We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Darling Towers on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Darling Towers on Collins to your Saves list
Darling Towers on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The location of Darling Towers is fabulous, in the heart of the CBD. Trams out the front or walk left or right to Elizabeth or Swanston Streets. All you could want within walking distance. The room was very clean and the staff were polite and helpful. Loved that the room had it's own balcony, albeit small. The shower was fabulous, and the bathroom roomy. The living area was tiny compared to the bedroom! The accommodation is self-rated 4 star, my experience closer to a 3 star. The GPO's in the kitchen didn't have cover plates, I'm sure that's not acceptable in the world of OH&S. The curtains were thread bare in places. Having said that, I would stay here again because of the location and the price.

Room Tip: I was in room 711, I didn't hear any outside noise. As previously said, it was great to have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    150
    96
    45
    32
See reviews for
135
78
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Customer service was terrible on check in and just as bad on departure. We walked in to a fairly good sized apartment, however there was no storage space in the single bed, bedroom and the beds were very uncomfortable. The bathroom was dirty and the toilet button had sticky tape holding it on, and it barely flushed.
The walls were very thin which meant everything that was going on outside, in the hall way and in the other rooms was very easy to hear. The one good thing about this place was the location, it was good to be within walking distance to everywhere we wanted to be.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very good location, clean rooms and a good price. We had a peaceful nights sleep, the bed was comfortable and there was a good view down into Collins street with a picturesque view of the town hall. Detergent, a new sponge and wipe cloth, and drain plugs were supplied. The new Bosch dishwasher and cooktop made for a good stay. We would stay again.

I'm not sure what all these negative reviews on here are about.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a family of four, the kids room was very small with no storage they lived out of their suitcase. The place was dirty, curtains all stained, walls filthy, had to put a washer on the armrest of lounge to hide stains of who knows what. Washing machine didn't work properly, no plug for the kitchen sink.

Balcony area had not seen a broom for years, the drains were caked with sludge.

We stayed for 5 nights and did not get the room serviced once, it served our purpose of being right in the heart of the city but won't be returning. I would have made a complaint handing in the keys but I wasn't even asked how was the stay and I couldn't be bothered. I knew I would be writing a review.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a nice place to stay. This is right in the centre of town. So handy!

Go back to drop off your shopping and put your feet up for a while.

Clean and very comfortable as well.

We stay here regularly and recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmanian
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very close to everything.Very clean and well set out.Quite modern.Great for families.Only complaint was 2 bdrm didn't have enough seating for four.Kitchen is well set out so you could cook in there but eating places are also near by. Security to get in is tight too which I really liked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

After reading some rather negative reviews we were pleasantly surprised with Darling Towers on Collins! It definitely is a little rundown and could do with a paint job but the room was comfortable and had everything you would expect to find in a self contained apartment. The location was excellent with trams outside door and walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping etc. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#92 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darling Towers on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Towers on Collins

Address: 233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darling Towers on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're going to love BreakFree on Collins' comfortable apartments with One and Two Bedroom Apartments to choose from. There's everything you're looking for in your Melbourne accommodation with full kitchen facilities including a dishwasher, broadband internet access, cable TV, air-conditioning and heating. Choose a balcony apartment and take in the city-scape views or Melbourne's bright lights by night. You'll never be at a loss with our friendly reception team, secure car parking, child minding service and a tour desk that can set you on the right path to explore the best of Melbourne. You're at the heart of Collins Street so hit the shops or jump on a tram and head on down to the Arts Centre, Southbank, Docklands, St Kilda Road or one of the many other attractions Melbourne has to offer. Go all Italian on the famous Lygon Street, Carlton, or opt for the funky alternative in Brunswick Street, Fitzroy. Speaking of famous streets there are tons of restaurants and shopping outlets in Bridge Road, Richmond and a little further across in Chapel Street, South Yarra. Fitzroy Street, St Kilda is famous for bars, restaurants and a mixture of some famous and artistic people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Darling Towers on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darling Towers on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.