We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little worn out, needs a good clean.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Darling Towers on Collins

Save Saved
You added Darling Towers on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Darling Towers on Collins
233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Myrtleford, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little worn out, needs a good clean.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here as a family in December 2013. I had a little trouble finding the entrance using google maps, I called for directions and the lady was gracious and helpful.
All staff encountered were friendly and polite.
The apartment was on the fourth floor and it was tired and shabby.
The veneer was peeling off the vanity, there were scuff marks on the walls, dirty marks on the carpets, grubby grouting in the bathroom and lots of little chips in the bathtub. The silicone around the shower screen was awful, very mouldy. The overflow drain in the handbasin was revolting, not sure it had ever been wiped or cleaned and it was very slimy and dirty.
The kitchen was well stocked with utensils but it needed a really good clean. There were hairs, grime around the stove, coffee rings on the bench and grubby marks on the stainless backsplash.
The balcony door didn't lock, not such an issue on the fourth floor but the balcony itself was flat out dirty. There was bird poo, cigarette butts and the glass divider looked like it had never been cleaned.
The beds were very comfortable, nice linen. The spare blankets in the cupboard were old, frayed and worn. We found a child's toothbrush on the floor that certainly didn't belong to us.
The heating/air conditioning control was missing the faceplate, it was difficult to operate without this.
I was disappointed (it wasn't a cheap stay!) and based on my experience I would not recommend. We stayed one night and left.

Room Tip: Avoid fourth floor. Dirty and shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    100
    61
    34
    23
See reviews for
90
56
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We loved staying at Darling Towers on Collins. It was just only the beds, the mattresses were soft. It would be great if that can be upgraded. Otherwise everything was perfect.

Loved the location
Shops, restaurants all near by
only a short walk to china town

I am looking forward to stay at Darling Towers on Collins again for my next trip to Melbourne !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

After booking a one bedroom apartment for 4 nights I went on tripadvisor to check the reviews. Wrong order I know - should have checked here first!!! I was very worried to say the least after reading all the negative reviews and very nearly cancelled the booking. I had no need to worry!! The location was perfect. Central to absolutely everything. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean. We had plenty of room to spread out. There was no problem with noise. If we had anything to complain about it was that the shower was over the bath tub and a bit pokey,but was still very manageable. For $90 a night when a major concert was scheduled to perform in Melbourne ( Fleetwood Mac ) I do wonder what people expect for their money!!! Would stay here again any time. We stayed in room 1014.

Room Tip: Our room was high and at the back of the complex which was a help in noise level. Probably wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The location of Darling Towers is fabulous, in the heart of the CBD. Trams out the front or walk left or right to Elizabeth or Swanston Streets. All you could want within walking distance. The room was very clean and the staff were polite and helpful. Loved that the room had it's own balcony, albeit small. The shower was fabulous, and the bathroom roomy. The living area was tiny compared to the bedroom! The accommodation is self-rated 4 star, my experience closer to a 3 star. The GPO's in the kitchen didn't have cover plates, I'm sure that's not acceptable in the world of OH&S. The curtains were thread bare in places. Having said that, I would stay here again because of the location and the price.

Room Tip: I was in room 711, I didn't hear any outside noise. As previously said, it was great to have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Customer service was terrible on check in and just as bad on departure. We walked in to a fairly good sized apartment, however there was no storage space in the single bed, bedroom and the beds were very uncomfortable. The bathroom was dirty and the toilet button had sticky tape holding it on, and it barely flushed.
The walls were very thin which meant everything that was going on outside, in the hall way and in the other rooms was very easy to hear. The one good thing about this place was the location, it was good to be within walking distance to everywhere we wanted to be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very good location, clean rooms and a good price. We had a peaceful nights sleep, the bed was comfortable and there was a good view down into Collins street with a picturesque view of the town hall. Detergent, a new sponge and wipe cloth, and drain plugs were supplied. The new Bosch dishwasher and cooktop made for a good stay. We would stay again.

I'm not sure what all these negative reviews on here are about.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a family of four, the kids room was very small with no storage they lived out of their suitcase. The place was dirty, curtains all stained, walls filthy, had to put a washer on the armrest of lounge to hide stains of who knows what. Washing machine didn't work properly, no plug for the kitchen sink.

Balcony area had not seen a broom for years, the drains were caked with sludge.

We stayed for 5 nights and did not get the room serviced once, it served our purpose of being right in the heart of the city but won't be returning. I would have made a complaint handing in the keys but I wasn't even asked how was the stay and I couldn't be bothered. I knew I would be writing a review.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Darling Towers on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Towers on Collins

Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins
Address: 233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Darling Towers on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darling Towers on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.