We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointed staying this time.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree on Collins to your Saves list
BreakFree on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Collins Street | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
devonport tasmania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed staying this time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great city location opposite the trams and plenty of restaurants, cafes and entertainment nearby.
Bit disappointed as the maintenance needs attending to,. First room had power problems so we got moved to another two bedroom unit. This was clean but there was missing bathroom shelf, and the apartment is not spick and span. We stayed three nights and never had anyone attend to our room. If management/owners attended to the small things then i am sure their reviews would be better. I can understand the balcony not being available due to insurance issues. There was plenty of coffee and tea and the tv worked well. Would like to see the rooms professionally cleaned and carpets cleaned. Looking a bit tired. I did notice they were painting the skirting boards in the lift area so maybe they are beginning a facelift .

Room Tip: If you dont like the first room facilities (anything broken, dirry) go and complain and get another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiegordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

In one word...this place was terrible. Never again. Our apartment was dirty and poorly cleaned. Mould in the bathroom tiles...marks on the wall...crap and dirt on the carpet and under the bed. Broken furnishings. Broken heating...rude staff. Definitely not value for money! Please dont waste your time with this place an all round poor level and standard of service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

To be honest this was the worst place I've ever stayed. Not only was the reception lady rude and indifferent. Our apartment was filthy crumbs on the floor bathroom not mopped and benchtop in kitchen with visable spills on the benchtop.

We went to reception and complained and were upgraded to a penthouse apartment. The layout was ok...walls are marked and dirty, mould growing on bathroom tiles etc. In the penthouse apartment the heating was also broken. Its winter in melbourne. We came back to our room to find it wide open and a tradie working in our bathroom.

The only thing this place had going for it was the location. For the price...I'd recommend staying somewhere else. Pretty average experience overall! Won't be staying here again!

The only thing

Helpful?
1 Thank struthieruthie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Have stayed here on previous visits a few years ago but definitely won't be back. Buzzed reception to be let in, waited 5 minutes, buzzed again, got let in then when we arrived at lebel 8 she seemed to busy watching television to help us! Corridors are littered with rubbish and strong cooking smells waft through the building.
Our room was barely clean and the door to what we assume was a balcony (couldn't see because the windows all had frosting on them) wouldn't open making the room dark and chlostrophobic. We ordered a rollout bed at an extra cost - the legs kept collapsing and the matress was hard and lumpy and very thin resulting in no sleep at all!!
A real shame because it is a perfect location and with a makeover could be one of the best in Melbourne for location and convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyoftravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We took our boys to Melbourne to see the Liverpool game and booked an apartment through Quickbeds. So wish I'd looked on Trip Advisor first, would have avoided spoiling an otherwise exciting visit to Melbourne.

Don't be misled by photos on the website, this hotel is very much in need of freshening up, in terms of decor, furnishings and air!

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, price was reasonable for a city apartment and the location is great, but... Skirtings and doorways are scratched and scuffed, reception is on the 8th floor (from memory) in what looks like a converted suite with little to invite or welcome guests

Our apartment smelled like lamb chops had been cooked in it everyday for years. The furnishings and curtains had absorbed the smell

Tiles around the bath/shower were loose, grout was missing and whilst you could smell cleaning agents, there was a general feel that it wasn't quite clean. The 'vanity' was a chipboard square cupboard with swollen door and edges and nowhere on top to store things - no way I was putting anything in the cupboard. The only power point in the bathroom was behind a shaving cabinet mirrored door which only opened part way as it was warped and got jammed on the ceiling

The bed in the main bedroom was quite hard, single beds in the second room seemed okay to the boys. I was a bit hesitant to slip between the sheets but an inspection showed them to be spotlessly clean, one bright spot!

Luckily we were all excited to be going to the soccer. 14 year old said, "it's only for one night, it will do". He was right, it served it's purpose, but we would never stay there again, nor recommend it to friends or family

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarolynM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Furnishings all need to be updated.
Our room had definitely not been vacuumed in months.
Found a kids sock and some rubbish near the couch.
All the door frames and edges had at least a cm of thick dust.
Dust on all furnishings.
Disgusting marks on all walls
Bed sheets were not clean we kept finding pubic looking hairs on the sheets and on the pillows.
No quilt coverlet just sandpaper like not clean sheets over the Donna.
The pillows didn't have proper pillow cases and pillows themselves were disgusting funky coloured dots in them along with copious amounts of other guests hair. Gross!
We bought our own pillows as there was now way we were resting our heads on these.
The mattress was shocking
My towel had some nice public hairs and boogers on it
Air con did not work in both rooms went down to the oddly placed reception on level 8 to be told sorry couldn't do anything about it and could be moved to another room but wait they were fully booked sorry.
Rooms were soo stuffy because of no air on so we had to leave the balcony window open at night to get air in and froze
We slept with our shoes on.
They had a painter painting the walls outside our room so we had the paint fumes to inhale as we slept as well, lovely!
Painting the walls???? How about actually cleaning the rooms it's a called a vacuum cleaner and elbow grease?
On checking out the receptionist kid was running around the desk, soo professional, and we were not asked how our stay was.
All up this place is run down and management do care about their guests or the bad reviews they continue to receive, and this is clearly not a 4 star rated establishment. How on earth they got this I have no idea.
Yes it's in a good location, but that's it.
save yourself from a lot of frustration and book somewhere else!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked in to Darling Towers on Collins after reading several reasonable reviews and seeing that it was supposedly 4 star budget accommodation. Booking process was fine but when I got there I was very disappointed. I was given a 2 bedroom apartment that was extremely dark even with the lights on. Went to have a glass of water and had to wash the glasses prior to using them as they had a weird yellow, foul smelling (not wee not detergent) liquid in them. Main bedroom had hardly any window or light. Depressing really. Went to reception and was upgraded to the "VIP" room on level 11. Whilst this was a nice gesture and a much better room with late windows and a balcony, the "VIP" room didn't have a working smoke detector or clock, the dishwasher had the prior people's dishes still in there (although clean) and the Venetian blinds were bent and broken. Substandard accommodation. I checked out that night and went elsewhere. Never again!

Room Tip: Stay else where unless you aren't fussy about cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerenadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,527 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins Street | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access and cable TV. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have access to 7am to 11pm reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby (fee) and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes WiFi access (fee), fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing