We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Eden to your Saves list
Bayview Eden
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Eden on the Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Superior Queen Room and we both weren't too impressed. It looked much nicer in the photos which had a view of the city. When we walked in, the room was plain and the furniture was dated. Our view was a roof top and the bathroom was so small. We could barely fit 2 people in it. And they didn't supply toothpaste, cotton balls, cotton tips or tooth brushes. The spa on the rooftop was in an awkward location and was cold! Our wifi didn't connect. The Tv had horrible reception. However, the staff were friendly, and the reception area was very presentable. No major concerns with the cleanliness. The Billiards room was really nice! I don't recommend it for a romantic night away, but I think it's nice if you need a place to stay if you're in the city and need something that's not too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review.

Please note all our amenities including toothbrushes, toothpaste, sewing kits and vanity kits are available upon request at reception or via our housekeeping department.

On your next visit, if you experience any trouble connecting to our wifi, please do not hesitate to contact our 24 hour reception as we have a dedicated internet support team available to assist with connection troubles to ensure all guests connect.


Kind Regards

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    170
    97
    37
    18
See reviews for
64
143
30
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked in on Friday 2nd August for 3 nights. The hotel is located just a short tram ride from Melbourne CBD. It's on a very busy road, but good insulation in the room meant that the road noise was not a problem. The hotel staff were cheery, helpful and very polite. On arrival in the room, first impressions were that the room was large, light and airy. There was plenty of room to spread out and relax. The bed was King size and comfortable with extra pillows provided. The courtesy fridge was well stocked with a varied list, but as usual we made no use of it, preferring to buy our own snacks at a very reduced price from the shops in the city. The bathrooom was clean, but a bit dated. The TV was very old, outdated and I believe still had valves. The remote control did not work and I had to call room service to fix, which was achieved in a very short time. Outside the Hotel, access to the CBD is very easy. The tram runs along St Kilda Road just about a 2 minute walk from the front door of the Hotel, and trams run about every 5 minutes. One suggestion, there is a small convenience store on St Kilda Road which sells Public Transport tickets called MYKI. Get some. The use of these plastic credit card size tickets is essential and very easy when using public transport. And, Melbourne is one of the easiest cities in the world to use public transport. We did not eat in the hotel, preferring to use some of the many restaurants in the city. However, we had breakfast in the hotel dining room on the day of our departure and wish we had not. The meal was average. The coffee was luke warm and weak and the hot food bar was not worth the effort. The bread was stale and the fruit juice was also not the freshest. Based on our experience, I would recommend eating out. Having said this however, we did not eat any other meals in the Hotel, so I am not qualified to comment on lunches and dinners.
One extra point I will make is that the sauna is excellent. A touch small, bit well heated and effective.
All in all, I do recommend a stay at this hotel for the location, comfort and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for your detailed review.

I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please note, I have forwarded your review onto the relevant departments for further discussions.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel more than a dozen times and it has always impressed. It has a consistent warm welcome feel to it and feels like home away from home. When I travel for work and visit Melbourne this is my number 1 choice....

Room Tip: Corner room on the front overlooking park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to read about our loyal customers enjoying the services we provide. We always strive to make our guests feel like their stay is a home away from home and it is great to see that you agree.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This little boutique hotel was just what I needed. Nothing over the top, but what it did it did well. Clean quiet room with comfortable bed, underground parking, and while the decor was a little dated it does not need refreshing. And good value. Happy happy happy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Value for money, comfortable rooms and fantastic service! What more could you ask for? Staff were more than accommodating and quick to respond to any requests we had. The room was extremely clean and neat, and we had a very comfortable stay. Will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I have forwarded your review onto all the staff for their congratulations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel has everything. Generous sized rooms, good staff, very good service, Gym, spa, sauna, indoor lap pool, quality food and very accomodating. Easy to get to if you don't want to drive in Melbourne traffic in the city. In July this will be the third time we have stayed here. Unlike some hotels it does do what it says it will do and it does have the facilities that it says it has.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read that our return guests always experience the high level of service we strive to provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night to attend a conference. Checking in was relatively easy but there was no bellhop to assist us with our luggage when we first walked into the lobby...it was pouring with rain and we were wet and trying to carry in all our luggage. Service was at least friendly. Hotel room was okay compared to others we've stayed in. Nothing 4 or 5 star of course but decent. Bed was a bit on the lumpy side (the middle part of the mattress was noticeably more 'sunk in' than the sides of the mattress) but there was all the bits and bobs in the bathroom, plenty of hot water, and other amenities you find in a typical hotel room (tv, desk, chairs etc).

One thing we were a bit meh about regarding the hotel room was the way the lighting system worked in the room! Trying to figure out which switch did which light, I think the bathroom had TWO light switches - very confusing.

But our biggest complaint was the gym! We saw on the hotel website that they bragged about having a skyview gym right next to the spa...well this was obviously a huge mistake to have gym equipment so close to hot water and steam. LOTS of the equipment was rusty and old...I think it was the exercise bike my husband sat on, the seat came off! Very unsafe, so he stopped using it. I think this is something the hotel should look into - moving metal equipment away from the spa because the steam obviously effected the metal bits and pieces of the gym.

We didnt do the breakfast because we thought they might be an ala carte option but only buffet breakfast was provided. We were running a bit late that morning for our conference and didnt have time to induldge in a buffet breakfast. So we skipped breakfast all together!

The hotel did provide us with umbrellas to use when we had to walk to our conference building, and did watch our luggage for us after we checked out. Thank you.

Overall the sleep value was okay, butttt given how many other hotels there are in Melbourne, I probably wouldnt stay here again Im afraid. The gym experience was a real let down :((

Room Tip: always ask for a room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We value all feedback to ensure a high level of service and standard is maintained for all guests.

Please be assured, i have forwarded your comments regarding the gym equipment onto the relevant departments for immediate action.

Kind Regards

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayview Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Eden

Address: 6 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Eden on the Park)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#88 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bayview Eden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Eden Melbourne is conveniently located on Queens Road overlooking the picturesque Albert Park Lake and Port Phillip Bay. It is located in the heart of the St Kilda Road business district and is only a short tram ride away from Melbourne's Central Business District and Crown Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bayview Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Eden Melbourne
Bayview Eden Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.