with the most helpful and friendly staff I have had during my travels around Australia

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear AllyKat11
Thank you for your lovely review!
We at the Pensione Melbourne take pride in providing you with everything you need during your stay. Your kind words have touched us all and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future!
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Great stay, great staff, great food
Had a lovely stay at pensione Melbourne, great location thank you

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear aztripreview,
Thank you for taking the time to write to us!
We would all like to thank you for you kinds words and look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future!
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed there mostly because of how close it was to the station and crown but I wasn't happy with a few things.
I was quoted a certain price over the phone, then when we went to check in the lady at the desk asked for a higher price. she wasnt the nicest of few when we corrected her pricing.
it was a small room so i guess you get what you pay for although there was a nice hole above our bed which wasnt great to look at.
the reason i am so unhappy is that i discovered that they charged us $6 for a bottle of water that they said we had used however it was frozen in the fridge so even if we wanted to drink it we couldnt. im still waiting for my refund.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Stephanie D,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback!
Firstly let us say how sorry we are to hear that you found you found your stay to be less than satisfactory. The Pensione Melbourne prides itself on providing all our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and it is disappointing to hear that you did not find it so.
We would also like to apologize for the mix up in regards to the water in your room. We can certainly understand that this can be frustrating and we had immediately refunded the amount to your credit card as soon as we had been alerted to the mistake. However it is then up to the bank to process the refund and this unfortunately can take some time.
Again I apologize for any distress this may have caused you and hope to have the opportunity to really look after you in the future.
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the beautiful Pensione Hotel in Melbourne for 3 nights in August 2011. From the moment we arrived the service was efficient and friendly. The location extremely convenient to all fun things to do in Melbourne. The room was clean, tidy and well presented too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Geoffo35
Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent stay!
We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed the service and the location of the hotel! We have made sure that everyone has received your lovely feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a boutique hotel which provides good service, clean rooms and it is close to everything.

The only down side is the size of the rooms but they are nicely put together.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear faos0505
Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent stay!
Your kind words have been passed onto all our Housekeeping and Guest Service staff and we look forward to a time when we may welcome you back to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne!
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.