We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, convenient.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Eden to your Saves list
Bayview Eden
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Eden on the Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Cairns Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quiet, convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had 5 nights in Melbourne for a conference held at this hotel and for convenience decided to stay in house. Check in was easy and fast and the staff very helpful. Most of the rooms have a partial view of the park with a few having direct views from the front of the property. The building wraps a heritage building which seems to be in the process of internal restoration. While the rooms are not opulent they are certainly serviceable and comfortable with enough space. I found the room I had to be comfortable and quiet - certainly no complaints there. There is an in-house restaurant and bar which also has a reasonable size and value bar menu. I did not investigate the options nearby - largely due to laziness and lack of need. The hotel is a comfortable and easy walk from the city center - time would depend on your walking speed and route. There is a nice view from the gym upstairs which also has a spa and sauna but while functional the weight gear is a little past it's best condition. The concierge (Denis) is very helpful if you have questions or would like to book day tours. Would I stay here again ? If I had business in the city - yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view - see what happens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    167
    94
    34
    18
See reviews for
58
140
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel is approximately 30 minutes walking time from the CBD but the trams run close by plus plenty of taxis are available. For those first timers in Melbourne, you will need a Myki card to use any public transport. The card purchase and top up places are all round the CBD.
Across the road from the hotel entrance is Albert Park and golf club for the energetic.
I arrived at the hotel 08:00 after a long flight and the kindly receptionist gave me a room immediately instead of waiting for normal check in time. My double room was at the rear of the hotel and not especially noisy. The room itself whilst reasonably clean needed a serious refurbishment with the carpet stained and heavily worn in places, the bedside furniture had light and radio controls that did not work and looked as they had been obsolete for years. There was more than adequate wardrobe and drawer space.
The bed was comfortable and sheets spotless as were the towels etc in the bathroom.
However, the bath enamel was chipped and the bathroom tiling had mould in the grouting. The centre lighting in the bathroom was not working nor was the safe. The hotel promptly repaired these two items but the room was still substandard for a 4 star hotel.
The shower in the bath is operated by two taps rather than using a thermostatic control so the water temperature it was a bit hit and miss.
Along the corridors I noted electrical wall sockets hanging off the wall rather than being fixed securely.
The bar area was satisfactory and was the place for free wi-fi. In bedrooms rooms you had to pay for internet.
I only used the restaurant for breakfast and although the amounts were adequate, the cooked options were very limited and not particularly tasty.
The fitness room on the roof level was small but had all the usual fitness equipment, a sauna and a spa pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

wonderful accommodation. great location at realistic prices, staff were vary polite and helpfull views overlooking lake, park and the bay of Melbourne and safe secure car parking
We had a great weekend

Room Tip: level 7 great views and close to spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I booked this hotel due to its location close to the starting line of Melbourne's "City2Sea" running event, which was near the National Galley of Vic.
I was able to easily catch a tram down St Kilda Road to the Toorak Rd junction and walk to the hotel from there.
Check in was easy and the receptionist was very professional and polite.
I got room 618 which was a "family room" containing a double bed and a 'larger' sized single bed. There was plenty of room for all gear and lots of wardrobe space. I noticed a safe also located in the wardrobe.
Room and bathroom were clean and bed was very comfortable with extra pillows available.
A small bar fridge was also in the room which was handy as I purchased snacks, milk, etc from the 7-11 around the corner on St Kilda Road.
The only negative thing about the room was the lack of view, which looked directly into the high rised buildings out the back and not the picturesque Albert Park Lake out the front.
Be aware that the hotel is not in the heart of the CBD. I walked to the National Gallery and it took me about 20 mins, but there are also plenty of trams along St Kilda Road.
I also walked to South Yarra which is about 2km to the South Yarra train station. It's a bit of a hike but the roads are reasonably flat.
Having completed my running event which finished at St Kilda Pier/Luna Park, I opted to walk back to the hotel, although trams were available. It was about 4km which was actually quite pleasant along the shaded, tree-lined St Kilda Road route.
Upon my return, I took advantage of the large spa pool located on the roof level of the hotel. There is also some gym equipment there for use. Look past the dodgy repair work in the spa; it is actually really pleasant to relax in! The sunroof over head let in some sunshine whilst relaxing. And check out the lovely view from the roof over Albert Park Lake. You can actually see the bay on a nice day.

Just a tip: Compare rates! I wanted a late check out (I knew I'd want a spa and shower after my running event) and found it cheaper to book 2 x nights with HotelTravel.com than to book a late check out with the hotel directly. It was great to have the use of the room for the day as my flight wasnt until the Sunday evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks Albert Park Lake. If you want a late check out, check with hotel the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We decided to try the Bayview Eden having previously stayed and the Bayview Park. Knowing the the hotel was one of the reasonably priced hotels in that area.

Arriving at the hotel and checkin was easy and thats when I asked about parking. Following the directions to the rear of the hotel I was glad I was in a small car. There were NO places for hotel guests left so I opted to park in a spot that was without a reserved sign on it. The car park itself was a maze of narrow twists and dead ends all only wide enough for one car. Once I parked I then found the lifts didn't go to that level so had to go up the fire staris to get to the lifts.

Anyway back to the hotel. The room was clean and tidy with all amenties and we required. Having to use the trams to venture out for tea the Concierge was a great help with excellent knowledge of what numbers and where to catch the tram. Also he was able to look up where we were going for tea (the other side of the city) and Google to show me where we should get off the tram.

The presentation of the Foyer, front desk and Restaurant were excellent.

As I mentioned the room and good and comfortable and had a good sleep.

Breakfast was in the restaurant and was included in our price. An excellent buffet was available with plenty of choices and variety. The staff were good but not great as sometimes I had to ask for the plates to be removed even though they would come to offer coffee quiet regularly without noticing.

For the price and the location we wanted it was a good place to stay. Had been dissappointed last time when at the Bayview Park and not sure if we would visit the Bayview Eden again.

Room Tip: Wa had a Superior room??? Looked pretty Standard to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I planned a nite stay at Bayview Eden for really good friends of mine to celebrate their 10th wedding anniversary. I emailed the Hotel and asked if they could look after them. Well I was so impressed with the service my friends got, they were upgraded and had chocolates and champayne waiting on their arrival. They don't get to travel to the city very often as they have 3 small children and I thought this would be special for them. Well the Staff and management looked after my friends very well, it made their Anniversary very special......THANKS DAVID OWEN AND ALL STAFF FOR DOING THIS FOR THEM. Great Hotel......Highly recommend.

Room Tip: They got a room which overlooked Albert Park...superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here on business on a busy pre-race week. Chose it due to proximity to the conference. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Service was great with the reception staff and concierge welcoming and helpful. There is a pleasant bar area. I didn't dine in - try the local Squires Loft a few steps down the road for delicious steaks and salads. My only complaint is that the walls between the adjoining room are very thin. I could hear the occupant's mobile ringing and her entire conversation clearly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Eden

Address: 6 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Eden on the Park)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#85 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bayview Eden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Eden Melbourne is conveniently located on Queens Road overlooking the picturesque Albert Park Lake and Port Phillip Bay. It is located in the heart of the St Kilda Road business district and is only a short tram ride away from Melbourne's Central Business District and Crown Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Eden Melbourne
Bayview Eden Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.