We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Def not value for money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Darling Towers on Collins

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com CheapTickets.com
and 1 more site!
Darling Towers on Collins
233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Def not value for money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

To be honest this was the worst place I've ever stayed. Not only was the reception lady rude and indifferent. Our apartment was filthy crumbs on the floor bathroom not mopped and benchtop in kitchen with visable spills on the benchtop.

We went to reception and complained and were upgraded to a penthouse apartment. The layout was ok...walls are marked and dirty, mould growing on bathroom tiles etc. In the penthouse apartment the heating was also broken. Its winter in melbourne. We came back to our room to find it wide open and a tradie working in our bathroom.

The only thing this place had going for it was the location. For the price...I'd recommend staying somewhere else. Pretty average experience overall! Won't be staying here again!

The only thing

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    99
    61
    34
    23
See reviews for
90
55
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Have stayed here on previous visits a few years ago but definitely won't be back. Buzzed reception to be let in, waited 5 minutes, buzzed again, got let in then when we arrived at lebel 8 she seemed to busy watching television to help us! Corridors are littered with rubbish and strong cooking smells waft through the building.
Our room was barely clean and the door to what we assume was a balcony (couldn't see because the windows all had frosting on them) wouldn't open making the room dark and chlostrophobic. We ordered a rollout bed at an extra cost - the legs kept collapsing and the matress was hard and lumpy and very thin resulting in no sleep at all!!
A real shame because it is a perfect location and with a makeover could be one of the best in Melbourne for location and convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We took our boys to Melbourne to see the Liverpool game and booked an apartment through Quickbeds. So wish I'd looked on Trip Advisor first, would have avoided spoiling an otherwise exciting visit to Melbourne.

Don't be misled by photos on the website, this hotel is very much in need of freshening up, in terms of decor, furnishings and air!

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, price was reasonable for a city apartment and the location is great, but... Skirtings and doorways are scratched and scuffed, reception is on the 8th floor (from memory) in what looks like a converted suite with little to invite or welcome guests

Our apartment smelled like lamb chops had been cooked in it everyday for years. The furnishings and curtains had absorbed the smell

Tiles around the bath/shower were loose, grout was missing and whilst you could smell cleaning agents, there was a general feel that it wasn't quite clean. The 'vanity' was a chipboard square cupboard with swollen door and edges and nowhere on top to store things - no way I was putting anything in the cupboard. The only power point in the bathroom was behind a shaving cabinet mirrored door which only opened part way as it was warped and got jammed on the ceiling

The bed in the main bedroom was quite hard, single beds in the second room seemed okay to the boys. I was a bit hesitant to slip between the sheets but an inspection showed them to be spotlessly clean, one bright spot!

Luckily we were all excited to be going to the soccer. 14 year old said, "it's only for one night, it will do". He was right, it served it's purpose, but we would never stay there again, nor recommend it to friends or family

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Furnishings all need to be updated.
Our room had definitely not been vacuumed in months.
Found a kids sock and some rubbish near the couch.
All the door frames and edges had at least a cm of thick dust.
Dust on all furnishings.
Disgusting marks on all walls
Bed sheets were not clean we kept finding pubic looking hairs on the sheets and on the pillows.
No quilt coverlet just sandpaper like not clean sheets over the Donna.
The pillows didn't have proper pillow cases and pillows themselves were disgusting funky coloured dots in them along with copious amounts of other guests hair. Gross!
We bought our own pillows as there was now way we were resting our heads on these.
The mattress was shocking
My towel had some nice public hairs and boogers on it
Air con did not work in both rooms went down to the oddly placed reception on level 8 to be told sorry couldn't do anything about it and could be moved to another room but wait they were fully booked sorry.
Rooms were soo stuffy because of no air on so we had to leave the balcony window open at night to get air in and froze
We slept with our shoes on.
They had a painter painting the walls outside our room so we had the paint fumes to inhale as we slept as well, lovely!
Painting the walls???? How about actually cleaning the rooms it's a called a vacuum cleaner and elbow grease?
On checking out the receptionist kid was running around the desk, soo professional, and we were not asked how our stay was.
All up this place is run down and management do care about their guests or the bad reviews they continue to receive, and this is clearly not a 4 star rated establishment. How on earth they got this I have no idea.
Yes it's in a good location, but that's it.
save yourself from a lot of frustration and book somewhere else!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked in to Darling Towers on Collins after reading several reasonable reviews and seeing that it was supposedly 4 star budget accommodation. Booking process was fine but when I got there I was very disappointed. I was given a 2 bedroom apartment that was extremely dark even with the lights on. Went to have a glass of water and had to wash the glasses prior to using them as they had a weird yellow, foul smelling (not wee not detergent) liquid in them. Main bedroom had hardly any window or light. Depressing really. Went to reception and was upgraded to the "VIP" room on level 11. Whilst this was a nice gesture and a much better room with late windows and a balcony, the "VIP" room didn't have a working smoke detector or clock, the dishwasher had the prior people's dishes still in there (although clean) and the Venetian blinds were bent and broken. Substandard accommodation. I checked out that night and went elsewhere. Never again!

Room Tip: Stay else where unless you aren't fussy about cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, although small it was adequate. The location is really good, close to shops, eating places, sporting events and the tram stop is right outside the door. There is no service but for a short stay that really doesn't matter.There is a small kitchen with all utensils. even a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed there for 11 days - from day 1 we let reception know that our dryer/washing machine wasn’t working. Day 5 they still hadn’t come so I went down there and complained. Got told the maintenance guy said he ordered a part and would be back tomorrow morning. I said to them they should have probably let us know or given us a key to a different room so we could wash all of our stuff..... He then didn’t show the following day so I called in the afternoon and let reception know, she said 'well then all I can do is give you a key to the 'pent house' and you can use the washing machine there.' We on the 6th floor had to go to the 12th floor and keep on walking back and forth washing all our stuff.

Didn’t get an apology or a where sorry he didn’t let you know what was happening with the machine.

We also got told the "cleaners" would come by every 3 days to give towels/new sheets if needed/take away the roller bed - the cleaners didnt come at all so on days 6 we phoned reception and in the end we ended up having to go down there and collect towels. Rubbish all stayed there until the day we left.

Room Tip: Standard room is exactly the same as the "pent house". No difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Darling Towers on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Towers on Collins

Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins
Address: 233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Darling Towers on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darling Towers on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Darling Towers on Collins to your Saves list