We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree on Collins to your Saves list
BreakFree on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Collins Street | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Aussie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

After booking a one bedroom apartment for 4 nights I went on tripadvisor to check the reviews. Wrong order I know - should have checked here first!!! I was very worried to say the least after reading all the negative reviews and very nearly cancelled the booking. I had no need to worry!! The location was perfect. Central to absolutely everything. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean. We had plenty of room to spread out. There was no problem with noise. If we had anything to complain about it was that the shower was over the bath tub and a bit pokey,but was still very manageable. For $90 a night when a major concert was scheduled to perform in Melbourne ( Fleetwood Mac ) I do wonder what people expect for their money!!! Would stay here again any time. We stayed in room 1014.

Room Tip: Our room was high and at the back of the complex which was a help in noise level. Probably wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The location of Darling Towers is fabulous, in the heart of the CBD. Trams out the front or walk left or right to Elizabeth or Swanston Streets. All you could want within walking distance. The room was very clean and the staff were polite and helpful. Loved that the room had it's own balcony, albeit small. The shower was fabulous, and the bathroom roomy. The living area was tiny compared to the bedroom! The accommodation is self-rated 4 star, my experience closer to a 3 star. The GPO's in the kitchen didn't have cover plates, I'm sure that's not acceptable in the world of OH&S. The curtains were thread bare in places. Having said that, I would stay here again because of the location and the price.

Room Tip: I was in room 711, I didn't hear any outside noise. As previously said, it was great to have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Customer service was terrible on check in and just as bad on departure. We walked in to a fairly good sized apartment, however there was no storage space in the single bed, bedroom and the beds were very uncomfortable. The bathroom was dirty and the toilet button had sticky tape holding it on, and it barely flushed.
The walls were very thin which meant everything that was going on outside, in the hall way and in the other rooms was very easy to hear. The one good thing about this place was the location, it was good to be within walking distance to everywhere we wanted to be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Very good location, clean rooms and a good price. We had a peaceful nights sleep, the bed was comfortable and there was a good view down into Collins street with a picturesque view of the town hall. Detergent, a new sponge and wipe cloth, and drain plugs were supplied. The new Bosch dishwasher and cooktop made for a good stay. We would stay again.

I'm not sure what all these negative reviews on here are about.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a family of four, the kids room was very small with no storage they lived out of their suitcase. The place was dirty, curtains all stained, walls filthy, had to put a washer on the armrest of lounge to hide stains of who knows what. Washing machine didn't work properly, no plug for the kitchen sink.

Balcony area had not seen a broom for years, the drains were caked with sludge.

We stayed for 5 nights and did not get the room serviced once, it served our purpose of being right in the heart of the city but won't be returning. I would have made a complaint handing in the keys but I wasn't even asked how was the stay and I couldn't be bothered. I knew I would be writing a review.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

What a nice place to stay. This is right in the centre of town. So handy!

Go back to drop off your shopping and put your feet up for a while.

Clean and very comfortable as well.

We stay here regularly and recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmanian
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very close to everything.Very clean and well set out.Quite modern.Great for families.Only complaint was 2 bdrm didn't have enough seating for four.Kitchen is well set out so you could cook in there but eating places are also near by. Security to get in is tight too which I really liked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outonadate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#117 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#99 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins Street | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access and cable TV. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have access to 7am to 11pm reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby (fee) and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes WiFi access (fee), fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing