We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly, Dirty and hidden charges” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Darling Towers on Collins

Save Saved
You added Darling Towers on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darling Towers on Collins
233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Unfriendly, Dirty and hidden charges”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I will never stay here again and highly recommend that you look elsewhere for the same money if you are considering staying here. The staff were rude and unhelpful. The building and rooms lacked basic maintenance. The walls in my room and bathroom were dirty. I have stayed in better hostels than this establishment. The title "Executive Apartment" is a joke and false advertising at its best. Avoid Avoid Avoid !!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    111
    66
    40
    25
See reviews for
97
58
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have stayed here before but as we hadn't stayed back there for a few years, we thought we'd give it another go. The last time we had stayed there the place was tired & we decided to give it a miss for a while.

Well, time has lapsed & nothing has been done to it since our last visit. It's in a brilliant location. Reception is in a weird place - catch the lift to a room & there it is, basically. The hotel itself is tired. Could do with a lick of paint & some maintenance, within our unit, at least. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment/room & were told we were upgraded upon arriving. Not sure how it was an upgrade but there you go.

Cleanliness in a hotel is big to me. This place wasn't the cleanest of places at all. Quite dusty in areas. But tidy enough. The hallways smelt quite off. Thankfully our room wasn't that bad. We had to call for more coffee as there was 2 sachets there, from memory. The unit had a couple of cupboard doors hanging loosely but nothing a bit of maintenance couldn't fix.

We only spent one night & as we were flying out at midnight to go overseas we were VERY grateful not just to leave our luggage after check out until in the night but to use the bathroom adjacent to the luggage room, also. It had a shower & after being out all day before heading to the airport, had I realised it was there I would have used it (had a lock on it). But the bathroom was a God-send as it allowed us to freshen up ready for a 10 hour flight.

The staff were friendly & nice enough. Especially on the day of check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last September for one week, we had a wedding to attend to that's within walking distance. The place is central enough to most places and that's the only positive point.

After 20hrs of flight, we badly needed sleep but the apartment (we booked 2 bdrm apt and it was on 10th fl) wasn't insulated at all. We could hear the garbage truck coming early in the morning, the singing drunkards during the weekend and all traffic noises throughout the days & nights. The window shade didn't offer any insulation towards sunlight i.e. Get ready to be woken up at first sign of light. The beds have sunken so much that they gave us backaches. And when the wind blows, the patio door curves inwards with the wind. So sitting at the sofa watching tv required proper attire as if you were outdoor. And lets not talk about the cleaning service. Beside changing the towels and tidying the beds, I couldn't tell if anything else was done to the room. The crumbs on the dining table remained there, fingerprints & smudges on the mirror remained there.

It also took 5 mins to get warm water.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wasnt expecting much as i had read reviews BUT WAS NICELY SURPRISED...it was a late booking for Grandfinal 2013 and on my own. Location was awesome...only 1 block from Federation Square. Kitchen was neat and tidy and had everything you need.
Bedroom was tidy and bed was comfortable. Bathroom was compact but all you need and the shower had HOT water and pressure was amazing!!!!
If you want to relax and have a view....go somewhere else BUT if you go to Melbourne to party hard this is the perfect place and i would stay there again in a heart beat....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Would never stay here again or would never recommend it. Booked a 2 bedroom. After getting there for check in (well after the time they told us) and being our told our room had not yet been cleaned. Mucked us around and finally have us a different room. Room wasn't the cleanest. Fold out bed was old and sunken. Just not worth the money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was close to everything I needed to go to, cheap midweek rate, reasonable room with adequate amenities. Bit of a pain having reception on 8th floor as I seemed to spend a lot of time in and out of lifts but other than that, the staff were pleasant, a little bit of street noise even from 11th floor but for a quick one night stay, it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

2nd time i have stayed here. Everything you need without the huge expense. Tram stop right outside door, safe location. Basic but has all you need. Short walk to Flinders St Station, and Degraves Lane and Port Phillip arcade , for all sorts of food. Very safe and clean. My only issue is no free wifi, which is something i consider a must these days.

Room Tip: Upgrade to 11th floor studio appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Darling Towers on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Towers on Collins

Address: 233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Darling Towers on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darling Towers on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.