We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, great value and and overall pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darling Towers on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Darling Towers on Collins to your Saves list
Darling Towers on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
melbourne
1 review
“Great Location, great value and and overall pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

darling towers is situated in a great location in the city. close walk to public transport, shopping, night spots and more.
Apartment was a reasonable size and good value for money.
Parking can be a bit hard to find and hard to lug your suitcase to.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    138
    84
    44
    26
See reviews for
119
70
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

This was our second stay at Darling Towers on Collins. We were so pleased with every aspect of our accommodation during our stay last December that we didnt entertain the possibilty of staying anywhere else when deciding to return in June. Our next visit to Melbourne is planned for January and again Darling Towers is where will stay. We particulary appreciated the acknowledgement of our stay as return customers and the subsequent reduction in room rate. This was after already having been given a reduction when booking. We appreciated also our room being made ready for our mid morning arrival and the unexpected upgrade to a two bedroom apatment. Two of our friends have already stayed at Darling Towers (one at South Yarra) based on our reccommmendation and have been equally pleased.
Jeffrey and Amanda

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Stayed at Darling Towers on Collins for four nights and loved the apartments. Went to the Pink concert and shopping. Everything was right outside the front door literally - tram stops, arcades, malls, cafes, shops, shops and more shops. Lovely clean rooms, quiet for middle of the city and fully equipped kitchen. The check-in was easy and they organised our pick-up for Skybus to the airport. Very, very nice place !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

We thought we would try the towers again as we had been here before this was the worst mistake we could make. After being here for an hour we were evacuated, though it was not the fault of the towers they did absolutly nothing to help their customers out. While being evacuated our names were not marked off and one of the senior staff was extremely rude to my friend. We had to move too the City Square where it became cold quiet quickly, there was no cover offered. We had booked to go on the Restaurant Tram which we missed and there was no form of compensation given to us or the other disheartened travellers.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkRichards3141, Assistant Manager at Darling Towers on Collins, responded to this review, July 20, 2009
Thankyou for your review of Darling Towers on Collins. As you have mentioned, the building was evacuated for approximately 2 ½ hours, on the instruction of the fire brigade due to a chemical leak in a neighbouring building. This not only affected the 500+ guests of Darling Towers, but also the persons in neighbouring buildings, as well as people heading home from work. During this time, all access to the building was denied until it was deemed safe by the authorities. Our staff assisted with the evacuation of the building and provided a meeting point at City Square. The Fire Brigade went to each floor to ask guests to evacuate to ensure your safety. While most of our guests decided to enjoy some of the many great café’s that Melbourne has to offer while they waited for access, those guests who wished to stay close to the building were given information updates as soon as we received them from the Fire Brigade. The building was then given the all-clear at 5pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

You couldn't ask for a better location than this - tram stop right outside the door in Collins Street. About a minute's walk takes you Swanston Street, where you can access more trams, a few minutes more down the road and you are at Flinders St Station and Federation Square. The 2brm Apartment we were in was located on the 9th Floor, and was very spacious considering there was 5 adults. The noise of the trams and peoples voices seemed to carry especially at night, so pack your ear plugs.
Staff were very helpful and checking in/out was a hassle free experience.
Cost wise - very economical for the lcoation and facilities. Will definately be staying here again

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

I booked the Darling Towers for its central location and really the location can't be beat. It's right on Collins St in the middle of the CBD, with shops, offices and restaurants all nearby.

The room itself was clean and moderately sized. The kitchenette had everything needed for light meals. Service at the reception was courteous. Since I stayed several nights I managed to get a rate of only A$110 per night, which I thought was excellent value.

I was concerned if it would be noisy (being located smack in the CBD) but my room, which faced a side lane, was quiet. I would definitely book this place again for future trips to Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We have stayed here many times and have had the backpacker experience from the roof next door (the so-called upgrade!). This year it was so much better. We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 6th floor in a quiet north-east corner. It was spotless and well-maintained. Reception were friendly and helpful and its location in the heart of the city cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Darling Towers on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Towers on Collins

Address: 233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darling Towers on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Darling Towers on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darling Towers on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.