We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but great room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Small, but great room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This hotel was well-appointed for attendees at the Melbourne Convention Center. The room was small, but perfectly fine for one person. Very clean! The room had all of the amenities-- mini fridge, toiletries, etc. Free wireless internet would have been nice though. Customer service was just ok.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear bkpoalnd
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback!
It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We certainly pride ourselves on providing you with a clean and comfy stay and I am glad we could accommodate you in such a way.
In regards to the internet charges we have several packages on our website where we can provide you with lots of goodies such as our Seasonal Package. This includes complimentary WIFI access, a 12pm checkout, a free upgrade where available and a free gift upon arrival so please feel free to contact us for your next stay and we certainly assist you with this.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    353
    148
    47
    30
See reviews for
55
283
162
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stopped here in jan 2011 and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very helpfull, this is a great no frills hotel. The room was a non smoking double and although maybe on the small side I was alone so was perfect. Nice touches of tea/coffee and toiletries, very clean and location is great for the tram. You can even get the free city tram from a stop 2 mins away. It is next to a youth hostel so a few young drunks were passed on a night time but don't let this put you off.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Go_Green2011-06-29
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!
It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how helpful you found our team! We delight in ensuring that your stay with us is both comfortable and pleasurable and take every opportunity assist you in any way we can.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night during a conference and would recommend it to people looking for a great location at a good price.
We had booked a standard double (not a petite double) and ended up in what I think was a triple room for 2 of us, so effectively 2 rooms, overlooking Spencer street. The rooms are small but we were not planning to do much more than sleep in there.
We were concerned it would be noisy but the double glazing was excellent.
Bathroom is very, very small but was clean and plenty of hot water.
It is significantly cheaper than most other options in the area.
Would go back with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Book a double not petite double - worth the extra$
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear frothygirl

Thank you for your recent feedback!
It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the room and your time with us! The Pensione Hotel Melbourne prides itself of providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and it’s great to hear you found it so.

We look forward to welcoming you back another time at the Pensione Hotel Melbourne!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed here in a single room and it was like a cell - there was no window, a narrow single bed and you couldn't close the door to the ensuite if anyone was actually inside it. The front desk staff were pretty disinterested in the guests and the lift took forever to clunk its way up to the 3rd floor. Won't be staying here again.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Newinoz
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback!
Firstly we would like to apologize that you found your room to be a little bit cozy! Whilst our single rooms are our more compact rooms we do have many different room types and would have been more than happy to show you some other options should our friendly team have been alerted to your distress.
In regards to the lift we have just recently signed off in having these replaced, the overall process will take around 8 months to complete but we are very excited about this!
Should you wish to stay with us again, please feel free to contact us directly and we will certainly allocate you one of the larger room options.
Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremorne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My partner and I stayed in an original double room for a few days whilst he was in Melbourne on business. The room itself was fairly small but it perfectly suited our purpose and budget. It was clean, we had our own ensuite, there was a television and we had our own tea and coffee making facilities. The location was ideal for me as I was able to easily walk into the CBD and of an evening we were walking distance from the bars and restaurants. It was also very quiet and so it was easy to get a good night's sleep. The breakfast was very nice and the staff who serve at breakfast are very friendly and attentive. The reception staff were ok and were by no means rude but they all looked very tired, bored and uninterested in serving guests. The only other thing I'd say is that the rooms were a little dusty and with a sensitive nose I did find myself sneezing. The linen was dusty in a way that suggested the tumble dryer needs cleaning out and the skirting boards could have done with a bit of a wipe. Other than that it was really a very good stay. It was practical and functional and I felt we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: original double rooms are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I booked a room with the knowledge that I would be at a conference all day, and not be spending too much time in a small room. So I wasn't surprised by the size of the room or bathroom. I had forgotten how small a double bed really is! The staff were very helpful and friendly, I couldn't fault them. The only comment regarding the room, the small ironing board just doesn't cut it for ironing business shirts. A full size board would be great! Otherwise, very convenient location to transport, my conference and the city. I could walk to everything I attended for the whole week!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I hate to rate it below average as it's the cheapest in our trip and we get what we pay for. However, there are few things which really bad and need to be improved though it's a budget hotel. Our room is at the ground floor, and it was very noisy and we can even hear the staffs talking as when we open our window, we can see the walkway and this made us feel very uneasy. The room is extremely small, that's fine to us but the bed is too small to fit 2 person. Being asians and both of us are very small size, we feel like falling off the bed as it was really too small for two person. The kettle is very dirty, many of the appliances are not working. However, the location is excellent and extremely convenient. If you don't mind the cons I mentioned above, this hotel is really worth staying, it's extremely cheap and having such a great location. Probably suitable for 1 person stay and please ask for higher floors.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear tms007
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback!
Firstly let me say how sorry I am to hear that you found your stay to be uncomfortable and uneasy! Whilst the Original rooms on the ground floor are marketed more towards our budget conscious guests we still endeavour to make every effort to ensure that your time with us is as comfortable as possible. Whilst we have many different room types available to cater for all different guests needs, we also have a certain number of Original rooms located in the back of the property. Had our friendly team been alerted to your distress we would have been only too happy to assist you in moving as your comfort is our number one priority!
My apologies also for the difficulties you faced with the size of your bed! The Pensione Hotel operates with standard bedding sizes with our rooms ranging from King Singles to Standard Doubles. Thanks also for alerting us about your appliances, we have now changed these over.
Should you ever choose to return to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne we will certainly ensure that your second stay with us is both delightful and charming as your comfort is of our highest priority.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.