We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No go” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Darling Towers on Collins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Darling Towers on Collins to your Saves list
Darling Towers on Collins
233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Would never stay here again or would never recommend it. Booked a 2 bedroom. After getting there for check in (well after the time they told us) and being our told our room had not yet been cleaned. Mucked us around and finally have us a different room. Room wasn't the cleanest. Fold out bed was old and sunken. Just not worth the money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    124
    76
    41
    25
See reviews for
107
64
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was close to everything I needed to go to, cheap midweek rate, reasonable room with adequate amenities. Bit of a pain having reception on 8th floor as I seemed to spend a lot of time in and out of lifts but other than that, the staff were pleasant, a little bit of street noise even from 11th floor but for a quick one night stay, it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

2nd time i have stayed here. Everything you need without the huge expense. Tram stop right outside door, safe location. Basic but has all you need. Short walk to Flinders St Station, and Degraves Lane and Port Phillip arcade , for all sorts of food. Very safe and clean. My only issue is no free wifi, which is something i consider a must these days.

Room Tip: Upgrade to 11th floor studio appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This apartment was booked in desperation as there wasn't much left in Melbourne. It is in a great location and that's it. The Afro lady was very rude upon check in. They just don't care. This place is dirty small and badly maintained. The attitude is we couldn't care less! I would never stay again. We had a two bedroom. The flooring was dodgy in the tiny lounge area the lamp was broken it was not clean the bathroom was not detailed to a good standard. There was a party on our floor Saturday night so be prepared for noise and dirt. Horrible disgusting place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Definitely agree with other reviews - wish I 'd read them prior to staying here. Really is great location, walking distance to shopping, Southbank, Flinders St station, sporting facilities & tram right out front door. Stayed in 2b/room apartment - good size living & b/room areas. Our apartment did come in clean & tidy, apart from the half hanging curtains & the massive stain across the curtain (couldn't work out if coffee or red wine). Reception area (8th floor) unwelcoming & lacks professional touches - be prepared to move your own baggage around. Better places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devonport tasmania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great city location opposite the trams and plenty of restaurants, cafes and entertainment nearby.
Bit disappointed as the maintenance needs attending to,. First room had power problems so we got moved to another two bedroom unit. This was clean but there was missing bathroom shelf, and the apartment is not spick and span. We stayed three nights and never had anyone attend to our room. If management/owners attended to the small things then i am sure their reviews would be better. I can understand the balcony not being available due to insurance issues. There was plenty of coffee and tea and the tv worked well. Would like to see the rooms professionally cleaned and carpets cleaned. Looking a bit tired. I did notice they were painting the skirting boards in the lift area so maybe they are beginning a facelift .

Room Tip: If you dont like the first room facilities (anything broken, dirry) go and complain and get another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

In one word...this place was terrible. Never again. Our apartment was dirty and poorly cleaned. Mould in the bathroom tiles...marks on the wall...crap and dirt on the carpet and under the bed. Broken furnishings. Broken heating...rude staff. Definitely not value for money! Please dont waste your time with this place an all round poor level and standard of service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darling Towers on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Towers on Collins

Address: 233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Darling Towers on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darling Towers on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.