We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a choice to stay when travelling to Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Eden to your Saves list
Bayview Eden
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Eden on the Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely a choice to stay when travelling to Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Nice and tidy, receptionists were friendly and quick check-in/out. Room was clean and comfortable. The laundry service was superb...fast and effective. Breakfast well serviced by gentle and friendly waiters and waitress.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    154
    89
    31
    16
See reviews for
54
131
28
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would only recommend the Bayview Eden as a place to crash in town.

Pros:

- Nice old-style lobby
- Friendly staff
- Quiet (probably due to the fact that there's no one there...)

Cons:

- Everything is OLD. Decor is terribly dated, as are the appliances and the bathroom
- The bathroom is pretty yuck, the shower-over-bath leaked and the shower curtain was disgusting
- The floors in the hallway smell
- The view from our room looked directly into the office building next door
- No free wifi (seems to be a continuing theme in Australian hotels)

This place could be restored beautifully, it's in an okay location and it would be a good size for a boutique-style hotel.

Not bad for a bed to crash, but that's about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Overall was quite good. Staff friendly and helpful. Food good but very limited vegetarian and virtually no vegan choices.

The most annoying thing - perhaps the only annoying thing - was that although wireless internet was available in the lobby and on the first (conference room) floor, if wanted to use the internet in your room, you had to pay. So in the corridor you regularly saw people going from their room to the first floor or lobby, clutching their computers.

This policy is not customer friendly at all and spoiled an otherwise excellent accommodation experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed one night on an Internet deal, which included free Wi-Fi and car parking. Can't believe these would otherwise need to be paid for in addition to the room cost. Check-in was efficient and friendly, as was service in the lobby bar. Room was spacious and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom provided fragrant amenities, but the narrow bath space means showering with the shower curtain at close range. A reputable 3.5-4 star hotel would really no longer be using shower curtains! Breakfast was very good with again, helpful and friendly staff. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent deal from Travel Zoo so stayed in good hotel city hotel at very reasonable rate. Lovely hotel and great to have such late opening time for indoor pool - 10.30pm swim with pool all to myself! Free WiFi in room was good and not sure why all hotels don't offer this service.

Location was a little out of the CBD but trams were very close by and run very frequently but we chose to walk in to the centre which took about 25 minutes.

Didn't use the spa or bar/restaurant so can't comment on them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

After staying at this hotel when we first started dating 10 years ago and enjoying our initial experience my husband and I decided to stay here on our wedding night. Although the room was nice, clean and spacious I was disappointed with the service we recieved.

Upon booking our hotel via the internet I had difficulty booking a room with a view out over Albert Park lake and beyond. I decided to send an email to the hotel explaining that it was our wedding night and if possible could we please request a room with a view. A couple if days later (I was impressed with their prompt response) I recieved a rude email back saying that it was not possible to put in any requests.

As an experienced traveller I never normally put in requests like this however as it was my wedding night I was hoping for some exception. This might be something the hotel might like to look at in the future as this is a once in a lifetime occasion and I didn't feel that the hotel did anything to help us make this part of our night special.

There was a lovely man on the desk when we checked in and we were also impressed with the girl who checked us out. Both very friendly and professional. The breakfast was yum with a bit to pick from though that said there are also some great cafes in town which will give you a better value breakfast.

The bed was very comfy and the room was quite large. The upstairs pool area is getting a little dated and I am sure there is something better they could do with this great view.

Overall it is a nice hotel but I think my husband and I will stay somewhere different if we are celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed here for a conference, and most instantly for me the rooms are quiet, the bed is comfortable and I sleep well. The rooms are really clean, well looked after, huge bathrooms and there's free wi fi in the conference rooms (but not the bedrooms). It's a bit outside the CBD with limited dining options at night without hopping a tram, but this is easy to do.

The only reason I don't give this place an excellent rating is that they lost my luggage which I dropped off before the conference and then, although the counter staff were very polite, it was like they went into denial over this, resulting in me having to go back to my room twice to confirm that it wasn't there before they finally realised that maybe something was wrong and started to track it down (it had been sent to the wrong room). I'm sure this was a once off though and won't hold it against them.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Eden

Address: 6 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Eden on the Park)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#84 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bayview Eden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Eden Melbourne is conveniently located on Queens Road overlooking the picturesque Albert Park Lake and Port Phillip Bay. It is located in the heart of the St Kilda Road business district and is only a short tram ride away from Melbourne's Central Business District and Crown Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Eden Melbourne
Bayview Eden Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.